6 Things About Me Meme

I was tagged by Girl From The Ghetto to do this meme. She keeps me up to date on what is happening on my favorite TV show LOST. I watch it every week but sometimes I get LOST watching it and she explains everything on her blog. I always seem to miss some key elements of the show that she never misses.

Here are the rules: 1) Link back to the person who tagged you (that= me!). 2) Post the rules on your blog. 3) Write six things about yourself. 4) Tag six people at the end of your post by posting links to their blog sites. 5) Let them know they’ve been tagged by leaving a comment on their site. 6) And let your tagger know when your entry is up.

Wow, that’s a lot of rules, but I think I can handle it. The question is I think everyone already knows everything about me. I pretty much tell all. So I have to try and think of something new I haven’t already let out of the bag. I’m thinking the bag is pretty empty.

1. I don’t consider myself grown up and I don’t think I ever will. My daughter agrees with me. The wasband’s birthday was on the 24th so he, Sarah and I went to a really nice place for dinner. Obie had a previous commitment (Texas hold em poker). Barry and I were acting as silly as we usually do as Sarah was sitting looking all sophisticated and beautiful and she said “Here I am with my two grown children who are acting out again.” That made all three of us hysterical. I’m glad the place wasn’t too busy. People would have thought we were very strange. The thing is I really don’t want to grow up. I don’t mind being a responsible adult but I don’t want to be an old fart.

2. Other than my two children I love my sister more than anyone in the world. She is my best friend, my therapist, and has been like a mother to me since we were young even though we had a mother who tried her best to be a good mother. Our mother was too busy worrying about what she didn’t have, to worry about us. Though I know she loved us in her own way. I tell my sister everything and she tells me mostly everything. She is the most honest, loving, loyal, crazy, weird, strange person I know. She understands me like no other person in the world.

MY SISTER AND HER DAUGHTER

3. I truly believe there are aliens out there somewhere. At least I believe there are living beings on other planets. Statistically, there would have to be. Our sun is one star of a trillion in our galaxy, the Milky Way Galaxy. There are billions of galaxies in our universe each containing trillions of stars. That would mean there are trillions upon trillions of stars and some of them would have to have planets orbiting them. We already know that some of them do. We can’t be so presumptuous as to think we are the only planet with lifeforms on it. The question is: Do any of these lifeforms have the technology to reach us and have they already been here?

Run, run! Don’t let the aliens get you! Kitten escaping from the scary aliens

4. I wish I were a more artistic person. I can’t draw, I can’t write, and I can’t even come up with any good crafty ideas, even though I have more craft crap than anyone I know.

CRAFT CRAP

5. When I COULD go out and take a walk I very seldom did. Now that I can’t, all I want to do is walk. I imagine myself walking down the beach or the bike path which parallels the beach. I guess you need to learn to enjoy what you have because you may not always have it. But I do have hope that I will be able to walk the bike path again someday.

THE SHINING SEA BIKE PATH

6. If you are going to be negative–GET OFF MY SUNSHINE!!! I have really changed my attitude in the past year. I try to look at everything in a positive way. I really feel negative people emit negative energy and I just don’t want to be around them. We all have our problems, some worse than others. But having a positive attitude even during the worst of times makes the bad times seem not so bad. I love being around my daughter because her positive energy flows all around her. I now feel that you can turn anything negative in your life into something positive if you try hard enough. Listen to the following song and tell me that doesn’t make you happy!!

I have to go make supper so I will tag people later. But I want to at least get this posted now.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teeni
    May 01, 2008 @ 14:41:14

    Ohmygarsh. Joan you really are my twin (or I am yours?)! I LOVED this post and the weird thing is it sounds so much like me!!! I have a whole post about not wanting to grow up, and I did a post on the bike path near where I live with lots of photos, and the whole positive attitude thing? I’ve done posts on how I had a total change from my cynical days since my diagnosis and how I don’t want anyone raining on my parade! LOL. And to top it off – I LOVE that song! Another one that might make you happy is The Hampster Dance – that one always gets me moving and smiling – go here to listen to samples http://www.amazon.com/Hampster-Dance-Song-Hampton/dp/B00004U0S7. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. CuriousC at Idea Jump!
    May 01, 2008 @ 15:28:39

    Yes, I feel all sunshiny now, thanks for the song! The colors are so vivid, I wish I was by that ocean in that video – so blue! Blue in a happy way. I’ll consider myself tagged. But tomorrow is Photo Friday! Maybe I’ll do both. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. Peter Parkour
    May 01, 2008 @ 17:37:19

    I think you went above and beyond on this post. πŸ˜‰ Thinking your bag is empty just made you dig down that much deeper. πŸ™‚ #1-3: I am so with you. #4: My wife might have you beat in the arts/crafts collection that mostly just collects dust. :mrgreen: #5: I’m with you again. Use it or lose it. I’m currently trying to keep what I have, and get back what I lost. I need to quit trying and start doing. πŸ˜‰ #6: You know it girl. Those bad attitude, psychic vampires are out there. Don’t let them get you down. I enjoyed the song (your video) while I typed this out. Thanks. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. thegirlfromtheghetto
    May 01, 2008 @ 18:30:07

    Good job Joan. I’m glad you like my LOST updates … can’t wait for tonights episode. BTW, I believe in aliens, too..

    Reply

  5. thebeadden
    May 01, 2008 @ 20:45:58

    What a great post Joan. I just love that song. It does make you feel happy! πŸ™‚
    I never want to grow up. Ever.

    P.S. You can so write. The best kind of writing too, the kind that can make people laugh. That’s not an easy thing to do.

    Reply

  6. Barbara
    May 01, 2008 @ 21:41:39

    Aw shucks, Joan, you made my day.

    Love,
    Sister B.

    Reply

  7. thegirlfromtheghetto
    May 01, 2008 @ 23:53:02

    I forgot to say that I love the picture of the cat running from aliens. Ha ha!

    Reply

  8. Red
    May 02, 2008 @ 01:10:59

    Aw .. your sister and niece are precious!
    And yes, you do have a lot of craft crap. Craft crap is good to have. Ya never know when you’ll need it .. and you do write well.

    Reply

  9. becky
    May 02, 2008 @ 06:42:10

    I’m officially inspired for the day. Thanks, Joan.

    And that Barb is some babe, eh? Well, I knew that.

    b

    Reply

  10. kaylee
    May 03, 2008 @ 14:51:14

    I am so glad you like your sister so much πŸ™‚

    Reply

  11. Trackback: Well, Whatever I THINK, too! « Idea Jump!
  12. joanharvest
    May 03, 2008 @ 15:51:56

    @ Kaylee
    How’s things going? You never e-mailed me. My sister is the best.

    Reply

  13. joanharvest
    May 03, 2008 @ 17:18:32

    @ Teeni
    I am happy that you liked this post. “Long lost twins finally find each other”. Maybe we should be on Oprah!!

    @ CuriousC
    Thanks for doing the meme. I’m mine made you happy and sunshiny.

    @ Peter
    I’m glad you liked this post. I suppose it would be hard to do arts and crafts inside of a truck. πŸ™‚ I guess there is always some crumbs in the bottom of the bag.

    @thegirlfromtheghetto
    There has to be aliens. I really appreciate your LOST synopsis. I would be LOST without it.

    @thebeadden
    I’m just glad I’m not the only one that doesn’t want to grow up. That song always puts me in a good mood. Thanks for the compliment on my writing skills. Any skill I have is because my sister taught me. She is a superb writer.

    @ Red

    I really, really want to start using some of the craft crap. I am trying to stop the procrastinating crap first so that I then will use the craft crap.

    @ Becky

    Well I am happy to have inspired someone. Bobbie is a babe. She said when you come down this summer she wants me to come for coffee with you guys so you and I can meet now that we are blog buddies. I look forward to that.

    Reply

  14. 2lazydogs
    May 04, 2008 @ 11:58:05

    Great post, Joan! I totally agree with #1 – I feel like I’m still in my 20’s, even though those years are long gone. Sometimes I worry about not acting my age – especially when my 9 yr. old is acting up and I say to her “Do you want to be the mother today?” and her response is, “Well, yes, somebody has to be.” Eek.

    #2 – you are so lucky to have a wonderful relationship with your sister. My sister and I do not get along very well. We are two years apart and early on she always wanted to ‘hang’ with her older sis…I didn’t want to have anything to do with her. We fought constantly and even though we get along as adults I can’t help but think those early years caused so much friction between us that we’ve never been able to be close.

    I’ve always loved that song! Definitely brightens the day….thanks!

    Reply

  15. romi41
    May 04, 2008 @ 22:23:40

    ummm excuse me scratch one off the list because you CAN freakin’ write!!! I really enjoy your posts and yes through reading your blog/comments, I have seen how you turn negatives into positives and look for the bright side…I really admire that and we can all learn to adopt that way of thinking πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  16. Moonbeam McQueen
    May 08, 2008 @ 08:29:56

    I’m playing blog catch up here, Joan. I really loved this post (along with a few other ones of yours I read this morning). I’ve said this before, but I love how close your family is. The photo of Barbara and her daughter is fantastic!

    Let’s start an arrested development club. I’m not growing up either.

    Reply

  17. joanharvest
    May 08, 2008 @ 11:35:50

    @ Moonbeam

    You would never guess my sister was 63 when that photo was taken. Yes, we are an unusually close family. My therapist even commented on it.

    Well, I’m glad I’m not the only one who plans on never growing up. I’ll join the club.

    I love your commuter thoughts. I guess I can’t think and drive at the same time.I want to get a little recorder and when I drive to Plymouth for my chiropractor visit, which is the furthest I drive at 27 miles each way, I want to say all my thoughts out loud and record them. I bet when I listen to it, it will just sound like babble talk.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

