My Daughter, Utah, Snowboarding , Sunburn and Emergency Room

My daughter just called me and she and her hubby skied snowboarded all day yesterday. They both got terrible sunburns on their faces. They forgot to put on sunscreen. She actually has blisters. She ended up going to the emergency room and she has first degree burns and minor second degree burns. They gave her some ointment and a tetanus shot and some pain killers which she probably won’t take, knowing her. She said it hurt quite a lot and her face looks terrible with all the blisters.

But she is making the best of it. Hopefully it will feel and look better in a couple of days. She said she won’t let it ruin her vacation.

I had fun at the party last night. I ate carrots. Everything else was not weight watchers approved. I was smart and ate just before I went so I wouldn’t be hungry. I also had a couple of rum and diet cokes. That’s when things started to get fun. They had a pinata but it didn’t have candy in it. I got a straw with boobs on it and a condom. I guess I will just give that to the wasband. I think I’ll keep the straw.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaylee2
    Apr 13, 2008 @ 15:40:37

    OMG tell that daughter to wear SUNSCREEN!!!!!!!!! Or i will come after her πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  2. Laura
    Apr 13, 2008 @ 20:25:21

    OwieOwie! Her poor skin! Their poor skins! I am sure they will salvage the vacation and enjoy themselves.

    I just remembered — I need carrots tomorrow’s grocery run! (Yes, please do add me to your blogroll. I would like to add you to mine, as soon as I stop putzin’ around and CREATE one!!)

    Reply

  3. teeni
    Apr 13, 2008 @ 21:26:59

    Your cartoon is hilarious – I see I’m not the only one who does stick person cartoons! LOL. I did one for my holiday rant in November I think. But who did that painting? It’s really cool. Please don’t tell me you got all the writing AND painting talent too. Sheesh – no wonder I got gypped in those areas!

    I hope your daughter will be okay. It stinks when you are out having such a good time that you forget something simple like sunscreen and then you have to pay for it later. Poor thing.

    Reply

  4. joanharvest
    Apr 13, 2008 @ 23:43:38

    @ kaylee
    I don’t think she will make that mistake again.

    @ Laura
    I will definitely add you. I agree with you. This is a once in a long time vacation ad I don’ think they will let anything ruin it.

    @Teeni

    I have no artistic talent whatsoever. I took both cartoons from Google images. My sister is the artist. She graduated # 1 in college when she went to art school. She has an amazing talent. She is teaching herself Chinese brush painting. She is also a writer.I don’t write I just blog. I have the more mathematical and scientific mind. When I was in high school I used to do algebra for fun. I absolutely loved doing algebra problems.

    I think my daughter brought sunscreen but they just forgot to use it. When you ski around here in the winter you don’t need it but I guess you do in Utah.

    Reply

  5. teeni
    Apr 14, 2008 @ 02:47:01

    Wow – your sister IS talented! But blogging IS writing – it’s just a different style of writing and you ARE good at it! You’re great – look at all the people who are finding and loving your blog! You have to admit that you’ve got to be doing something right. Now what the hell am I doing up so late – I’m starting to see funny things like little women in fairy glades riding unicorns. Sheesh. G’night!

    Reply

  6. Peter Parkour
    Apr 14, 2008 @ 05:44:52

    I’ve never heard of anyone getting such a bad sun burn while skiing, but I can see how that could happen. If the sun is out, the snow acts like a mirror, and all those rays bounce off and right into your face, because you spend a lot of your time looking down while skiing.

    I wonder if she’d be willing to let you post some pics of their burnt up faces. I’m rather curious. Those poor buggers. I used to get burnt like that as a kid at the beach. I hated putting sunscreen on, but now I know better. πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  7. joanharvest
    Apr 14, 2008 @ 12:12:05

    @ Teeni
    I always stay up way too late. I thought I would ride a unicorn for a while instead of a wheelchair. Thanks for the compliment about my writing. One of my readers, Moonbeam, referred to me as a blogglelist. I thought that was a great new word.

    @Peter
    My daughter just sent me 143 photos of their vacation so far. She wasn’t in one of them. My son used to get burned a lot when he was fishing. I would tell him over and over to wear sunscreen but he never listened to me. He got stuck out in the ocean all day in a tiny boat he had borrowed. The motor broke down and finally a boat came along after about five hours and towed him to shore. He had on a t-shirt but he still got a terrible sunburn on his back.

    Reply

  8. Sarah (the daughter)
    Apr 14, 2008 @ 13:38:59

    Just so everyone knows I am generally a freak about sunscreen. I am very fair skinned and sensitive to getting burns. The thing I didn’t realize is for every 1000 feet of elevation you are 4% more susceptible to the suns rays. Now, since back home we are pretty much at sea level all the time and the highest mountains we ski around home are maybe 2000 feet above sea level I wasn’t prepared for what would happen at 11,000 feet. Normally out all day would have made me red and look funny for a day or two. I was certainly not prepared for second degree burns and the molting of a dried yellow puss layer of my skin. The Dr. doesn’t think I will have much permanent damage if any, and in a couple of days I should start feeling better. If I have the nerve I will send a photo! But not to worry we are still having a great time.

    Reply

  9. Wendy
    Apr 14, 2008 @ 14:37:21

    Wow, Sarah, I’d always heard stuff like that but I never believed it till now. Seriously, I always think people tell me to use sunblock because they’re jealous of my awesome tan, but now I believe it. I’m glad you’re both still having a great time and aren’t letting the sunburns hold you back. I bet you’re having a blast. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  10. kaylee2
    Apr 14, 2008 @ 17:36:33

    Well good that wasnt the way I wanted to meet your daughter anyway πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  11. aniche
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 00:02:08

    that was a surreal post! 😯

    Reply

  12. joanharvest
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 09:30:29

    @ Wendy
    Sarah sent me photos. I feel so bad for her but she is taking it like a trooper.

    @ Kaylee
    I don’t think Sarah would want to meet anyone all burned up the way she is.

    @ aniche
    The post may seem surreal but I guess the burn was very real. I don’t know if she’ll let me post the photos.

    Reply

  13. betme
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 10:23:35

    Hugs to Sara… Growing up in Ski Country we learned at a young age that the suns rays reflect off the snow and zap you pretty bad. We hope you are feeling better today.

    Joan ~ your post is so entertaining. Happy to see that you are sticking firm with your diet!

    Reply

  14. joanharvest
    Apr 16, 2008 @ 19:01:45

    @ betme

    Sarah is doing much better today. She is not in so much pain. I am stuck solid as a rock to this diet. Nothing will stop me. I’ve worked to hard over the past year.

    Reply

  15. Lucky
    Apr 17, 2008 @ 15:08:45

    Oh Sarah, I feel your pain. I have had 2nd degree sunburns and it SUCKS. I had scars on my legs for a few months… you could see where I didn’t rub the sunscreen in good. Stupid beer. πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  16. joanharvest
    Apr 18, 2008 @ 12:17:08

    @ Lucky

    I talked to my daughter yesterday and she said the pain is a lot less. The Dr. didn’t think she would be left with scars.

    Stupid beer, that’s too funny.

    Reply

  17. Lucky
    Apr 18, 2008 @ 13:14:14

    I’m glad it is better!!!

    Reply

  18. Moonbeam McQueen
    Apr 19, 2008 @ 09:58:23

    Poor Sarah! Hope she’s recovered by now.

    The party sounds like it was fun, and hooray for you for your willpower!

    I love the stick figures.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

