The Kids Are Home, My 275 Pound Weight Goal Prize from Sarah, Post Accident Crap, and a Cat in a Bag

The kids took a late flight out of Vegas last night and returned home before I had even gotten out of bed. They hadn’t slept on the flight so they went downstairs and right to sleep. That meant I had to wait to get my prize from Sarah for reaching 275 pounds. To pass the time away, I took my brother grocery shopping which I do every week and did some shopping myself so I could make the kids a good supper. They’ve been eating restaurant food for ten days. They needed a good home cooked meal.

I also had to go to the police station to get a copy of the police report from my fender bender on Saturday. The report clearly says it wasn’t my fault. Sarah wasn’t the least upset about the car. I knew she wouldn’t be.

I finally got home, made supper and she got up from her day’s rest to eat. That’s when she gave me this.

A few months ago she had been walking on the beach during her lunch hour and found a piece of sea glass in the shape of a heart. She had it mounted in sterling silver and made into a charm for my silver neck chain. Isn’t that awesome!! Now she is really close to my heart.

A CAT IN THE BAG–I told you my cat sleeps in my bag.

A FEW PHOTOS OF THE KIDS IN VEGAS

IT WAS OBIE’S BIRTHDAY DURING THEIR VACATION AND THAT IS HIS CAKE.

Her sunburn had healed by the time these pictures were taken but you can see the coloring in her face. Now it’s just tan.

She has about a zillion photos of her trip but I spared you and only posted three. I haven’t even seen the rest so there might be more.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hannah
    Apr 23, 2008 @ 16:19:27

    What a beautiful, thoughtful gift! I love it. Glad they had a nice vacation, I bet you are happy to have them home again πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. kaylee
    Apr 23, 2008 @ 17:58:28

    Glad they had a good vacation and CUTE CAT!

    Reply

  3. Lucky
    Apr 23, 2008 @ 17:59:53

    MAN!! What a beautiful necklace!!! She is so thoughtful!! It’s gorgeous πŸ˜€

    Reply

  4. teeni
    Apr 23, 2008 @ 20:27:56

    That is such a sentimental gift! And how pretty! You know I think your daughter looks a lot like you. You must hear that all the time. Anyway, I’m glad they are home safe and your cat is a nut like my cat, I see! LOL

    Reply

  5. Laura
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 06:01:54

    Oh, I love finding random heart-shaped things! The sea glass is beautiful — so sweet of your daughter!
    Congrats on reaching a goal. I can’t seem to string together more than a day or two of eating healthy. Why is that, when I KNOW I feel better the days I don’t eat crap??
    That photo of your daughter in front of the yellow tulips — she’s just beautiful! And I love your photos in the sidebar — you look like a Mucha girl! You know, Alphonse? πŸ™‚

    Reply

  6. Red
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 10:49:03

    Oh that is a beautiful piece your daughter found/gave you .. im sure you’ll treasure it always.
    Congrats on the 275 mark! That’s just great, Joan.

    Reply

  7. Peter Parkour
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 12:11:05

    Yes, congrats on the 275, and that is a very beautiful piece your daughter had made for you. Very sweet of her. Cat in the bag, too cute. πŸ™‚ I love that pic of you in the flag. I look at it every time I come here, and it makes me smile. πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  8. joanharvest
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 12:29:14

    @ Hannah
    It was nice to get a vacation from cooking and thought -Yes, 10 days of freedom- but after 2 days I missed them and couldn’t wait for them to get back home.

    @ Kaylee
    That cat is just one of the three black cats that I have. He’s Yoda, the smallest and toughest and cutest.

    @ Lucky

    Sarah is always doing thoughtful things for me. I can’t even count the number of wonderful she has done. I am so fortuante to have such a great daughter.

    @Teeni
    A lot of people say we look alike. I wonder if it will be more noticeable when I lose the rest of my weight? And yes, that particular cat is nuts but he is the one we all love the most because he has the personality of a dog.

    @Laura
    What has helped me with losing weight is planning ahead. On Sunday, I plan out all my meals and on Monday I eat and then go shopping and only buy what’s on the list. Everyone else has to buy their own snacks and lock them up in their cars or rooms. Since I cook all the suppers, everyone eats weight watchers meals or they don’t eat. Fortunately I cook well and have found some great meals. Today I am cooking a jerk pot roast in the crock pot. I cut almost 1 pound of fat off that damn roast. We will have it with rice and cranberry brussel sprouts.

    I sent the flag photo to my husband when he was in basic training for the National Guard during the early 70’s.

    @ Red
    Thanks for the congrats. I think blogging has actually helped me lose weight. It takes up time and keeps me from boredom eating and I’d be too embarrassed to not lose the weight now that so many people know I’m doing it.

    I have the sea glass around my neck now but I can’t see it. I keep going to the mirror to look at it and then I see myself and that surely keeps me away from the fridge.

    Reply

  9. joanharvest
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 12:32:27

    @ Peter

    I think that once I lose all the weight I should have that picture retaken. My brother-in-law still has the flag. I’m glad I make you smile even though the pic is 38 years old.
    πŸ™‚

    Reply

  10. Wendy
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 12:50:47

    What a sweet and wonderful gift that necklace is! Wow, it’s such a loving and creative gesture. You must be so pleased. And hey, GREAT JOB on the weight loss. You rock. ♥

    The happy photos of the kids are excellent. They’re just beaming.

    Reply

  11. joanharvest
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 13:40:42

    @Wendy
    Yea, you know how Sarah is. She is always so thoughtful of me. I’m still on a roll with the weight loss thing. The kids had a great time in Vegas. They also got to see the Grand Canyon and Sedona and some Red Rocks and snowboarding in Utah where she got a terrible sunburn but it has all healed now. Barry’s on vacation with his new girlfriend in Cape May, NJ and even Damon got to take a vacation with his girl to Washington DC. I took a vacation from my bedroom to the living room WOO HOO!!!! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  12. Red
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 14:58:15

    Hey Woman . .sent you an email.
    Hope you dont mind.

    Reply

  13. Just a Mom
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 15:11:58

    Congrats on hitting the weight goal! Keep up the good work!
    I love the necklace!

    Reply

  14. CuriousC
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 18:54:29

    What a beautiful charm! I’ve always wanted to find a piece of sea glass and WOW! she found one so pretty? in the shape of a heart! So cool. Congrats on the 275! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  15. joanharvest
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 19:53:21

    @ Red
    Check your E-mail πŸ™‚

    @ Just a Mom
    Thanks and by the way no one is Just A Mom. We are Moms that are the Bomb!!!

    @ CuriousC
    Thanks. I love the charm. I think because she found it and thought to do that for me makes it so special. But then she is special.

    Reply

  16. David
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 20:46:22

    Oh yes, what a beautiful pendant! Good eye Sarah! We’re always looking for the heart shaped stuff too, make the heart shaped cookies, pancakes, etc.

    Nice post Joan πŸ˜€ I love those old photos of yourself in the flag and with the guitar. I bet that flag was pretty scratchy, huh? Congratulations on your weight loss milestone. πŸ˜€

    Reply

  17. kaylee
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 00:04:54

    Hey Joan HOW ARE YOU???????????????????

    Reply

  18. betme
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 11:27:40

    Wahooooooo on the weight loss! And I heart your heart. Sarah is such a sweetie. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  19. joanharvest
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 12:33:13

    @ David
    I wish I could eat cookies and pancakes in any shape. You know, that photo in the flag was taken so long ago, I can’t remember if it was scratchy. My brother-in-law still has the flag and when I lose weight I’m going to have my picture taken in it again. That ought to be good for a laugh.

    @ Kaylee
    I left you a comment on your meme. I’m doing fine.

    @ betme

    Sarah is a sweet pea. I don’t know if my weight loss will be so good this week. I don’t think I did that well left to my own devices. I do better when the kids are home. I’ll find out tomorrow.

    Reply

  20. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Apr 26, 2008 @ 00:27:08

    That sea glass heart is awesome, what a nice gift.

    Reply

  21. Moonbeam McQueen
    Apr 26, 2008 @ 10:45:36

    Sarah is just as beautiful on the outside as she is on the inside– these pictures are wonderful, and the thoughtfulness and uniqueness of your prise is so touching. She and Obie look like such a happy couple!

    Who let the cat out of the bag? Apparently, no one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

