Broaches/Brooches and Las Vegas

I checked on the spelling of broach/brooch and both are acceptable. I choose to use broach and I don’t even know why. It seems a lot of fellow bloggers are posting broach photos. Especially memorable are Wendy’s photos. She has a lot of broaches. Some really cool ones. This whole broach thing started with a blog by Romi. First I will post the photo of mine then it will need a short explanation.

The one on the top left is a skunk and not really what you would consider a broach. But you can pin it to stuff and my daughter bought it for me after I got sprayed by my friendly neighborhood skunk. The one next to it she bought me in Provincetown. It is handmade and looks great on my black coat which I don’t wear too often because I am always too hot for it. The one next to that one is a custom piece specially made by one of my daughter’s bosses for a customer who never showed up for it. They gave it to me because they know I like strange and weird stuff. The one on the left on the bottom row was given to me about 35 years ago by my father-in-law who is now in a nursing home and is 93 years old. My wasband and I used to have an English Setter so Grampa got that for me. I love that man just like a father and even though I have been divorced from his son for almost 20 years, he and I are still and always will be very close. The middle one is my girl scout pin. Yes, I still have it. Again it’s not a broach but it pins to stuff. The last one is a replica of the Elven pin that the Nine wore on their cloaks in the movie “The Lord of the Rings”. Of course, my daughter gave me that.

I don’t know that any of them would attract a man. More likely scare the hell out of him.

My daughter and her husband leave for Las Vegas tomorrow for ten days.

I’m already missing them. I like the hustle and bustle of having them around. My wasband won’t be around much. He has a three day baseball card show this weekend, then it’s chasing birds all week and then to his girlfriend’s house. I will get time off from cooking and shopping. I guess now I won’t have any excuse not to do all the projects I’ve talked about.

I haven’t been on the computer much in the last couple of days because I’ve been so busy doing errands for my daughter for her trip. The computer is also extremely slow and we need to get more RAM for it and that is my job to figure out what to buy and have it put in. What computer wouldn’t be slow with 10,000 or more bird photos stored on it. The wasband took over 400 photos yesterday of a flock of Bohemian waxwings. They came out absolutely incredible. I’ll post one or two tomorrow. I have to get it from his side of the computer somehow to my side.

I know she’ll be gone for only ten days and I’m happy she is going but I’m feeling a little down about being alone. Oh well, I’ll get over it. I’m invited to a party Saturday to one of her friend’s house. PARTAY!!!!

This is the way they PARTAY on CAPE COD. Though I personally have never been to a party like this.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CuriousC
    Apr 10, 2008 @ 08:06:52

    I’m hollah-in’ back my AHr-SVP!

    Reply

  2. Little Miss
    Apr 10, 2008 @ 11:07:38

    Where DO you find this stuff? You are funny as hell. Oh, btw, congrats on 70! WOOHOOO.

    Reply

  3. trishatruly
    Apr 10, 2008 @ 14:19:10

    So this is how the rich and famous par-tay? I’m not sure I’missing all that much. You? ROFL

    Reply

  4. betme
    Apr 10, 2008 @ 14:20:38

    I love the broach from Provincetown. Handmade items are always the best in my mind. Maybe your daughter will pick you up another broach from Vegas (A man catcher variety) 😉

    You need to throw a huge party while they are gone, like we used to do when our parents left us home.

    Reply

  5. kaylee2
    Apr 10, 2008 @ 17:25:49

    congrats and how are you?

    Reply

  6. Peter Parkour
    Apr 10, 2008 @ 18:32:02

    That handmade piece is pretty cool. Stylin’ video. I’m looking forward to the bird pic. 🙂

    Reply

  7. teeni
    Apr 10, 2008 @ 20:56:12

    OMG – that is too funny! I love your broaches and I’m glad you looked up the spelling because I was pretty sure I was spelling it correctly. LOL. I will have to do an post with the pics of mine soon. It was cool to see yours though – I like the one you wear on your coat even though you don’t wear your coat much. It seems like most of yours have sentimental value. I also love that you have your old girl scout pin! I quit when I was a brownie. **hangs head in shame**

    Reply

  8. thebeadden
    Apr 10, 2008 @ 22:50:49

    I so do not want to be invited to that Partay. Too funny! 10 days all alone. Now what kind of trouble will you get in? I like the Elvin Brooch. Take care 🙂

    Reply

  9. joanharvest
    Apr 11, 2008 @ 10:07:13

    @CuriousC

    So you want to come to the PARTAY? I have a feeling the one I’m going to won’t be quite like the one on the video. It’s a 30th birthday party for one of my daughter’s friends that I’ve known since he was 16. He’s a great guy and lives right around the corner from me and has been calling me Ma for 14 years.

    @Little Miss

    Thanks for the compliment. I have weight watchers tomorrow. I’ll let everyone know how I did. Now that it is all over the blogging world that I am trying to lose weight, I really have to so I’m not embarrassed. It’s a good incentive. Plus when I reach 275 on the weight watchers scale which should be tomorrow I get a prise from my daughter. Only now I have to wait 11 days to get it.

    @Trish

    If that’s how the rich PARTAY, don’t invite me. I show up at all parties with jeans and a t-shirt on. I drink two diet cokes with rum (2 points each) and eat celery and carrots. And I don’t own any pearls though my daughter does. I could borrow them and wear them Saturday night with my Santana T-shirt. That would be an interesting look.

    @Betme

    Actually my wasband and I talked about having a house trashing party but we couldn’t think of anyone to invite except his new girlfriend. And I’ll tell you right now there is no threesome in my wasband’s future.

    @Kaylee

    I’m fine but my wasband’s computer isn’t. My brother-in-law who is a wiz at computers is going to come over tomorrow and help me put more RAM into it.

    @Peter

    Well no one will be seeing the beautiful Bohemian Waxwing until my brother-in-law fixes the computer. The program that holds all my wasband’s photos won’t even let him into it. He’s freaking out that he’s going to lose all his photos. He hasn’t backed them up since January. He’s not what you would call a computer person.

    @ Teeni

    Yes, I actually made it to Girl Scout Status. I still have my emblems though I didn’t get many because my girlfriend and I weren’t totally into the Girl Scout thing even though we showed up at meetings. I’d love to see your broaches.

    @ thebeadden

    I love the Elven broach. My daughter has one too. We are “Lord of the Ring” Geeks. Yea, 10 days alone, I’m sure something exciting will happen. If it doesn’t, I’ll make it happen. “When the cat’s away the mouse will play”.

    Reply

  10. dragonfly3085
    Apr 13, 2008 @ 20:34:30

    I’ve had this Tea Party video on my myspace for SOOO long – I share it with everybody. I might have taken it down though but I’m glad to see it’s circulating. It was a smirnoff commerical that didn’t last long on network TV but was a huge hit online…. anyway… true story 😉

    Reply

  11. romi41
    Apr 13, 2008 @ 23:29:41

    oooh…you hav elvish pin..it’s like you ARE one of the nine!!! 🙂 A lovely collection Joan 🙂

    Reply

  12. joanharvest
    Apr 13, 2008 @ 23:50:37

    @dragonfly
    I love that tea partay song.

    @ Romi
    I should have been one of the nine. I would have made a very good elf. I have a black winter cloak with a hood that I got at a renaissance fair and I wear it on that.

    Reply

  13. Wendy
    Apr 14, 2008 @ 12:42:27

    Yo, I’ve been to partays like that but I was always working … tending bar or serving food. And that’s how I got to be the bitter woman I am today.

    Thank you for posting your brooches/broaches. I’ve always called them brooches because that’s what they called them in the Three Stooges movies.

    Reply

  14. Wendy
    Apr 14, 2008 @ 13:41:20

    I just remembered a partay exactly like that when I worked for a caterer when I was 21. We were on the Vineyard tending bar at this big fancy wedding, and the head bartender (Bruce from Cat’s Ass, remember that band?) told me and the other three bartenders that the groom had said we could take the leftover booze as a bonus. So we take the booze (bottles and bottles of expensive booze and wine) and as we’re boarding the ferry to go home we see all these cops waiting at the dock. THEY WERE WAITING FOR US. Yes, Bruce was a liar and we nearly got arrested. The couple wanted to press charges but the cops somehow talked them out of it. I’m sure the bride and groom have just lovely memories of that wedding. I know I do.

    Reply

  15. Trackback: Brooches and Memes « What I’m Doing Right Now
  16. joanharvest
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 09:36:54

    @ Wendy
    If it’s good enough for The Three Stooges it’s good enough for me. Craig is a big Three Stooges fan. That guy Bruce sounds like the cat’s ass. What a mean thing to do.

    I didn’t realize the broach thing was going to become a meme. I just posted them because you did and I thought it was a great idea. Actually most of mine can’t even be considered broaches. I guess a Girl Scout pin isn’t technically a broach but that’s all I had.

    Reply

  17. Trackback: Broaching the Subject of Brooches «

Leave a Reply

