Wasband is Having a Sleepover Tonight!! Guess The Blog!!! Drug Addicts in the Yard!! Weight Watcher’s Meeting!

The Wasband and his lovely friend ( and I do mean that seriously) went off for the week because she is a teacher and it was school vacation. They are heading back home but are going to stop in NYC to visit her Dad and have supper with him. They will then head home but it will be late so it will be easier for them to stay here tonight. He can go off tomorrow to his baseball card show and she will head home which is about a 1 1/2 hour drive. He has a twin bed which she will sleep in and he will sleep in the living room with the cats in his comfy chair. Good luck with that.

We have to cover the chair with a heavy comforter because it is leather and the cats will scratch it. You can see some of my cookbook collection in the backround.

Yoda will harass him all night. Yoda likes to sleep wrapped around your neck. He is a very stubborn cat and tonight we will find out who is more stubborn, the wasband or Yoda. The wasband will have one thing on his side , a spray water bottle. The cat will have something on his side, he has been sprayed so many times he doesn’t care about the spray water bottle anymore. I think he feels it’s kind of refreshing.

This is Yoda deciding whether to jump around my neck, a neat trick my son taught him. Now here is the question– CAN YOU GUESS WHO’S BLOG I’M READING ON MY COMPUTER? I visit this person’s blog almost daily to get a good laugh. You can also see my police scanner. I always like to know ahead of time when something bad is going to go down on my street. It has happened so often that now I like to be prepared.

Just up the street is a halfway house for drug addicts. Now I have nothing against recovering drug addicts. I am related to one. But I will tell you a little story here.

A couple of years ago I woke up in the middle of the night and heard a car outside my bedroom window. I peeked out the window and there was a car parked on my front lawn by the stockade fence which is hidden from the main road. A man climbed out the window of the car and I’m thinking here we go again. I have written many stories of weird people in my yard at night and this is just another from a long list.

I noticed that the front of the car is badly dented, more like mangled. I’m praying he is not going to come to the door because of course I am home alone. I had my cell phone in my hand and the guy started heading toward the street as I was calling the police. I immediately put on the police scanner. The police arrived within two minutes. Evidently, this guy and a girl had an argument and he crashed her car purposefully. She, supposedly got out of the car and he tried to run her over. He then drives her to the ER, dumps her off and leaves her car in my yard. Come to find out he lives at the halfway house, the girl is my son’s ex-girlfriend and the guy is my son’s ex drug dealer. I think he was selling drugs out of the halfway house. Anyway he went to jail for a while but I guess he is out again. My son was living in Florida at the time. This is why my son can’t live in this town. The police ended up arresting the guy at the half way house and towed the car away. This is the same poor girl who overdosed on heroin and died last September.

This is why I leave the police scanner on. My house is a magnet for weirdos. But I like to live on the edge. Yea right!!

I had my weight watcher’s meeting this morning and lost .8 pounds. Not a lot but with the kids gone and on my own I didn’t think I would lose anything. I can’t change the numbers on my weight tracker because I really weighed 275.8 last week and sort of rounded it off to 275. So now I really weigh 275 and have to lose more to change the tracker. So this week I will be vigilant and try to do better on portion control.

I am off to enjoy the day. It is beautiful and sunny and already the day is half gone. Going to the beach.

I took this photo at sunset a few years ago at Chapoquoit Beach in West Falmouth.

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 2lazydogs
    Apr 26, 2008 @ 15:39:30

    Love the pic of Yoda…he definitely looks like he’s up to something sneaky! Wish my cat had some spunk in him…he’s such a mellow, floppy kind of cat…you can do anything to him and he doesn’t mind…and he’d never think of trying to get you back!

    I know, I know! You’re reading XXXXXX Blog!

    Gorgeous photo of the beach…the reflection of the sunset at the water’s edge looks like lava…that is spectacular!

    Reply

  2. joanharvest
    Apr 26, 2008 @ 15:45:56

    @ 2lazydogs
    2 Lazydogs gets it right!!!!

    Yoda is a dog in a cat suit. I am going to edit out your answer to the blog question to see if anyone else gets it as fast as you did. Very observant of you. It’s a beautiful beach and I’m fortunate to be able to go there and relax.

    Reply

  3. teeni
    Apr 26, 2008 @ 17:27:26

    Oh, what a fabulous photo of the sunset. You sure do have lots of um, interesting, activity at your place. Makes me happy to be a bit away from the coast. I wonder if that is Wendy’s blog? I dunno. But that’s my guess anyway.

    Reply

  4. kaylee2
    Apr 26, 2008 @ 17:43:11

    IGorgeous beach photo!

    Reply

  5. Moonbeam McQueen
    Apr 27, 2008 @ 08:08:13

    Sounds like it was an interesting night in the Joan Harvest House! I wonder how much sleep your wasband got? I like that rug in picture #1 and the sunset picture is amazing. But the one I really love is that one in the sidebar of you wrapped in the flag. Gorgeous!

    Reply

  6. Peter Parkour
    Apr 27, 2008 @ 11:33:09

    :mrgreen: I knew who’s blog that was before I even got to the question. πŸ˜‰
    Yoda is a very handsome looking cat.
    That is a wild and crazy area you live in there. The scanner doesn’t sound like a bad idea at all.
    That’s a very nice pic of the sunset in the surf. You already know I agree with Moonbeam on the flag pic, and I’m really looking forward to your updated remake. πŸ™‚
    Keep up the great work. πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  7. boundandgags
    Apr 27, 2008 @ 12:05:12

    Yoda’s looking at I Can Haz Cheezburger!

    My girlfriend has a police scanner. We have many cop friends and her Father was a Boston cop. She doesn’t listen to it much now (on to the new shiny object) but when it was up she was gone and it was in the background while I was working. All of a sudden I heard a call with a name I knew.

    The weird part is 1) the name I heard was a Boston cop 2) the call wasn’t from Boston 3) he was on the bad side of the call. Turns out he was parked at a park, like he does quite often to listen to the radio and get away from everyone, when someone in the group frolicking with their family came up to him and asked him to leave. At first he thought his radio was too loud so he offered to turn it down. Turns out that wasn’t the problem. When he realized what it was he pulled out his detectives badge to let them know he wasn’t a threat.

    They still wanted him gone so told them they were calling the police (there are, after all, many fake badges in the world. But, knowing this guy, the vehicle he was driving and his manner – I call him GQ Cop – he wouldn’t strike one as a fake badge carrier). He told them to do what they had to do.

    A few minutes later the local law showed up, they went to the people first, came over to my friend, they discussed the law, he showed proper ID, they discussed the law again, before, finally, the local officer decided that my friend wasn’t doing anything unlawful.

    We laughed when I called him about the call and what was said. Now I’m not saying the people or the local cops in this situation were racist but when they called his superior to report him his superior asked if he wanted to make a case. His boss even called me to see if I’d testify to what I heard. In the end my friend let it go but it proved that police scanners can be a good thing.

    Like the time we found out about an upstairs neighbors drug overdose. But that one didn’t come as a surprise to me. I was woken by the screams of the sister when she tried to wake him. When Terry came in to tell me what was going on I told her I already knew.

    “And you went back to sleep?”

    “I didn’t like the guy so why lose sleep?”

    Reply

  8. David
    Apr 27, 2008 @ 13:19:10

    Nice post Joan! That cat looks like he’s got some attitude, great shot of him.

    I also love that photo of the beach. It really invited my eye right in, and I couldn’t get it to leave!

    LOL: “My house is a magnet for weirdos.” πŸ˜€ cough cough

    The reason I asked about the flag photo is because my wife, years ago, bought a flag like that at a yard sale- it’s big, has 48 stars, sewn from somewhat rough linen material. It’s really a nice flag, but I wouldn’t want to wear it. I sorta wear it when I climb up the ladder to hang it under our eaves for July 4 or Memorial Day. The first time I hung it our mailman was kind enough to point out that I’d hung it backwards.

    Do you still have that guitar?

    Reply

  9. Hannah
    Apr 27, 2008 @ 17:05:19

    Love the sunset photo. Well done on your 0.8 weight loss, it all adds up and slow and steady is the way to go! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  10. Wendy
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 13:29:06

    I’m guessing it’s XXXXXs blog…I’m not reading the comments until you tell me if I’m right, I don’t want to accidentally read a spoiler. I recognize the XXXXX photo. XXXXX posts the best photos ever.

    My cat was like yours, he was immune to the spray bottle. I got to where I could tell he was going to attack me because he started squinting his eyes. He did this even the spray bottle wasn’t anywhere near me.

    That story about the drug dealer and the car etc., that is so common on the Cape. I don’t read that stuff anymore since I moved to El Paso, but every morning when I would go to read the police blotter for the E, there would be something in there like that. Another thing that is weirdly a Cape thing is calling the police when your 8-year-old acts up and you can’t conrol him (or a little kid calling the cops because his parents spanked him). You don’t really see that in other parts of the country, or anywhere else in Mass. even. But it’s in the blotter a lot. Yeah, calling the cops on your little kid or vice versa is definitely a Cape thing. A teenager I can see, but your little kid?

    Reply

  11. CuriousC
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 15:26:14

    WHat!!! a TITLE!!! I’m excited! and exhausted!!! by all the exclam-points!!! (I love it, really, I do.)

    such a sad story tho about the drugs…

    Here’s to ONward (or downward?) to 270 and enjoy the beach!

    Reply

  12. Laura
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 16:28:22

    Wow! We never have anything exciting happen back here in the woods. Sometimes, on Friday nights hooligans (hooligans — what a satisfying word)with nothing better to do blow up mailboxes with cherry bombs or hit them with baseball bats. But our mailbox is half-a-mile away down the gravel road, so even that isn’t exciting until the next morning, when we hunt down pieces of mailbox. (Now watch somebody drive into our yard just to make a liar out of me.)

    Reply

  13. joanharvest
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 16:41:27

    @ Teeni
    No, it’s not Wendy’s blog. I’m not sure if you know this person. Interesting activity at my place–that’s an understatement, but it keeps excitement in my life. I just have to make sure to take my high blood pressure meds. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  14. joanharvest
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 17:23:49

    @Kaylee
    Thank you, that’s one of my favorite beach photos.

    @Moonbeam
    My daughter gave me that rug for Christmas two years ago. It’s a real Oriental rug that they got at an auction. Too bad the cats think it’s a cat scratching post.

    Yea, that flag picture makes me laugh when I see it. I still remember the day my brother-in-law took those pictures of me.

    @Peter
    Thanks Peter. And of course you know whose blog it is.
    You wouldn’t think Cape Cod would be so wild and crazy but OMG it is and it’s not even the tourists, it’s the crazy locals.

    @B&G

    The cop story is crazy. He had just as much right to be there as they did. He was just chillin.

    “I didn’t like the guy so why lose sleep?” Good point.

    @David

    I’ll have to ask my brother-in-law how many stars are on his flag. I think it is fairly old and big too. My sister still has the guitar. It’s a Harmony and must be 45 years old and still has a good sound.

    @ Wendy

    You are write about whose blog it is.

    I thought all parents called the police when they can’t handle their eight year olds. Or at least called Super nanny. I read about in the police log all the time. It’s crazy. I didn’t know it was just here. Yikes!!

    @ Hannah

    You are right about slow and steady. It is healthier. Glad you liked the photo. That was a shot where everything was in the right place at the right time including me.

    @ CuriousC

    That’s how my brain is. All full of stuff at the same time and everything has exclamation points. I can’t wait to get into the 260″s.

    @ Laura

    I had to get a Post Office Box because our mailbox used to be on the main road. I had to walk up my short street a few houses up to get to the main road to get my mail. After having my mail box whacked with a baseball bat so many times I opted for a P.O. Box.

    We used to call your hooligans, “Rave Ons”. I’m not sure now where my sister and I got that word from. My sister would call me and ask “Did you hear the Rave Ons having a party last night?” or “Did you hear the Rave Ons on the dirt bikes yesterday.” or “A bunch of Rave Ons knocked over 50 mailboxes on the main road.”

    Reply

  15. betme
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 18:37:08

    I remember you telling me about the girl over-dosing. That still makes me sad. We used to listen to the scanner when we lived in a small town. Now it is overwhelming.

    Even if the wight was only .75… it IS .75 in the right direction! πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  16. betme
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 18:38:28

    wait… that was weight… hehehe

    Reply

  17. kaylee2
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 19:12:34

    Cn I send you an email?

    Reply

  18. dragonfly3085
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 22:26:06

    Congratulations on all your weight loss! I’m really proud of you! That’s so great, I’m actually pretty jealous. Good for you it must feel so good!

    Reply

  19. joanharvest
    Apr 29, 2008 @ 17:47:38

    @ betme

    Yes, that was so sad about that young girl. My town is small enough that the scanner isn’t overwhelming. Sometimes you don’t hear anything for hours.

    Any weight loss is good weight loss, no matter how you spell it. πŸ™‚

    @Kaylee
    Sure you can e-mail me. you’ve got my address.

    @ Dragonfly
    The weight loss thing is by far the hardest thing and involves the most amount of work and patience that I have ever done. But I am really happy over what I have done so far.

    Reply

  20. Anne
    May 01, 2008 @ 04:33:23

    Oh, good job on the weight loss Joan! Congrats! Anytime you are going down in weight is a good thing, for your mind, body, and spirit – I’m really proud of you!

    Ha! Ha! That’s Spideys page, right? Your cat is cute!

    It’s always interesting to read about the nice relationship you have with the wasband – that’s the coolest relationship ever and so healthy! Has most likely been invaluable to your kids and family. That just goes to show what an amazing person you are.

    Reply

  21. joanharvest
    May 01, 2008 @ 10:56:43

    Yes, that’s Spidey’s page. He is so funny and nice. Well, I don’t know how amazing I am, but to my daughter I am. Sometimes I’ll do or say things and she’ll say “I don’t believe you did that Ma, that’s amazing.” I don’t think she means it in the same kind way you did. She just thinks her parents are weird but she loves us anyway.

    My wasband’s new girlfriend thought he was weird at first when he told her he lived with his ex-wife and was good friends with his ex-girlfriend. But now that she has met us all she gets it.

    Reply

  22. Josly
    May 16, 2008 @ 00:22:58

    I didn’t realize how good this site is the first time I checked it out. But once you spend some time with it, it’s rather impressive.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

