Mother’s Day: Yesterday and Today

I had a great Mother’s Day. Sarah and I went to the local huge garden center and she bought window boxes, soil and plants for the boxes, 2 hanging plants plus hangers to hang them on that stick in the ground. Then we went to that store I don’t like that starts with W but is the only store around where we could possibly buy the things we were looking for. We got four Tiki Torches and a small tiered tiki torch to put on a table which I have to return because it was broken. Typical W stuff. You have to always end up returning something.

We came home and Sarah started to clean up the side of the house where I want my Oasis. She also planted all the plants in the window boxes. She had to do everything alone because her hubby caught some kind of stomach virus and was sick. The wasband was out birding and offered to come home and help but she told him to stay out and have fun. She even cleaned the gutters.

SARAH WORKING HARD!!

THE FRUIT OF HER LABOR- ONLY THERE IS ACTUALLY NO FRUIT IN THERE.

THE HANGING PLANTS

Today, we went to Lowe’s Home Improvement Center and bought a Chiminea and solar lights.

THIS IS THE CHIMINEA WE BOUGHT.

I already have a bird bath and a wooden swing to incorporate into all of this. I also want some kind of outdoor statuary. I saw a Dragon statue online. Don’t know if the kids will go for it.

HE’S ONLY 17 INCHES TALL AND $65.00

THIS IS KING ARTHUR AND HE IS 4 FEET TALL AND $90.00 (ON SALE). I HAVE ALWAYS HAD A THING FOR THE ARTHURIAN LEGEND. I HAVE READ EVERY BOOK ABOUT HIM THAT I KNOW OF. MY DAUGHTER IS AFRAID HE WOULD GET STOLEN. I’D TAKE MY CHANCES.

I will probably have to wait for my birthday for something like the above which is June 9th.

I don’t have after photos yet of my Oasis because it isn’t quite finished. The chiminea has to be put together. Sarah is good at stuff like that so I’m sure she will do it but she might have to wait for the weekend. That’s OK I’ll be patient.

She also took me to lunch today and I did good . I had grilled chicken topped with salsa on a bed of rice with vegetables and I only ate half of it. Last night after all the work was done we had a barbecue and made our favorite teriyaki turkey burgers. It was too cold to sit in my Oasis but soon we will have the chiminea. It’s unseasonably cold here for May.

Hope all the Mother’s had a great Mother’s day and everyone else had a great day too. I also want to thank my daughter for giving me such a wonderful two day Mother’s Day.

I can’t wait to see the chiropractor on Wednesday. My back hurts so much from watching Sarah work so hard. πŸ™‚

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teeni
    May 12, 2008 @ 20:07:50

    Wow! Your Sarah really is hardworking! The window boxes look fantastic though – she did a wonderful job. I can tell your oasis is going to be beautiful. I want to come and sit out there and have a cup of tea with you and Sarah. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Hannah
    May 12, 2008 @ 20:38:32

    What a lovely Mother’s Day you had – and what a lovely daughter Sarah is! The window boxes and plants look just gorgeous. What a great job she did. I look at those photos and find myself wishing somebody would come here and spruce up my garden, LOL!

    Reply

  3. Hay
    May 13, 2008 @ 06:29:16

    Wonderful, that garden looks beautiful already. Glorious colour!

    Reply

  4. javaqueen14
    May 13, 2008 @ 10:23:31

    Have to see the chiropractor from watching Sarah work so hard, ha! ha! ha! The flower boxes are pretty! Probably feels so nice to look out the window and see them πŸ™‚

    Good job on enjoying the day and still staying on track with your portions! Glad to see your day was as awesome as you girl!

    Reply

  5. Just a Mom
    May 13, 2008 @ 11:09:02

    Is Sarah for hire? Glad you had a nice mother’s day and enjoy your oasis!

    Reply

  6. Wendy
    May 13, 2008 @ 13:32:49

    Sarah is awesome and I’m so glad you had a great Mother’s Day. You’re doing great with your WW, I’m so happy for you.

    I like King Arthur stories too, but mostly I watch the movies. Which is your favorite Arthurian movie?

    Reply

  7. joanharvest
    May 13, 2008 @ 14:31:45

    @ teeni
    Anytime you’re in town you are welcome to come over and have tea or Hanson’s diet ginger ale, whichever you prefer.

    @ Hannah
    I am lucky to have a wonderful daughter like Sarah. She worked her butt off Sunday cleaning and planting.

    @Hay

    I’m hoping someone will plant an actual little flower garden too. One of my window boxes has fresh herbs in it. I love to use fresh herbs in cooking but they are so expensive to buy.

    @Javaqueen

    It was hard to only eat half of that lunch. I gave the rest to my son-in-law when I got home so I wouldn’t be tempted to eat it because I’m sure it had more points than I would normally eat.

    @ Just a Mom

    I think I will be keeping Sarah too busy to hire her out. I have lots of plans. She is probably reading this and saying “OH NO!!!”

    @ Wendy

    To be honest about the King Arthur movies, I still love the original 1967 musical Camelot with Richard Harris and Vanessa Redgrave. Sarah and I know all the songs by heart just like we do with West Side Story.

    Reply

  8. Red
    May 13, 2008 @ 14:49:39

    Wow! What a beautiful area to relax in .. the flowers are all so gorgeous!
    Lucky Woman, you!

    Reply

  9. joanharvest
    May 13, 2008 @ 14:57:15

    @ Red

    I can’t wait until they put the chiminea together. I think it will be a nice place to sit and read and have barbecues.

    Reply

  10. betme
    May 13, 2008 @ 15:27:39

    Happy belated Mother’s Day. Your garden is coming along nicely.

    (and my back is aching too from looking at the pics of Sarah and your wasband working so hard.) πŸ˜€

    Reply

  11. CuriousC
    May 13, 2008 @ 15:43:55

    YEA! You’re a GEMINI! I love the oasis – it’s coming together. Your dot is super dooper – like her mom…

    Reply

  12. joanharvest
    May 13, 2008 @ 17:16:44

    @ Betme
    Yea, those sympathy back pains can be a bitch!!

    @CuriousC

    Are you a Gemini too?? My girl is super dooper. I don’t know about her mom though, all I did was watch.

    Reply

  13. shornsheep
    May 13, 2008 @ 19:27:22

    What a wonderful day you had! πŸ™‚

    Your garden and window boxes and hanging baskets look stunning.

    LOL, I would take the risk of Kind Arthur being stolen too. He is gorgeous!

    I too love anything to do with those times. Love reading fiction around that time anything to do with druids and Celts etc. Such magical times!

    Reply

  14. thebeadden
    May 13, 2008 @ 22:15:18

    The place is looking so nice, Joan. What a daughter you have! We just bought a chiminea of sorts too. It’s more box shaped. Then this week we saw an ad from the same store and it is 75 dollars less. I’m going after a refund in the morning! I think they should give it to me.

    I love the King Arthur statue too!

    Reply

  15. thegirlfromtheghetto
    May 13, 2008 @ 22:28:52

    Oh, you need to go to Lodon and visit some castles. I Heart King Arthur, too. Fun! By the way, I just blogged about Boston finally. Check it out if you’d like. I needed to say more, but my photos were not loading properly tonight …. aaarrrgghhh!!!

    Reply

  16. Peter Parkour
    May 14, 2008 @ 01:54:58

    Looking good, Joan. Good luck on Arthur and the dragon. πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  17. joanharvest
    May 15, 2008 @ 00:03:25

    @shornsheep

    I love all the King Arthur books and movies. I loved “The Sword and the Stone”, one of my favorite books. I even have medieval cook books. In October, nearby, there is a Renaissance Fair we always go to.

    @thebeadden

    I hope you got your refund. I might have to save for King Arthur. My daughter said she already got my birthday present.

    @ thegirlfromtheghetto

    I will check out your Boston blog tomorrow. I can’t wait to see what you though of Bean Town. If I could go anywhere, it would be England. There is so much history there.

    @ Peter
    Thanks, Peter, I’ll get Arthur somehow. I already have George , the Knight, in my bedroom.

    Reply

  18. romi41
    May 15, 2008 @ 22:42:35

    You’re going to have a wonderful sanctuary for the summer, I can’t wait to see the “finished” pics! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  19. javajunkee
    May 16, 2008 @ 10:08:56

    that is beautiful! I used to have a gorgeous yard like that but hubby is the green thumber and since he’s taken on more yards ..ours has gone to hell. 😦
    Unless something is in bloom a weed looks like a flower to me and vice versa! So we are going to put a couple of the flower beds back to grass ..grass I can mow πŸ™‚ And we’ll have a couple of flower beds that the kids can take care of.
    My oasis has to be my deck right now. Now you’ve made it so I need to go buy dirt and flowers πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

