Fluff Five Meme

I’ve been tagged by the bead den for this meme. Don’t feel like you HAVE to participate, and ignore it if you have been tagged already. If you are interested in learning anything about beaded jewelry the bead den can direct you to the right place. You should look at the photos of some of the stuff she has made. It’s amazing. She is also a fun blogger and has other interesting things she blogs about too. I’m sorry but I have to do this meme with photos.

5 Things Found In Your Bag

This is my bag. Sometimes the cats sleep in it.

  • various antibacterial products because I have a disease called “Fear of Flu”
  • large pen– so I can find it quickly to give out tickets to illegal handicapped parkers.
  • various pairs of glasses because I can’t see for shit and medicare won’t pay for trifocals. I carry them all with me because you never know when you’ll want to see something.
  • my list organizers because I can’t remember anything.
  • My knife–Don’t mess with Mama. The farm is where we get our organic produce in the summer. You have to pick your own so Sarah goes on Mondays (her day off).
5 Favorite Things In Your Room
This was difficult because I have so many favorite things in my room.
  • George, my protector
  • Sarah had this done in Disneyworld on their honeymoon. Their photo is lasered into the middle of the glass and it is on a turntable which lights up the glass in different colors. It is wicked cool.
  • Damon got me this for Christmas this year. It is hand cut from recycled metal.
  • This is my wizard candle that Sarah got me at the Renaissance fair. I’ve had two others from this particular candle maker and they both melted in the sun and Sarah just keeps replacing them. Hopefully this one won’t melt.
  • This is the cover to Primetime Magazine. My father and I were on the cover for his last Father’s Day. He died 7 months later. The Cape Cod Times had asked people to send in stories about their fathers and they would print some of them in their magazine. They liked mine so much they came to our store and took pictures of us. We never expected to be on the cover.

5 Things You Are Currently Into

  • Cooking
  • blogging
  • scrapbooking (but I haven’t done one scrapbook yet I have tons of materials to do it.)
  • beading (but I haven’t done one piece of jewelry yet I have all the materials to do it.)
  • Photography
5 Things You Have Always Wanted To Do
  • Travel to the countryside of England
  • Be a normal size and not in pain
  • Not worry about my son
  • Not be a burden to anyone
  • Have a beautiful garden with herbs for cooking.

5 People You Want To Tag

I tagged these people because I thought there was a chance they might do it plus I love learning more about everyone. But don’t feel obligated. It’s only if you feel like it. If anyone else would like to do it , please do.

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lucky
    Apr 17, 2008 @ 14:25:24

    I love that you carry a knife in your purse. You are hardcore, Joan! 🙂 The candles are awesome!! No wait- They are wicked cool. You can’t even tell they’re candles. The magazine cover is very nice…what a great memory/keepsake of you two together.

    Reply

  2. betme
    Apr 17, 2008 @ 14:51:12

    There must be a wordpress gremlin. Every time I hit back-space, I am returned to your homepage. (I use back-space key a lot to correct my mis-spellings)

    I laughed (sorry) about your 5 pairs of glasses. I carry two pairs. One on top of my head to hold the hair out of my face and one in my purse in case I need to see. 😀

    The magazine cover is very heart-warming. When I retire I am going to have a beautiful garden with herbs too. (and I am going to smoke them…. hahaha)

    Ps. Thanks for the tag. This meme looks like a fun one to put together. Your lists are so cool.

    Reply

  3. Lumpy
    Apr 17, 2008 @ 15:17:18

    This is a a fabulous list you have here – love so much about it. My mouth dropped when I saw all the glasses cases that you have to carry- my gawsh, your purse must weigh a ton! Oh, I’ll be back here as soon as I get back from taking my twins to the ortho; I gotta run. But, before I go, I was so caught off guard by the picture of you and your father and what you wrote that my eyes are full of tears. I’m so sorry for your loss and what a neat remembrance to have of the two of you. Such a lovely picture, I cannot even tell you! The knife, the antibacterial products, OMG, man, I feel like you are my long lost twin Joan, so glad I found you!!!! Gotta go, but I will be back in a bit to check out more 😉 Thanks for including me on your tag, I’m thrilled to participate!
    Love,
    Lumpy

    Reply

  4. Lumpy
    Apr 17, 2008 @ 15:18:42

    Well, I don’t carry knives, but I thought it was hilarious, “Mama gonna cut you up”. I say at work when a co-worker is getting out of hand as a joke, “I’ll cut you girl, don’t even” to try to be all ghetto 😉 So, the knife thing made me crack up.

    Reply

  5. teeni
    Apr 17, 2008 @ 17:45:40

    Thanks, Joan! I’d be happy to do this one – I like that you did it with pictures. I may copy your idea because that makes it even neater. Funny about George – my parents had one exactly like that – I have a picture of me standing with it when I was trying my wedding gown on! I think they sold it at a yard sale before their last house move though. We just called ours, “The Tin Man.” LOL

    Reply

  6. museditions
    Apr 17, 2008 @ 19:12:19

    Hi, I came over from thebeadden (I had tagged her) when I saw in your comment that you had pictures! I hadn’t seen anyone else do that. They are wonderful, and give us even that much more insight. Your other lists are commendable too. Thanks for a great read/view!

    Reply

  7. thebeadden
    Apr 17, 2008 @ 20:12:35

    Joan, thank you for the complements. I’m blushing…
    What a great meme. You and our father on the cover of a magazine. How cool! What a nice thing to have. He must have been a proud Father that day. Thanks a lot for doing the meme. I just knew you’d be a great choice. 🙂

    Reply

  8. kaylee2
    Apr 17, 2008 @ 21:49:26

    NICE ONE 😛

    Reply

  9. Peter Parkour
    Apr 18, 2008 @ 00:09:12

    VERY NICE! 😛 That crystal pic made in Disney World is really cool. The magazine cover, really cool. I just saw your pics on the side. Is that you in the flag? Very cool pic. 😉

    Reply

  10. Trackback: 5 things you are better off not knowing… « DisIsMyPlace
  11. joanharvest
    Apr 18, 2008 @ 12:07:52

    @ Lucky

    Between the knife and the cane, nobody messes with Mama.

    @ Betme

    Recently when I was at the grocery store a woman actually came up to me and said “Do you realize you have four pairs of glasses on your head?” I said “Yes, thank you.” and drove off in my cripple cart. She must have thought I was crazy. I had two pair on top of my head–the middle vision pair and the broken trifocals that I sometimes use at the grocery store even though they are held together by fishing line and are an old prescription but sometimes work better than switching between the other three pair. I actually have learned to wear two pair at a time on my eyes–the long distance pair and the reading pair. When my daughter gets home I’ll have to have her take a picture of me with all four pair on my head. I never really thought about what it must look like, but I have to see when I shop.

    @Lumpy

    I tried to weigh my purse last night but my scale is so messed up it was coming in at 5 pounds and that at 120 pounds and all sorts of weights in between.

    I am glad that we found each other too. I think that we have a lot in common including those awful panic attacks.

    @ Teeni

    I want to see that picture of you next to the tin man. Thanks for taking part in this meme. I love meme’s, especially the kind that tell the reader a lot about the person.

    @museditions

    Thanks for stopping by. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos.

    @thebeadden

    I loved this meme. Thanks for asking me. My Dad and I worked together everyday for almost 10 years. He was a character. I don’t think there is a day that goes by that I don’t meet someone at the grocery store or Post office that doesn’t mention how much they miss my Dad.

    @ Kaylee

    I’m glad you liked it!! How are you doing??

    @ Peter

    Yes, Peter, that is me in the flag. That photo was taken in 1971. That year they had a draft lottery because of the Viet Nam war. They picked dates out of a hat and if your birthday came up as an early pick you would be drafted. My wasband’s number came up second. The day he graduated from college he joined the National guard hoping he wouldn’t have to go to Viet Nam which he didn’t. I took a series of photos to send to him when he was away for basic training and those two were part of the series.

    Reply

  12. kaylee
    Apr 18, 2008 @ 17:46:31

    i AM not doing goiod 😦

    Reply

  13. joanharvest
    Apr 18, 2008 @ 20:18:53

    I’m sorry to hear you are not doing well. What’s going on???

    Reply

  14. teeni
    Apr 19, 2008 @ 02:49:02

    I will get that picture up or just send it to you! Give me a couple days to find it – I’m so (NOT) organized! LOL.

    Reply

  15. romi41
    Apr 19, 2008 @ 14:57:49

    I can’t believe your cats sleep in your handbag! Sometimes my cat sleeps in my brother’s laundry basket with dirty clothes in it, which is actually pretty gross….

    PS: COOL you have a knight in shining armour in your room? That is AWESOME 🙂

    PPS: that magazine cover is so nice! Based on your writing skills from my reading of this blog, I’m not at all surprised that your story was picked!!! 🙂

    Reply

  16. teeni
    Apr 21, 2008 @ 01:53:07

    Ha! I found the picture. Well, I had to take a picture of the picture since it was already in a scrapbook that my sister-in-law made for me. So I took another picture of it, rather than taking apart the scrapbook to scan it. Now I am tired though – I’ll try to email it to you tomorrow.

    Reply

  17. joanharvest
    Apr 21, 2008 @ 02:23:01

    You sound like me. I’m so tired. I fell asleep in my computer chair and now it is 2:20 AM. I’m going to bed . Talk tomorrow.!!! Hugs, Joan

    Reply

  18. Laura
    Apr 21, 2008 @ 06:41:24

    Oh, that’s a neat meme! Gee, now I wish I hadn’t cleaned out my purse before the wedding!

    I loved seeing all of your stuff and reading your lists! Thanks for tagging me. It might take me a few days — I’ll be playing catch-up around here because of Wedding Weekend and marathon Monday and Super Happy Funday, but I’ll do the meme fer sure! 🙂

    Laura

    Reply

  19. joanharvest
    Apr 21, 2008 @ 17:55:08

    @ Laura

    No rush on the meme. I love your Super Happy Funday. We actually bought a card table so we can play board games once a week.

    Reply

  20. CuriousC
    Apr 21, 2008 @ 18:39:50

    THANK YOU! Of course, for YOU, I am happy to participate (plus I love the attention and appreciate you so for calling on me…) I need to re-read this and make sure I will do it RIGHT (cuz I’m a detail gotta-do-everything-right/correct-personality) but it will be L-A-T-E-R and I know you’ll visit me anyway but I’m rambling. sigh. THANK YOU! Happy NewEnglandPatiots Day! (I so love this holiday)

    Reply

  21. CuriousC
    Apr 21, 2008 @ 18:40:11

    I CAN spell patriots. I just can’t type it.

    Reply

  22. joanharvest
    Apr 21, 2008 @ 18:43:13

    I always think of it as Boston Marathon day. No rush on the meme. You just got back from a trip anyway, right? And of course, I will be visiting.

    Reply

  23. Trackback: Five Fluffs Meme « Idea Jump!
  24. fightingwindmills
    May 05, 2008 @ 12:03:19

    Joan, it was great fun looking at all your photos in this meme. I especially liked the knife.

    Reply

  25. joanharvest
    May 06, 2008 @ 01:11:39

    @ fightingwindmills
    I’m happy you stopped by and enjoyed this meme. I love doing them. I love blogging. I have become a blogging fanatic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

