Trip to the Big City And the Easter Bunny

I will start off with my trip to Boston on Saturday night. My son-in-law’s friend was giving a small concert in Cambridge.

Cover to his album. You can find Tom Thumb “here” tom-thumb-cover.jpg

The kids were going with some of their friends and my wasband and his new female friend. I was invited because they were going to park right in Cambridge and could drop me off at the venue so I wouldn’t have to walk far.

Boston’s about 80 miles from where I live. This is the longest distance I have been from home since my Dad died in a Boston hospital 8 years ago. My daughter’s husband was driving. Fortunately, it turns out that he is a good driver and I was comfortable with him at the wheel.

We had to go through the Ted Williams Tunnel. “The tunnel is 8,448 feet (2,575 m) long, of which approximately 3,960 feet (1,207 m) is underwater. On July 10, 2006, at approximately 11 p.m., a steel tieback that suspends the concrete drop ceiling inside the tunnel structure failed in the I-90 Connector eastbound tunnel leading to the Ted Williams Tunnel, causing four three-ton sections of ceiling to collapse. A section of ceiling fell on top of a car traveling through the tunnel, killing 38-year-old passenger Milena Del Valle and slightly injuring her husband Angel Del Valle, who was driving.” I got the previous quote from Wikipedia. I did not like the tunnel but nothing fell on us.

tunnel-1.jpgThe Ted Williams tunnel

The concert wasn’t supposed to start until 11:00 PM (I had to take a nap that afternoon so I could stay awake- I didn’t want to fall asleep during the concert because I think I drool when I’m sleeping). We got to Boston early, so we went to a bar next door to the building where the concert was to be held, basically in an empty small room used for poetry readings, gallery, concerts, etc.

the-druid.jpgThe Druid, the Irish bar we went to first. Really cool place, awesome decorations.

The Lily Pad, not the best photo, It came out dark, but if you look good you can see Tom Thumb.

tom-thumb-concert.jpg

I had two drinks at the bar.(Don’t worry, I counted my weight watcher points). The concert was great. It reminded me of the sixties. Tom Thumb (nom de guerre) writes all his own songs, played acoustic guitar and had a really nice voice. Then we went back to the bar. We met up with Tom Thumb and I had a couple more drinks. Sarah was designated driver so she had one beer before the concert and one beer after.

Sarah and I at “The Druid” (I’m wearing my “going out costume”me-and-sarah-at-the-druid.jpg

We didn’t leave Boston until 2:30AM. We got home at 4:00AM. I actually was able to walk back and forth to where the car was parked myself. I was high spry as a kite. It was a really fun night. I had to stay awake for the whole drive home so that Sarah would stay awake. We talked for the whole 1 1/2 hours while her hubby slept in the back seat.

I should do this in two posts but I’m not, so there. But you are welcome to read it in two visits.

Part 2 Easter Brunch and Easter Baskets!!!!

We went to an Easter brunch at a local restaurant. It just so happens to be the restaurant where my weight watcher meetings are held (the restaurant is closed when we have the meetings, thank goodness. Can you imagine 50 weight watcher people having a meeting in an open restaurant?).

The Beach Housebeach-house.jpg

I sat next to Leslie, my wasband’s new friend. She is awesome and we talked the whole time. Poor Barry couldn’t get a word in edgewise. She’s smart, funny and very easy to talk to. She’s the best one yet. I hope she keeps him.

Leslie and I (talk, talk, talk)leslie-and-me.jpg

I did good with the eating part of it. I had salad (no dressing) some vegetables, one scrambled egg, and 1/2 of a roasted potato. I walked right by the bacon, sausage and desserts.

There were 26 of us. We took up half the room. Most of them were Obie’s family, the English side, not the Japanese side.

We then went to our house for Easter baskets. We gave Barry his and then he and Leslie had to leave so she could see her children.

Barry’s Basketbarrys-basket.jpg

Later on in the day, Sarah and her hubby and I did our baskets.

Obie’s basketobies-basket.jpg

Sarah’s basketsarahs-basket.jpg

My basketmy-basket.jpg

I can now set up “Stonehenge” on my bureau. Cool stuff in my basket but no candy.

I did miss my son. He was working on Easter in Buffalo.

So, I had a great weekend with my family and now it’s all back to cooking and shopping and giving out handicapped tickets, errands and laundry and drives to the beach with coffee (decaf). I am headed to the beach now.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wendy
    Mar 25, 2008 @ 13:13:36

    Well. I feel like I went to see Tom Thumb with you. It’s so cool that you ventured out and did this. I would never stay out till 4 AM and if I did, I’d be sick for a week. You, madam, are awesome.

    P.S. Bound and Gags says he relishes driving through the tunnel. But I’m like you, every time I go in I feel like I’m entering the mouth of the dragon. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Brittany Fischer
    Mar 25, 2008 @ 13:24:13

    yay boston!

    Reply

  3. betme
    Mar 25, 2008 @ 15:00:21

    “Can you imagine 50 weight watcher people having a meeting in an open restaurant?”

    You had me rolling with this one! It sounds as if you had a great weekend. Thanks for sharing your happy’s with us.

    Reply

  4. kaylee
    Mar 25, 2008 @ 17:57:08

    OMG I love this post!

    Reply

  5. CuriousC
    Mar 25, 2008 @ 18:44:51

    FUN!!!

    Reply

  6. teeni
    Mar 25, 2008 @ 21:22:05

    It looks like a great Easter! I am so glad you were in good spirits for the concert in Boston before that. I will never forget all that about the Ted Williams Tunnel – that was such a big news item and such a scary, too-close-to-home incident that could have happened to anyone. The whole Big Dig thing terrifies me. Oh, and I think we are distant neighbors as I’m in New England also. 🙂

    Reply

  7. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Mar 25, 2008 @ 22:32:01

    Hey, i’m going to Boston in a few weeks … any recommendations?

    Reply

  8. Lucky
    Mar 26, 2008 @ 12:06:46

    The part of the tunnel that goes underwater would have freaked me out…props to you for doing it. I would have been in the backseat rocking and back and forth…clutching the warm fuzzy feeling beads.

    Great photos!! I think it’s great that you get along with your wasband’s new friend. It looks like you had a fantastic Easter! 🙂

    Reply

  9. Peter Parkour
    Mar 26, 2008 @ 14:31:51

    You and the wasband must have a very special relationship. I am always amazed and confused when you bring him and his lady friends up. If it works, it works. 😉 Great post, fun pics. Thanks. 🙂

    Reply

  10. joanharvest
    Mar 26, 2008 @ 15:57:19

    @ Wendy

    I love to stay up late but I make up for it buy sleeping late. I love the night. Maybe I was a vampire in a previous life LOL. The tunnel sucks. B&G can have the tunnel all to himself.

    @Brittany

    I went onto your blog and love your reviews. Now I’ll know where to go next time I get to Boston. Thanks

    @Betme
    I’m really glad the restaurant is closed during our meetings. I think food fights would ensue if it were open.

    @Kaylee

    I’m glad you enjoyed this post. How are you doing???

    @CuriousC

    Yea, we had a lot of fun that night. Maybe a little too much fun.

    @thegirlfromtheghetto

    Check out the #2 comment here. Brittany reviews places in Boston. Neat Blog. I’ll check with my wasband he knows Boston really well.

    @Teeni
    Yea, that whole BIG DIG thing sounded like a BIG MESS!!
    What state do you live in?

    @Lucky
    Yea, that whole underwater thing was not a pleasant experience. I was waiting for it to come crashing down on me. My husband’s new friend is great.

    @Peter
    My wasband and I have known each other for forty years. He’s my best friend. I give him love advice. I’m too selfish to have a relationship with him or anyone. I like to do things my way and I really like my privacy. It really works well for all of us.

    Reply

  11. Lucky
    Mar 26, 2008 @ 16:03:50

    P.S. I like these kind of response comments. I can go to “My Comments” and see when you respond.

    Reply

  12. joanharvest
    Mar 26, 2008 @ 16:17:48

    @Lucky

    I agree with you. I think it is the best way, otherwise people don’t know if you have responded.

    Reply

  13. kaylee2
    Mar 26, 2008 @ 19:15:21

    ummmmmm in alot of pain today 😦

    Reply

  14. joanharvest
    Mar 26, 2008 @ 22:36:47

    @ Kaylee

    I’m so sorry you have to put up with all that pain. It must really suck. My right knee which needs to be replaced hurts 24/7 because there is a huge bone spur there. But I don’t want to have it replaced until I lose more weight. I also need the other knee replaced but that one doesn’t hurt as much. It’s hard to deal with constant pain.

    But it is what it is. I just wake up every morning now and tell myself I’m going to have a good day even if it takes a lot of work to do it. A year ago I sat on the couch every day and had a pity party for myself. No more. I am going to lose the weight, get new knees and hopefully be able to walk again someday.

    I know that if you look deep enough you can find it in yourself to get through this. It may hurt and you may cry because it’s OK to cry but you will get through it and when it’s over you won’t even remember the pain.

    Hang in there, I think about you a lot.

    Reply

  15. kaylee2
    Mar 26, 2008 @ 22:59:20

    awww thanks joan 🙂 appreciate it!

    Reply

  16. romi41
    Mar 27, 2008 @ 22:27:01

    Oh Joan, you had such a great Easter, it was lovely to re-live it through your eyes and words! 🙂 Will you put up a picture of stonehenge once you set it up???

    PS: damn woman, out till 4am, you so crazy!!! 😉

    Reply

  17. joanharvest
    Mar 27, 2008 @ 23:14:35

    @ Romi
    I hope you read my post called “Thank you Moonbeam” because you have a part in #8 of that post. It’s right before this post. Read the comments too.

    Yes I will definitely put up a picture of my very own Stonehenge.

    Reply

  18. moonbeammcqueen
    Mar 31, 2008 @ 22:41:24

    Joan, I read this days ago, but it was so overwhelmingly great (and chock full of goodies) that it was hard to know what to say. Your evening sounds fantastic, and I’m glad you got out and had some fun.

    The Easter baskets were so nice to see (I especially like Barry’s), and the brunch sounds fantastic! How great that you and Leslie got along so well– let’s hope she and Barry continue to hit it off as well as you two did!

    Thanks for sharing this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

