Recipe: Teriyaki Turkey Burgers-Weight Watcher’s Approved


I haven’t posted a recipe in awhile and with grilling season coming up I thought I would post this recipe for Turkey Burgers. They are soooo good. I was a little disappointed this week because I only lost .6 lbs. but at least I lost and not gained. I only have to lose 2.8 pounds to get the present my daughter has for me when I get down to 275. She leaves Thursday for Vegas for 10 days and I doubt I will be able to do it before she leaves which means I’ll have to wait until she gets back. That’s OK, I am a very patient woman. My total weight loss is 67 pounds. I’ll be happy when I reach 70 pounds. It sounds better then 67. I am 1/3 of the way to my goal with no signs of giving up. I swear, if I can do it anyone can.

Yummy!!

Teriyaki Turkey Burgers
POINTS: 6
INSTRUCTIONS

1 1/4 pound lean ground turkey
1 Tbsp ginger root, fresh, finely chopped
1 Tbsp minced garlic
1 tsp toasted sesame oil
1/4 cup teriyaki sauce
1/4 cup scallion(s), chopped
2 Tbsp cilantro, fresh, finely chopped
1 large egg white(s)
2 sprays cooking spray
8 medium scallion(s), root ends trimmed
4 reduced-calorie hamburger roll(s)

    Preheat a grill (or grill pan) to medium-high; cover to maintain heat

    In a large bowl, combine turkey, ginger, garlic, sesame oil, teriyaki sauce, chopped scallions, cilantro and egg white; mix thoroughly with your hands or a spoon.

    Make 4 burgers, about 3 1/2-inches across and 3/4-inches wide.

    Place burgers on a nonstick baking tray; coat with cooking spray. Flip burgers and coat other side with cooking spray.

    Place burgers on heated grill (or grill pan) and cook, flipping once, until fully cooked, about 5 to 7 minutes per side. A few minutes before burgers are done, place whole scallions on center of grill and cook, turning once, until bright green and charred, about 2 minutes.

    Remove burgers and scallions to a plate; lightly toast rolls on grill. Serve each burger on a roll topped with 2 scallions.

I don’t add cilantro and I don’t grill those 8 medium scallions and put them on top. If I happened to have cilantro I might use it but fresh cilantro is not a staple in our home. I usually throw a slice of tomato on top and spread a wedge of Laughing Cow cheese on the roll which adds one more point.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Little Miss
    Apr 05, 2008 @ 15:05:37

    Yum. And congrats on the 67 lbs so far. One third of the way! That’s awesome. I’ve been in Seaside, Oregon with my mom, and I hope making very good food choices. It helps that a friend with us just hit goal on WW also, so she and I work together to figure out how many points for this or that. And I got in enough walking on the beach to earn three activity points this week. I’m not eating them up, just hoping it will counteract any miscalculation in points I may have inadvertently made. But I’m doing well… jeans are getting baggy. Hee hee. Although I do have a fibro flareup going on. Ugh.

    Reply

  2. joanharvest
    Apr 05, 2008 @ 15:20:10

    Have you tried “the build a recipe” on the weight watcher’s site. You just type in all the ingredients of the recipe you are going to make and it tells you how many points it will be. I use it all the time.

    Congratulations on keeping with it. It isn’t easy but it sure is worth it. Hope your Mom is well and you are having a good time. I can’t wait until I can walk on the beach again.

    Baggy jeans are good. I actually have only one pair of jeans that fit properly. I wear them when I go out and I wear the really baggy ones at home. I don’t want to spend money on clothes that are only going to fit for a while.

    Reply

  3. teeni
    Apr 06, 2008 @ 00:36:25

    Wow – this sounds good and I am really impressed with your weight loss! You go, Joan! Keep that great attitude! I think it is sweet that your daughter has a gift for you for reaching a certain milestone. I’m not as patient as you though and now I want to know what it is! LOL.

    Reply

  4. joanharvest
    Apr 06, 2008 @ 12:29:09

    @Teeni

    I will probably post a whole blog as to what the present is. It better be good. I don’t want to post a blog about getting a new kitchen utensil for making their supper. LOL But I will be happy with whatever she gives me because she is the most thoughtful daughter.

    Reply

  5. kaylee2
    Apr 06, 2008 @ 14:55:21

    keep up the great attitude! I am waiting to talk to you lol! And you are making me hungry now 😦 and I just ate!

    Reply

  6. joanharvest
    Apr 06, 2008 @ 15:08:22

    @Kaylee
    I’m going to load that AIM thingy right now. I have such a lame memory. Those burgers are delicious and actually much more healthy than beef burgers.

    Reply

  7. kaylee2
    Apr 06, 2008 @ 15:11:54

    OH I am a vegetarian but, I do like to have meat sometimes I just may have to try those 🙂 Its okay my memory is bad too except when it comes to baseball!

    Reply

  8. kaylee2
    Apr 06, 2008 @ 15:56:09

    JOan am sending you an email!

    Reply

  9. Murder of Ravens
    Apr 06, 2008 @ 23:25:29

    67 lbs? That’s fantatastic! I’d kill to be able to do that. I’ve been fighting that battle for a long time. 😦

    -smith

    Reply

  10. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Apr 06, 2008 @ 23:55:02

    MMM, cilantro and scallions sound too good to leave out of this recipe for me. But I love my spices, being Italian and all….

    Reply

  11. kaylee2
    Apr 07, 2008 @ 19:09:38

    are you okay joan ?

    Reply

  12. Wendy
    Apr 07, 2008 @ 20:23:25

    I made these a few months ago when you gave me recipe, did I tell you they were delicious? Like outrageously delicious. These burgers are so good nobody would guess they’re healthy.

    Reply

  13. kaylee
    Apr 07, 2008 @ 21:11:22

    I have been struggling the last few days 😦

    can we please talk soon?

    Reply

  14. Lucky
    Apr 09, 2008 @ 11:06:40

    I’m gonna have to try these. They sound really good.

    Reply

  15. joanharvest
    Apr 10, 2008 @ 01:19:41

    @Kaylee
    I have been super busy with my daughter leaving this week for her trip. I haven’t even been on the computer in a few days. Now we have to get more RAM for it and can’t download anything until we do. This is the slowest computer ever.

    @Murder of Ravens
    Because my wasband is a bird photographer I actually do know what a murder of ravens is. It’s up to 70 pounds this morning. But I still have a long, long, way to go.

    @Wendy
    Yes, Sarah and I love these burgers. Though her hubby insists on regular hamburg when we grill.

    @Lucky

    They really are good. If they are too mushy just add some bread crumbs.

    @Kaylee

    I’m sorry things aren’t going so well for you. As soon as we get the computer fixed up I can download AIM.

    Reply

  16. kaylee2
    Apr 10, 2008 @ 17:26:50

    okay 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

