I Sucked at Weight Watchers Today-I Gained 1.2 Pounds–Answer to Whose Blog Was That and a Photo of My Mini Stonehenge

I’m not sure why because I thought pretended I did pretty good. But I don’t give up and will move forward. I took home the traveling tracker. The deal with weight watcher’s, in case you are unfamiliar with it, is that you have to track the points that you eat in a little journal. Well, I got lazy and figured I could do it in my head. This is the head that doesn’t remember much of what I did yesterday. Technically you should measure portions. 1/2 cup of rice is only 2 points but if you don’t measure it and pretend a full bowl of rice is only a 1/2 cup, well the only person you’re fooling is yourself. I guess I’ve been fooling with myself a lot lately.

At my Saturday meeting we take turns (volunteers only) to bring the traveling tracker home and be honest and track all your points. I have never volunteered but I did today so that I would get back in the habit of tracking my points and being more honest with myself. I was pretending that if you eat popcorn after midnight it doesn’t count. What’s up with that?

These are my first entries into the traveling tracker that I got this morning. So we will see this week what being more honest with myself gets me. After a year of doing this I could feel myself sliding and I can’t let that happen. I WON’T LET THAT HAPPEN. This is the first weight gain I’ve had in a while. But I’ve also only been losing recently, point this and point that, when I should be losing at least 1.5 – 2 pounds a week.

I told my daughter about my weight gain and she said “Well, should I take the sea glass charm back because you now weigh 276.2?” Then she laughed and said she would never take it back, she’s so sweet. She’d have to rip it off my fat dead body before I ever let her have it back.

I went to the P.O. this morning and didn’t get into any fender benders so that was nice. I found a really good place to give out tickets to illegal handicapped parkers–Dunkin Donuts. They probably haven’t had their caffeine yet so they are too tired to walk too far to get their fix. We’ll see how they feel about that after they get a $100 ticket.

It’s Spidey’s blog, Peter Parkour on my computer in the backround. His blog is very funny. He posts crazy pics that he finds on the internet. Some are a little “racey”. He and I also like the same movies. He’s a trucker that keeps on truckin’. If you’re a trucker, he gives good trucking advice. The only thing I know about trucks is to avoid them on the highway.

This is my mini Stonehenge.

This is the real Stonehenge. Looks just like mine if you use your imagination. πŸ™‚

My sister came up with a great idea about my “over snacking” at night. Pick out one low point snack and eat it comfortably while watching TV. Now normally, because I stay up so late, I usually have a couple more 1 point snacks. Also I started out at 37 points a day. I am now down to 31 points a day. All those little one point snacks add up fast. Anyway, she said if I go for another snack at night, eat it in the bathroom (that’s where the kitty litter is) standing up. That will be a new rule. If I feel I really have to have the snack then fine but I bet I won’t be all that hungry if I have to eat it next to the kitty litter standing up. Usually when I eat those snacks I’m not even hungry.

Another cat in the bag photo.

32 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaylee2
    May 03, 2008 @ 17:40:45

    I am sure those illegally parked people love yypu now πŸ˜‰ hahaha and you will lose those 2 pounds soon!

    Reply

  2. kaylee2
    May 03, 2008 @ 17:49:30

    btw sent you an email

    Reply

  3. Little Miss
    May 03, 2008 @ 18:43:27

    I know how you feel. I had done really well and lost 12 lbs in 6 weeks, then I gained 1.8. I have no idea how I did that other than not eating all my points and having popcorn with butter. They also say that you have to eat all your points and that’s the hardest for me when I am stressed because I tend to not eat. I also didn’t track my eating yesterday (but I’ll go back and see how I did because I remember what I ate – which wasn’t much but I had some chips.) And today I haven’t had much because I have to go to the grocery store and get some fresh veggies. I use the online tools because it does the math for me. You will do better next week, I am sure. It took me 2 weeks to make back up the 1.8 lbs, but I’ve done it.

    Reply

  4. shornsheep
    May 03, 2008 @ 18:44:44

    Hey, love your blog. This is my first visit. Also, love your cat and your mini Stonehenge. Way cool! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  5. joanharvest
    May 03, 2008 @ 18:49:04

    @Little Miss
    Good for you in not giving up. It would be so easy to. But I won’t. It’s nice to have a few people here on the blogs doing it with me. It helps to know you’re not alone. I’m really going to try some new methods this week and hopefully I can get back on track. I use the online tools also. I came up with some new recipes this week and used the build a recipe to see how many points they really were. Fortunately they both had 7 points and they were both good crock pot recipes.

    @ Kaylee
    I haven’t gotten the e-mail yet but I will keep checking. Sometimes MSN e-mail can be slow.

    Reply

  6. Peter Parkour
    May 03, 2008 @ 19:23:49

    Never give up. A little back sliding is bound to happen from time to time. It’s just a small detour on a long journey. πŸ˜‰ Keep up the good work.

    Thanks for the shout out. πŸ™‚

    Hey, how does that whole ticket writing thing work? I’ve never heard of such a thing, but it sounds interesting.

    Reply

  7. CuriousC
    May 03, 2008 @ 19:34:27

    Love the stone henge and the cat in the bag! Thanks for enlightening us about the Spidey blog – I was wondering when you’d get around to telling. and it sounds like a little re-focusing on the points was in order and you were enthusiastic about it; your attitude is awesome and is getting you right back on course, yes? YIPPEE! don’t beat yourself up, admit and go on, right? I’m needing to get back on the walking; have taken 2 weeks off almost. Tomorrow…

    Reply

  8. joanharvest
    May 03, 2008 @ 19:39:29

    @ Peter
    They call me a volunteer at the police station.There are actually 35 volunteers. I had to take a short course. All I do is take down the info on the car and fill out a form and mail it to the police who in turn mail a ticket to the person. They don’t want me to confront the person in case I end up confronting a crazy person. What the police don’t know is I am probably the crazy person because I get so pissed off when someone does that and I have to wait because I truly can’t walk that far and they can. I have come so close to yelling at people but so far I have only yelled at one woman and I didn’t even get her plate # because she took off so fast. Curse words were spewing out of my mouth at her which told me the police are right to not let me confront anyone. I don’t want to start caning people. Not good for my image. I’ve only given out about 6 tickets because I really like to make sure the person deserves one and it’s not a little old lady who just forgot to put her handicap placard on her mirror. But when a punk ass kid parks there because he’s too damn lazy to walk you can be sure he’s gonna get one.

    Thanks for your support, Peter, in my weight loss journey. It really helps to know that there are people out there that care.

    Reply

  9. joanharvest
    May 03, 2008 @ 20:10:16

    @ CuriousC
    I have to get back on track. I want a grandchild and I have to be in better health so I can help my daughter take care of one. Again, thanks for the support. It means a lot to me. I thank God I have made so many wonderful friends in the blog world. It has saved me in so many ways.

    Reply

  10. joanharvest
    May 03, 2008 @ 20:17:39

    @ Shornsheep
    Thanks so much for stopping by. I hope you come back again. I just quickly looked at your blog. You have a low fat recipe that looks great. I use my slow cooker all the time.
    I have three black cats. Don’t worry I am not a witch. I just happened to end up with them. Wasn’t even looking for a cat and I end up with three.
    My daughter gave me the Stonehenge. She knows that someday I want to go see it in person. My mini one will have to do for now. But when I am in my room at night and turn off all the lights and light a candle I can almost imagine….

    Reply

  11. teeni
    May 04, 2008 @ 00:40:14

    Aww, Joan – really your setback isn’t all that big but I know you are determined so you are taking it seriously. Actually that is good because it shows your resolve and I know you are going to get there. And you are inspiring me along the way. πŸ™‚ So that is Mr. Parkour’s site, huh? I didn’t realize it, but I keep running into him in comments areas and he seems like a nice guy, great commenter! I need to visit his site more often so thanks for calling him out. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  12. teeni
    May 04, 2008 @ 00:44:46

    Oops – I meant to tell you that I have a good snack for your late nights – at Trader Joe’s you can get their Organic Animal Crackers in a big plastic tub. There are only 2 grams of fat and 6 grams of sugar in a serving size, plus no trans or saturated fats! They are yummy with a cup of tea and a serving size is 17 crackers so when you count those little suckers out and put them on your plate, it seems like a LOT! πŸ™‚ I don’t know anything about weight watcher points though so you’d have to figure those out yourself. Sounds like it could involve math and that’s not my strong suit. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  13. Hannah
    May 04, 2008 @ 01:13:03

    Having done WW before, I soooo understand this! I learned that I couldn’t track in my head, or else I would conveniently “forget” to track things!
    At least now you know the importance of writing it all down, so I’m sure you’ll be back to losing again next week. Don’t give up! It’s just one step back, but you can start again and forget about last week.

    Reply

  14. joanharvest
    May 04, 2008 @ 01:53:37

    Hi Teeni

    Those animal crackers sound great and my daughter and I visit Trader Joe’s every few weeks. I will check them out but they sound good. We try to stick with organic which can be difficult. When you can eat 17 of anything, it is a good thing. Thanks for the suggestion and the support. It really helps.

    @ Hannah
    That is the one good thing about weight watchers–there is always next week and a brand new beginning. I won’t ever give up. Shornsheep visited me. for the first time–definitely someone I want to keep in touch with. If you bite it- write it!!! Thanks for the support. I did really well today.

    Reply

  15. thebeadden
    May 04, 2008 @ 11:25:22

    Good on you Joan for being so determined. I have faith in you! You just crack me up with the parking tickets. I wish I lived near you so I could tag along one day. Too funny! Take care πŸ™‚

    Reply

  16. kaylee2
    May 04, 2008 @ 18:30:43

    you didnt get it?

    Reply

  17. joanharvest
    May 04, 2008 @ 19:16:20

    @ kaylee

    No I never got it. Do you want the address again?

    Reply

  18. kaylee2
    May 04, 2008 @ 19:32:16

    Yeah please if you dont mind.

    Reply

  19. Anne
    May 04, 2008 @ 20:07:27

    Love your Stonehenge πŸ™‚ and yeah, those 1 point things add up faster than we think, especially if we actually are counting them. Boy do I know what you mean about the brain forgetting and calculating what we remember but then not remembering all that much. Hang in there!

    Reply

  20. joanharvest
    May 04, 2008 @ 21:52:04

    Reply

  21. joanharvest
    May 04, 2008 @ 23:23:56

    Hi Anne!!

    Yea, those points add up fast if you don’t track them. Thanks for the support. That’s what helps me keep going. Someday I will get to Stonehenge. Please stop by again.

    Reply

  22. joanharvest
    May 04, 2008 @ 23:27:16

    @ thebeadden
    Any time you want to ride with me looking for illegal handicap parkers you are welcome. It’s a blast giving a ticket to some little punk who is too lazy to walk an extra 100 feet. I wonder what he thinks when he gets a $100 ticket.

    Reply

  23. javaqueen14
    May 05, 2008 @ 00:02:08

    Joan, I love this. It’s so brave of you to put this out there. Weight is such a son of a monkey! Just kills me. I’ve been battling it for more than 16 years now. I’ve had two surgeries (lap band, and lap band revision) and still struggling. When the surgeon tightens the band, I get severe acid reflux and am REALLY crabby because I cannot sleep laying down due to the condition, when he loosens the band, I am ABLE to eat more, and I eat like there’s no tomorrow, so disheartening and just adds to my depression. I lost 120, then gained 50, had another surgery, lost 15 more and now I’m over eating again. Food, It’s my vice, and I am my own worst enemy so the fact that you can even post your weight, man, kudos to you! Maybe I can do this? I’m not sure, but I just think it takes BALLS to go for it and put it out there. It’s such a hard thing but you are doing great! Just love you and am so glad I found your blog! xoxxoxo!

    I should have a 3rd surgery and have them sew this big mouth SHUT! I don’t want to gain anymore 😦

    Reply

  24. museditions
    May 05, 2008 @ 02:18:11

    Oh, boy, I’d been wanting to see your Stonehenge, thanks for posting it! It looks like it’s on puzzle pieces? I’ve never seen anything like it. Your weight watchers diary looks very reasonable! Funny about the snacks-in-the-bathroom! Let us know if it works! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  25. joanharvest
    May 05, 2008 @ 10:11:36

    @ javaqueen
    I was afraid to have the surgery. I have a fear of hospitals and doctors. Though I know at some point I am going to have to face knee surgery. I have probably 1000 pounds in the past 15 years and gained back 1200. I’ve always though if you didn’t have to eat at all it would be easier. It’s like putting a drink in front of an alcoholic and saying you can only drink a little. I’m happy we found each other too.

    @MusEditions
    It is puzzle pieces, probably the only way they could fit it in the small box it came in. Well, snacks in the bathroom worked both last night and the night before. I even changed the kitty litter just in case but the thought of eating FF chocolate pudding in the bathroom, standing, just didn’t appeal to me.

    Reply

  26. Red
    May 05, 2008 @ 11:35:11

    Aw, MsJoan, you know my issues with weight .. but ya know, everyone has a setback every now and again. Next week, you may lose 5 pounds, and that’ll kinda equal itself out. Weightloss is tough. Really tough. I thought quiting the cigarettes was tough, but this . . food is so much harder. I’ll keep you in my thoughts and send you happy vibes .. fat-free happy vibes πŸ™‚

    Reply

  27. Just a Mom
    May 05, 2008 @ 12:58:35

    Keep your head held high and your mouth shut on your weight loss journey! πŸ™‚
    If you are like me and are a crunchy munchy munchier, try crunching on a celery stick or a carrot for a snack. Just don’t dip it! Stay away from the dip!!!

    Reply

  28. Red
    May 05, 2008 @ 13:09:43

    What is this bullshit?!!! Dip isn’t free?! I thought if you ate celery and carrots, it was automatically free no matter how much dip, peanut butter and cream cheese is involved. D’oh!
    πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  29. Hay
    May 05, 2008 @ 22:10:53

    Awww, don’t be discouraged Joan, good things take time. I used to do weight watchers forever ago and lost LOADS of weight. I became a lifetime member. But, alas, two kids later and its al back. Nevermind, I will lose it again!

    Reply

  30. joanharvest
    May 06, 2008 @ 01:09:01

    @ Red
    Oh, I definitely need fat free vibes. Thanks. I quit smoking about five years ago, thank goodness. That was easy compared to losing weight.

    I went to a party recently and they had a veggie tray because they knew I was coming and the girl used FF yogurt as the dip. It was good. Yea, I too was disappointed when I found out peanut butter and cream cheese weren’t free.

    @ Just a Mom
    I’m good at keeping my head held high but keeping my mouth shut is the big problem. I’m either blabbing away or putting food into eat. πŸ™‚

    @Hay
    Yea, I blame it all on my kids. I was thin until they came along. But now that I have them I wouldn’t trade them for anything. They are what keeps me going so I can live a long time and be around to pester them.

    Reply

  31. betme
    May 06, 2008 @ 13:21:15

    “She’d have to rip it off my fat dead body”… this and the popcorn after midnight comment left me doing the pee-pee dance from laughing so hard.

    Happy to see you regaining control of your diet. You are an inspiration to those of us who swig Ranch dressing from the bottle.

    Reply

  32. joanharvest
    May 07, 2008 @ 01:20:48

    @Betme
    Well, I wasn’t lying when I said she’d have to rip it off me. It’s around my neck forever. Well, it’s after midnight now and I am sure hoping these crackers I’m eating don’t count. But I know now they do count and I added 2 points to my tracker which leaves me one more point for the night. I think I’ll go to bed knowing I didn’t even use up all my points for a change.

    My sister got me some really expensive Balsamic vinegar for Christmas. It was about $12 or $13 for a small bottle. I love it so much I could actually swig that out of the bottle straight. Now my daughter has decided she loves it too and I have to share it with her. Fortunately this week my sister found it at another store for half the price so I guess I can be a good mommy and share it with the daughter.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

