Chiminea Goes Back

The kids went to the movies last night and I passed on going. It was a 9:15 PM showing and since I had gotten up early for weight watchers, I thought I might not be able to stay awake. I decided to open the box that the new chiminea was in. I figured I could put it together myself. It’s just a matter of following directions. The one problem is the thing was broken. A major part of it had cracked off.

I wanted to take pictures today of my Oasis but instead the kids are going to drive the 30 miles to exchange it and by the time they get back it will be raining–again.

So the only picture you get to see today is of my broken chiminea.

The kids are already planning on my birthday cookout which isn’t for three weeks. They are outside now cleaning up the yard. The following photos are from last year’s birthday cookout which was a surprise party. This year I know about it.

SOMEONE BUILT A SEMI CAIRN OUT OF BRICKS

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Peter Parkour
    May 18, 2008 @ 13:56:29

    😦 I’m sorry to hear about the chiminea. I’m looking forward to the final product there. I’m hoping to have a man-cave built at my place in the near future. πŸ˜‰ It’s gonna be a cross between a tree house and a workshop, but with the tree. :mrgreen:

    Reply

  2. kaylee2
    May 18, 2008 @ 16:45:05

    Omg sorry to hear about that!

    Reply

  3. joanharvest
    May 18, 2008 @ 16:54:19

    Where have you been? I was getting worried. How’s everything going?

    Reply

  4. kaylee2
    May 18, 2008 @ 17:03:19

    Oh joan I have just been not feeling well. But I am doing ok now!

    Reply

  5. joanharvest
    May 18, 2008 @ 17:18:43

    I’m so sorry you haven’t been feeling good. But I’m glad to hear you are doing better. It’s understandable that you wouldn’t feel so good with all you are going through.

    Reply

  6. kaylee2
    May 18, 2008 @ 17:26:37

    thanks joan!

    Reply

  7. Wendy
    May 18, 2008 @ 20:29:46

    I think I see Emily in a photo. Am I correct?
    I bought a chiminea at the Christmas Tree Shop years ago, took it home, lit a huge fire in it, it got too hot and cracked in half and fell on the lawn where it remained in broken pieces for two or three years. You have to season them, apparently.

    Reply

  8. teeni
    May 18, 2008 @ 21:08:19

    OMG – how do you season a chiminea? Now I better look that up because I bought one for my mom for mother’s day. She hasn’t used it yet though so there is still hope.

    I’m sorry yours was cracked, Joan – that really stinks, especially when you are so looking forward to using it!! Well, here’s hoping the next one is just right. And keep us posted on your birthday plans! Are you counting backwards yet? πŸ˜‰ I AM!!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Reply

  9. joanharvest
    May 19, 2008 @ 11:32:02

    @ Peter

    Oh, I would love to see a man-cave. I can just imagine it. The kids went and exchanged the chiminea and put it together last night. Yes, it came in a zillion pieces, well, maybe not quite that many. Actually, my daughter put it together by herself.

    @ Sister W
    Yes, that was Emily. I’m sure Barbara must have told you about her house burning down. I feel so bad for them but at least they were living in the new house and no one was in the old one when it burned.

    My chiminea is cast iron so hopefully you don’t have to season it. I looked everywhere for a clay one but couldn’t find one. Just as well, I probably would have cracked it too.

    @ Teeni

    I was just telling Wendy, my chiminea is cast iron but if part of it cracked in the box that doesn’t bode too well for putting a hot fire into it. Maybe I better read the directions just in case. I’m not counting backwards yet but I think I will.

    Reply

  10. CuriousC
    May 20, 2008 @ 07:35:20

    Love the semi-cairn, too!

    Reply

  11. javaqueen
    May 22, 2008 @ 02:29:05

    That stinks that it came broke-did! Last years party looks like fun, my phone didn’t ring JOAN! BAHAHAHAH! Your kids sound absolutely lovely!

    Reply

  12. joanharvest
    May 22, 2008 @ 10:40:20

    Well, you’re invited. I just don’t know your number or how far away you live but I would love it if our whole little group could get together someday. That would be so awesome.

    I do have awesome kids. Thank goodness.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

