My Daughter and I Drove 30 miles for Cheese and I Have Weird Neighbors.

Weight Watchers has come out with some new low point cheeses. I found out at the meeting Saturday, that the only place you could buy them right now was at a Walmart Super Center. I am not a Walmart fan but I really, really wanted the cheese. It was my daughter’s day off so she found out where the closest Walmart Super Center was and drove me there. It happened to be in Plymouth, you know, where that famous rock is and the Mayflower.

We got to Walmart and they had one cripple cart not in use so I grabbed it. We had to grocery shop anyway today so we figured we would check out what else they had. Somehow we spent $120.00. They had this vitamin water that her hubby drinks and it was half the price that he usually pays for it so we bought a bunch of it. It weighed down my cripple cart so much it would hardly move. Then I imagined myself 70 pounds heavier and I probably couldn’t have ridden one then. I used to have my food delivered by Peapod.

They had a few organic veggies but not much and we only eat organic vegetables. Of course, then I turn around and eat a lean cuisine with God only knows how many chemicals in it. They only had four out of the eight new cheeses that they make. We bought two of them. I am sure they have their share of chemicals too. I should start making my lunch. I make my daughter’s lunch but I don’t make mine.

Then we planned on going to Applebee’s for lunch because they have weight watcher lunches that even tell you how many points they are.

But they had closed down this particular one for some reason so we drove home, dropped off the groceries and went to Cape Cod Bagel. I got a wrap with grilled chicken and veggies, hopefully low in points. I estimated it to be about 8 points. Sarah made salmon salad for supper which turns out to be 13 points which didn’t leave me much for evening snacking.

Then we went to our usual grocery store to get the rest of what we needed and spent another $130.00.

It was nice to spend the day with my daughter even if it mostly consisted of grocery shopping. We did get our lunch to go and went to the beach to eat. It was a beautiful Cape Cod day.

We have new neighbors across the street. I wrote a post about it the day they moved in. The house is a welfare house. It has been a welfare house for the whole 34 years I have lived here and most of the families that have lived there were fine. I said hi to them and they said hi to me and we all minded are own business. My daughter has started taking her evening walks with her friend, who lives up the main road and as they walked by the mailboxes, the lady of the house across the street was getting her mail. My daughter politely said hello and this woman wouldn’t even look at her or say hi or nod her head–nothing. Well, that’s OK. At least I know they won’t be bothering us.

Then we have our neighbors to our right who have lived there about 5 years and we have never said hello to each other. I tried once but they didn’t want any part of it. That’s OK too. But they have taken it one step further. Two years ago they bought roosters which cock a doodle dood all day. I thought they just did it in the morning. NOT, they doodle doo all day.

Well, the roosters all disappeared. I swear I didn’t have anything to do with it. Now they have a dog which they tie up on a short rope on their deck. This poor dog cries all day, actually howls, and the lady of the house is home. Is she deaf? Does she not hear this poor creature howling until my ears feel like they are going to explode?

We have a pair of nesting red shouldered hawks which is very rare for this area. They are nesting right in our back yard. My wasband was home recently when a few of his bird watching friends showed up hoping to see the hawks. The woman, with the howling dog, was out in her yard and the hawks are nesting more in her back yard than ours. My wasband is very friendly and was trying to explain to the woman about the hawks and how rare they are. Her answer- “Can I shoot them?”. She was serious. My wasband tried to explain that if she did she would probably go to jail. She just walked off as he was talking to her.

Let\'s kill those hawks cause their shitting on my shitty car.

LET’S SHOOT THOSE HAWKS, HONEY, CAUSE THEY’RE SHITTING ON OUR SHITTY CAR!!

Last year they were burning stuff in their back yard which is illegal at certain times of the year. A policeman, probably driving down the main road, saw it and came and told them to stop. My son was watching the happenings from the doorway and after the cop left they gave my son the finger. Evidently, they assumed he had called the police on them. Personally they could burn their house down and I wouldn’t care. My son walked right over there and straightened them out. They have a lot of people living there and they spent most of last summer sitting on their deck. I don’t mean just on weekends. I mean all day long, everyday, unless it was raining. I don’t care what they do as long as they don’t bother me and shut that poor dog up. OMG, I hope she doesn’t shoot it. I should probably call the dog officer.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hay
    May 07, 2008 @ 01:01:56

    How horrid about your neighbours. This is the first place I have lived in with great neighbours, I love it πŸ™‚

    It’s fun shopping somewhere new huh? Me and the Man sometimes do that just for fun, drive way across the city just to check out somewhere different. Glad you got your cheese!

    Reply

  2. joanharvest
    May 07, 2008 @ 01:13:54

    @ Hay

    We’re fortunate to at least have good neighbors on our left. They have lived next to us for the whole 34 years. The Mr. has always helped me when I needed it. They have been very nice people. I’m glad you have good neighbors.
    My daughter and I LOVE to shop, even if we don’t buy anything. The cheese is actually not bad. Definitely better then some of the other Fat free and low fat cheeses I have tried.

    Reply

  3. Hannah
    May 07, 2008 @ 02:29:19

    Wow, what rude neighbours! That’s hardly a good way to get to know people in your new area. Oh well, their loss!

    Yay for WW cheese! At least you can use it safely and know exactly how many points you are eating. And how cool that there are restaurants with WW meals – we don’t have any like there here in NZ. Sorry the one you wanted to eat at was closed. 😦

    Reply

  4. javaqueen14
    May 07, 2008 @ 03:58:11

    Sounds like a dream of a day for you and your daughter. Good times! And, as for the neighbor, yuck! At least they don’t really REALLY get to you. I could so see them really getting to me if they were my neighbors. Also, to me, (sorry, here I go) the fact that they leave a dog out all day crying and barking is NOT acceptable. We have laws here that your dog can bark for no longer than 15 minutes, if so, they can get fined. But I think it’s more than being inconsiderate of your neighbor by leaving your dog like that, it sounds like animal cruelty to me. I’d report them in a heartbeat and not think twice about it. That’s despicable! Why would anyone bother to own a dog if they leave it outside on a leash all day? What is the point and what kind of life is that for the poor dog *shakes head*….. Wow!

    Reply

  5. CuriousC
    May 07, 2008 @ 07:16:22

    Goodness Joan, you are doing a lot to unsettle or balance out what the rest of the country imagines of the people who live on Cape Cod! Oh no, not quite all the preppies, huh? LOVED the caption under the shooting pic. and I’m with JQ on the animal cruelty. I would call.

    Did you like Peapod?

    Reply

  6. trishatruly
    May 07, 2008 @ 08:04:22

    Hey, this is why I live way out in the country. I don’t particularly like having any neighbors at all. I did, however, give my daughter and son-in-law a few acrs to build their home on and that’s very OK. I get to see my grandson as much as I like, which is bunches!!

    Yeah, call the dog warden. It’s the right thing to do. Poor thing….
    Very interesting blog, my friend!

    Reply

  7. Peter Parkour
    May 07, 2008 @ 08:30:04

    I must admit I’m not a very social neighbor, but I’m not a rude butt-head either. I can’t stand rude/stupid people. They really chap my hide. This may be another job for my stick with a nail in it. πŸ˜‰

    Have you given any thought to a high protein/low carb diet? The one I’m on allows me to eat all the cheese I want, no counting, no measuring, and the weight just falls off. πŸ™‚ Really.

    Reply

  8. teeni
    May 07, 2008 @ 11:06:11

    Wow! You do have weird neighbors. I so love the idea of having a few acres like TrishTruly, but my hubby needs to commute to work so I don’t know where we could do that. I feel so sorry for that dog.

    Anyway, I’m glad you had a day out with your daughter and that you got some new cheese to try – now you’ll have to let us know how it is.

    Reply

  9. becky
    May 07, 2008 @ 19:41:13

    I know what you mean about driving for hours and shopping. But you were with your daughter and that means something.

    My neighbors have two golden labs that bark incessantly. Aren’t they home? Don’t they hear it? Last year I went out for a night walk in my ski parks and put an anonymous note in their mailbox. Your dogs bark constantly, could you stop it? It did improve for a while, but now it’s right back where it was.

    What is it with pet owners? I don’t have any and don’t want any.

    Your blog titles are hilarious, Joan.

    Weight Watchers is the best way to go. I lost 35 pounds two years ago and still have it off.

    Reply

  10. Wendy
    May 07, 2008 @ 21:07:14

    Your neighbors are awful. Mine don’t speak to me, but they do wave when backed into a corner. Yours are just mean and nasty.

    I’ve always wondered the hell to get the WW food and now I know. They just built a WalMart Supermarket up the street…I’ll have to check it out. But like you, I seem to spend $100 in WalMart without even trying. And I hate WalMart, but if they have WW food I may have to go there.

    Reply

  11. joanharvest
    May 08, 2008 @ 11:18:29

    @ Hannah
    I wish there were more Applebee restaurants around or that more restaurants listed point values for just a few entrees.

    @ Javaqueen
    I did report my unneighborly neighbors about the dog but as my sister mentioned to me our dog officer is a lazy guy who probably won’t do anything about it.

    @ CuriousC
    Yea, we definitely have our ghetto areas and I happen to live right in the middle of one though I must admit it really isn’t very ghetto. I am very happy to live where I do.

    @Trish
    When my wasband and I first got married we wanted to live way out in the backwoods of Maine. We even went up there and looked at a few farms but neither of us could leave our families. I think that is wonderful that your daughter has a house on your property.

    @Peter

    I did do the low carb diet when it became popular about 5 or 6 years ago. As a matter of fact I got into it at the beginning and my store sold more low carb foods than any other store on Cape Cod. I found a company that sold really good low carb bagels and by word of mouth I was getting in 15 cases every Wednesday and they were sold by noon. I lost 40 pounds and gained back 100. It was a diet I couldn’t keep up with forever and once I started eating carbs again I was done for because my bad eating habits took over.

    With Weight watchers I have learned good eating habits, I can eat any food I want as long as I count it in with my points for the day and I can live with it, hopefully, forever.

    I think I even listed this somewhere in a blog. There are three things I despise in people: liars, thieves and rude sons of bitches. There is no need for rudeness and I don’t understand people who are.

    My next door lady could use a stick with a nail on her.

    @ Teeni
    The cheese is better than most low fat cheeses I have tried and it has very low points so I will buy it again.

    Yea, some of my neighbors suck.

    @ Becky
    You know I’m going to have to check to see if they have a mailbox at the end of our street. I’m going to leave a note in it if they do. I’ll even try to be polite the for the first note. If I have to leave a second it won’t be so polite. I let Barbara write it. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the idea.

    I am doing really well with weight watchers. I think because they don’t call it a diet helps me psychology.

    @ Wendy
    I found out from my weight watchers leader that the Weight Watchers company supplies Walmart first and when they meet their demands, then they supply other stores. I hate Walmart too but I will buy WW food there if I have too.

    Reply

  12. Little Miss
    May 08, 2008 @ 14:18:04

    I heart Applebees. There’s one that opened up a mile from my house and my daughter and I love to go there. The portbello steak dinner is to-die-for. Yum. My favorite WW food? Their chocolate fudge ice cream cups. Two points and the best sweet fix for my new eating lifestyle. You are right – it’s not a diet. For me, it’s education and learning to eat moderately and the right foods. I am going to put one of those tickers on my blog too!

    Reply

  13. Little Miss
    May 08, 2008 @ 14:19:43

    I meant to post about neighbors. I don’t have rude neighbors…just crazy ones right next door, and nosy ones on the far corner from me. I blogged about them once, I think.

    Reply

  14. kaylee2
    May 08, 2008 @ 18:35:10

    Great opost and yeah i dont want neighbors like that πŸ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a Reply

