Blogging as Therapy or Driving Into a Tree– My Choice

I just read an article on CNN.com about blogging as therapy. It was interesting. Here is a link

These are the major points in case you don’t feel like reading it:

  • Story Highlights:
  • Report: Some 12 million people have a blog; many use it for group therapy
  • Experts: Blogging shouldn’t replace face-to-face counseling
  • Study: Men blog about politics, technology and money
  • Study: Women tend to blog more about private lives.

I found it very interesting that women tend to blog more about their private lives. It certainly holds true with me. Though my blogger men friends all blog about themselves. I probably wouldn’t be a blogger friend to someone who only blogged about politics anyway. I would be bored to tears. I can’t blog about money because I don’t have any. As far as technology, as long as I have my cell phone, my computer and my crock pot, I’m all set. Since I stopped watching TV and listening to the news, Peter Pan could be running for President and I wouldn’t even know it. For all I know Peter Pan is president. That would be wonderful, then none of us would have to grow up.

I was just looking for an image of Peter Pan and I found out that the author J.M. Barrie’s birthday is tomorrow. How strange that I would think about him today. Should have waited until tomorrow.

I do go on news sites but only read articles that interest me, like the blogging one and gossip ones. I am just so tired of reading about politics and Iraq and other depressing crap. I can’t risk getting depressed again, it was just too depressing to be depressed. I really enjoy being happy.

Here is a post I enjoyed about finding the silver lining in the bad things that happen. It’s a post by Hannah at Blairs Boys

I did start blogging for therapeutic reasons, though I still see my therapist once a month. I started out seeing her weekly but it seems I’m not as crazy as I was so I don’t need to see her as often. Actually, I’m still crazy and I plan on staying that way but I don’t feel like driving into a tree anymore. I think being crazy is good for the soul.

I’d like to read some of those 12,000,000 blogs. I read about 30 so I only have 11,999,970 to go. That should keep me busy for a bit.

Now I have to go to the P.O.. At the price of gas, it will probably cost me $3.00. That’s crazy. The silver lining: maybe I’ll get a check in the mail. πŸ™‚

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Red
    May 08, 2008 @ 13:41:29

    Yeah, I think blogging is a form of therapy, one that I actually enjoy. Group therapy rather, I’d say. We all learn from each other and that’s the main thing I enjoy about blogging .. you guys!

    Reply

  2. joanharvest
    May 08, 2008 @ 14:02:52

    @ Red
    Me too you!! It is a form of group therapy. I think we just have such a great group of people here. I spend way too much time doing it but I don’t give a shit. It’s what I like and these days life is all about what I like.

    Reply

  3. thebeadden
    May 08, 2008 @ 14:18:17

    Like I said before, that’s why I love reading your blog. I’m into politics and it IS depressing, but I can’t seem to escape it.. Years ago, I was ONLY into politics, it became too much and I walked away. I swear my tummy was full of ulcers.

    Having a site like yours to come to after reading the news is just like medicine for my soul.

    When we were children all we thought about was growing up, now all we wish for is to be young again! LOL

    A wonderful lady who I cared for years ago, was in her late eighties. She was awesome! She’d just crack me up with the things she came out with. She taught me to stop being so uptight and have fun. I was wound like a corkscrew LOL! (Even as a child I was way too serious about everything)

    I guess I’m living my childhood now πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. teeni
    May 08, 2008 @ 15:53:59

    I’m with the beadden – second childhoods are the best. It helps that we’re more experienced and know what the real fun is. LOL. And Joan, I’m so glad you chose this therapy rather than driving into a tree. This is way better for everyone (including the tree – LOL). πŸ™‚

    Reply

  5. Hannah
    May 08, 2008 @ 16:34:46

    Thanks for linking to my post!! πŸ™‚
    Blogging is awesome – I cannot imagine my life without it now! And to think that when I first heard of it (my friend started one) I thought “how boring”. Wow, a complete turnaround in my thinking!

    I have over 100 blogs in my feed reader and sometimes it is hard to keep up, but I love it! Your blog is one of my new faves!

    Reply

  6. shornsheep
    May 08, 2008 @ 17:42:28

    Wow, 12M blogs, that would take some serious reading to get through all those!

    Yes, I agree with Hannah, your blog is one of my new favourites too. Just wish I had more time to catch up more often. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  7. Calamity
    May 08, 2008 @ 18:05:12

    Peter Pan for President! I think you may be on to something! I have to agree about blogging being a form of therapy. I know I always feel better when I have good blog rant! LOL Oh and Im so glad you no longer feel like driving into a tree! There arent too many left!!

    Reply

  8. kaylee2
    May 08, 2008 @ 18:40:41

    INTERESTiNG. how are you joan?

    Reply

  9. CuriousC
    May 08, 2008 @ 18:58:44

    Blogging as Therapy – YES! Where to go when my blogging addiction takes over my life?! MORE BLOGS, of course! Thanks Joan. I love your gentle “here’s what I think” style of writing, your humor and the fact that you leave awesome comments at my blog. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  10. betme
    May 08, 2008 @ 19:01:25

    You nailed it! Crazy is the best way to live. We should all embrace our inner crazy. (I know I do and am happir now that I quit trying to fight it)

    Reply

  11. javaqueen14
    May 09, 2008 @ 00:59:16

    Great post, I’m glad you don’t want to drive into a tree anymore! Get that outta your head forever girl, not even an option- I so look forward to reading your blog and the hilarious comments you leave for others… what would we all do without you Joan? Oh, I was going to ask you what is your mom’s middle name? My mom’s is “Mary” We both know their first names, I just thought it’d be freaky as hell if they had the same middle name too! My middle name is Marie.

    Reply

  12. Peter Parkour
    May 09, 2008 @ 02:16:37

    Yeah, what all ^those^ guys said. :mrgreen: Now let’s talk about politics, technology and money, NOT! πŸ˜› I still love that flag picture. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  13. David
    May 09, 2008 @ 06:42:23

    I don’t know about the therapeutic value of blogging, but it’s a great form of expression and you’re so right about the wonderful little group in this little blogosphere.

    “…as long as I have my cell phone, my computer and my crock pot, I’m all set” LOL πŸ˜€

    Though I work in the world of IT, I’m not one of its biggest fans. It’s pleasant irony that this technology of the internet, once prophesied to put us all into little cubicles of solitude, actually gives us another fun way to connect with each other.

    I still don’t know why I like blogging so much, but I do.

    Reply

  14. trishatruly
    May 09, 2008 @ 10:03:08

    “Actually, I’m still crazy and I plan on staying that way but I don’t feel like driving into a tree anymore. ”

    Glad to hear you aren’t planning on wreckin’ the car ! As for crazy, well… you’re in good company, my friend!! Welcome to Blogdom!

    Reply

  15. joanharvest
    May 09, 2008 @ 10:42:03

    @ thebeadden
    I’m happy you feel like you can come here and get some soul medicine. Though I am more used to dealing with herbal medicine.
    Well I figure we ARE young again, we just look old. It’s some optical illusion or something because when I look in the mirror I’m beginning to see a hot young mama.

    @ Teeni

    Yea, I think therapy was a better idea than the tree.

    @ Hannah
    I started another blog a few years ago but the only person who read it was my sister and I only wrote three things. This time I went out and introduced my self to other bloggers through Wendy at Life with Buck who got me started with the whole thing. Now I’m addicted.

    @ Shornsheep
    Well, I am enjoying your blog too. Even with not having to work it does take up a lot of time to read everyone’s blogs and leave comments and then write your own blog and leave more comments. But since I retired, it is my social outlet and I don’t have to clean the house for it.

    @ Calamity

    Yea, I wouldn’t want to have to take out a tree just because I’m feeling bad. Therapy and Zoloft worked a lot better because now I am still here to hang out with all you wonderful people.

    @Kaylee
    Now you I want to hear from. I’m doing fine but how are you doing? I’m happy to see your back on line even for a little bit.

    @ CuriousC

    Ha Ha!! That’s funny. Blogging because you’re addicted to blogging. I guess that’s what we all do. I appreciate your blog and your comments too. Sometimes the comments are better than the blog.

    @ Betme
    Crazy is good. Not insane, just crazy. Insane means you don’t know what you’re doing, Crazy is just having a good time. And what time I have left in this world is going to be crazy.

    @ Javaqueen
    Well, we already went through the whole name thing via e-mail. I have to go to your blog after this to see what you wrote last night.

    @ Peter
    I am so glad you like my flag picture. I am going to scan some of the other old ones soon. It reminds me that I was thin once and I can be thin again.

    @ David
    I got on the internet early on through my brother-in-law who had a Commodore 64. It was about 25 years ago. There was no Windows and you had to use a gopher to get anywhere. There were no graphics. I remember the first time I telneted myself to a library in South Africa. I felt like I shouldn’t be there, almost like I was spying. But I knew one thing I loved computers. My brother-in-law was a natural and I learned whatever I could from him. At that time AOL was just a tiny company called Quantum Link. It cost $20 a month to get online for four hours a month so you really couldn’t waste time. This was through Delphi.

    I remember trying to explain it to people but they just didn’t understand. We didn’t even call it the internet. We called it the world wide web or just the web.

    Now everyone has a computer and like my crock pot, I can’t live without one.

    Reply

  16. joanharvest
    May 09, 2008 @ 10:49:30

    @ Trish
    You must have been writing your comment as I was writing my comments back to everyone. Blogging is the best thing I’ve ever done for myself, other than therapy, Zoloft and Al Anon.

    Reply

  17. CuriousC at IdeaJump!
    May 09, 2008 @ 10:51:25

    I keep reading ‘crack pot’ when I see your crock pot words, then I have to shake my head and re-read it! It’s still funny, either way…

    I am AMAZED at your memory for all those aol was/commodore 64/delphi facts!??! geez

    Reply

  18. Just a Mom
    May 09, 2008 @ 12:23:49

    You may hug a tree but never ever drive into a tree! The squirrels would never forgive you for wrecking their home! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  19. joanharvest
    May 09, 2008 @ 12:31:20

    @CuriousC

    Crack pot, crock pot, they both apply to me. I can remember the strangest stuff and then not remember something my daughter told me yesterday. I think I have ADD now.

    @ Just a Mom
    I have a few posts about me and squirrels. I swear they are out to get me. So you are right I don’t want to upset the squirrels any more than I have.

    Reply

  20. kaylee2
    May 09, 2008 @ 18:19:50

    I am doing great still in pain but thats ok πŸ™‚

    Reply

  21. joanharvest
    May 09, 2008 @ 18:25:23

    @Kaylee

    I am happy to hear that the surgery went well Though I wish you didn’t have the pain. But your attitude about it is great!!

    Reply

  22. thegirlfromtheghetto
    May 09, 2008 @ 19:35:47

    I think that blogging is very theraputic. I feel like a failure in my work life, stuck in a dead end job w/o a raise … and blogging has certainly taken my mind off of work a little less.

    Reply

  23. joanharvest
    May 09, 2008 @ 19:40:18

    That sucks when you feel that way about your work, considering how much time you have to spend doing it and then feel like you’re not getting anywhere. I’m sorry you have to go through that. Blogging sure helps to take your mind off stuff and to be able to rant and rave a little when you feel the need.
    Oh, I need to go to your blog. I hope you’ve had time to write about LOST.

    Reply

  24. kaylee
    May 09, 2008 @ 20:13:19

    Thanks joan πŸ™‚ hey di dyou ever get my email?

    Reply

  25. joanharvest
    May 09, 2008 @ 22:34:50

    @ Kaylee

    No, I never got an e-mail. I even checked the junk box. Try again.

    Reply

  26. kaylee2
    May 11, 2008 @ 21:03:09

    Okay i will but i sent it to the right address πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

