I’ve Only Made 5 Posts This Month and Here is My Excuse

Well, I don’t really have an excuse. That was just to get your attention. I don’t really like the month of March here on Cape Cod. It’s not winter so there is no more snow, which we didn’t get much of anyway this year. I like snow. I also don’t have to drive in it. I just get to stay home and sit by the fireplace and drink diet cocoa when it snows.

snow.jpgMy house in the snow.

March is not Spring yet either. The weather is still somewhat cold and it rains a lot, though there are little signs of spring. My sister is a gardener. She has beautiful gardens in her yard. She has a sunset garden and all the flowers are sunset colors. She has a white garden. Well, anyway, her snowdrops are in bloom.

snowdrops.jpg

I also saw ducks in my swamp for the first time this week, a definite sign of spring.

mallards1.jpg

I am still waiting for the pinkletinks (spring peepers), my favorite sign of spring. No sign of them yet. It’s been too cold.

I still haven’t come up with my excuse for not posting much this month. I’m trying to think of one as I write. I’m not depressed. Zoloft takes care of that for me. I’ve been working hard towards my goals, or most of them. The weight loss is going good. Slow, but good. I still haven’t done any of my craft projects but I went over to The Bead Den
to get inspired to start beading.

Driving over the bridge twice by myself took a lot out of me. I did it without any panic attacks and really wasn’t even nervous but by the time I get home I’m really tired. I’m sure the more I do it, the easier it will get.

I got my first panic attack when I was about 12 years old. The doctors didn’t even know what it was or have a name for it. They said I was watching The Twilight Zone too much. I am serious. That’s what they blamed it on. So I’ve been getting panic attacks on and off for 46 years. The last 8 or 9 years I’ve been good. Driving was the last thing I had to conquer and would cause a panic attack. I seem to be doing much better with that. Now everyone gets panic attacks.

 

I hope all of you who know Kaylee are sending her good vibes today. She is having surgery for her cancer.

I still haven’t come up with an excuse for not writing. I can’t say I was busy, though I spend way too much time at the grocery store. Besides WalMart (where I hate to shop), the grocery stores are the only ones with cripple carts.

spread_of_walmartjpeg.gif

Though I discovered since I can drive a little further than I used to, there is a Target not too far from here with cripple carts. That’s my next destination. I have to wait until the third of the month until I get my check and will have a little spending money before I go.

Sarah made us all Easter baskets last year and I didn’t think to make her one. I had just gotten out of the health care center after having pneumonia. This year she’s getting a basket. I already told the wasband he’s got to cough up the money for it. Of course, he said yes then asked “How much will you need?” I said about $40.00. He thought I was joking. I explained to him she doesn’t eat candy now that she’s lost all the weight. What am I going to put in it, popcorn? I’m going to buy her prizes. (we call presents-prizes). By the time you buy a basket and that shredded plastic stuff that gets everywhere, you’ve already spent $10 bucks. We have a couple of great gift stores in town that sell really cool stuff. So my daughter will get an Easter basket.

easter-basket.jpgI’ll bet she’d like a basket like this. Only I’d want to keep the fairy soap holder, if that’s what it is except I use liquid soap.

OK, I guess I don’t have an excuse for not writing. Oh Wellll!!!! I’m going Easter basket shopping now with my sister.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: I’ve Only Made 5 Posts This Month and Here is My Excuse : Anxiety-Stress
  2. betme
    Mar 18, 2008 @ 13:47:43

    The Twilight Zone!!!! OMG… I am glad they did not opt for experimental brain surgery instead. (Sorry, but I am laughing so hard.😀 ) Thank goodness for the advances in medicine)

    I am glad that you posted again. I love reading about your day.

    @ Betme
    My mother would never let me watch any shows that might possibly be the least bit scary when the doctor told her that. That’s probably why I watch and read so much Sci Fi now.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Weight Loss - Losing weight has never been so easy » I’ve Only Made 5 Posts This Month and Here is My Excuse
  4. CuriousC
    Mar 18, 2008 @ 22:32:51

    I think I heard a pinkletink the other night… I didn’t really do your post justice and promise to come back tomorrow and read it more thorough. I got distracted by that Walmart diagram….

    @ CuriousC
    I haven’t heard any pinkletinks yet. Still too cold. That WalMart diagram is scary. They are taking over.

    Reply

  5. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Mar 18, 2008 @ 22:41:21

    Wow, what a lot of snow. I’m traveling to Boston early next month …. I should bring my winter coat, right? Never been to New England. Looks rough. On a side note, I’m so sorry to hear about your Arthritis and AS. I’m so tired of feeling old at age 37 … have you posted any blogs about your troubles with these fun diseases? If so, point me in the right direction …

    @thegirlfromtheghetto

    That photo was actually taken in January of 2005 after the worst storm I’ve ever seen here. We got three feet of snow. On Cape Cod we rarely see that much snow. It can be chilly in April but it can also be warm. With New England weather–you never know. Many different blogs contain small pieces of info about my arthritis. One is called New Knees but I am not sure how to link you to it. But all my blogs are on here. It’s one of the earlier ones probably in Oct. or Nov.

    Reply

  6. Panic and Anxiety Attacks in Children
    Mar 18, 2008 @ 23:22:29

    Hi there

    It’s frightening to hear so many stories about kids who had panic attacks. Twelve years is so young !

    Here’s an excerpt from my site about Panic Attacks in children – hope you don’t mind.

    A panic attack or panic disorder can be found in people of all ages. Having a child that is dealing with a panic disorder is not unusual, though it may show up differently in younger people than in adults.

    Children will tend to report the actual symptoms of anxiety and panic attacks that they are feeling in their body rather than the emotional problems. However most children that experience a panic attack may appear to be upset or scared with no explanation at all. This is going to be confusing to adults who may be trying to assist the child to understand their problem.

    Brad Smith
    Stop that panic attack

    Hi Brad,

    Thanks for stopping by. It took me a long time to learn how to deal with them. I didn’t want to use drugs. I read a great book when I was young by a woman named Claire Weeks called “Peace from Nervous Suffering” At the time I still don’t think the label panic attack was being used. But that book helped me a lot. It is terrible for children because they really don’t understand what’s going on. Let’s face it, the Twilight Zone didn’t cause my panic attacks.

    Reply

  7. kaylee2
    Mar 18, 2008 @ 23:37:23

    nice post all is weel here I am out of surgery🙂

    Reply

  8. joanharvest
    Mar 19, 2008 @ 00:45:17

    I am so happy that everything went well. You’ve been on my mind all day. I really appreciate you getting back to me so fast and letting me know all is well. I know I will sleep better for knowing. Goodnight and sleep tight.

    Reply

  9. kaylee2
    Mar 19, 2008 @ 01:19:34

    Oh youre welcome Joan I knew that you would be worried🙂

    @Kaylee

    Stop by when you are feeling better. And you are right, I’m like a mother hen, I was worried and very relieved to get your message.

    Reply

  10. thebeadden
    Mar 19, 2008 @ 15:19:14

    Joan, that’s funny you mentioned you try to avoid Wal-mart. I just left an answer to your post over at my site, telling you the lamp is pretty cheap there. And mention I try to avoid it as well. Too funny.

    Isn’t it great to know that Kaylee is out of surgery and doing well? I was so happy to hear that!

    Love the cartoon! That’s cute.

    @ Thebeadden

    I still haven’t gotten over to WalMart. My excuse today is the rain. Maybe tomorrow. I am so happy Kaylee is out of surgery. I must have thought about her 100 times that day. That’s a good cartoon, only it’s almost too true.

    Reply

  11. Wendy
    Mar 19, 2008 @ 23:04:29

    March is a really weird month. When I was a kid my birthday parties always had a “spring/Easter” theme. But I knew it wasn’t spring, so that confused me.

    For me, there’s nothing worse than February on the Cape. It’s a month of white skies and dirty slush along the side of the road, everybody seems to have some form of bronchitis, and you still have to warm up the car for 15 mintues before getting in.

    @Wendy
    Well, at least April is almost here. Oh, today is the first day of Spring but it’s raw and rainy. Soon I’ll be complaining that it’s too hot and humid. I hate hot and humid.

    Reply

  12. romi41
    Mar 19, 2008 @ 23:29:04

    I love the Easter Basket Idea with the prizes! You are too cute…I have no Easter-basket-present-for-Romi in the works, so I think I’m just gonna buy myself a lot of Easter chocolate etc on the way home from work tomorrow😉

    PS: I’ve always wanted to go to a Target; the Target stores look so much more cooler and high-end vs. Wal-Mart, but they don’t have any Targets in Canada.

    @Romi
    I was just at the chocolate store. I got my daughter a very small white chocolate Easter bunny because she is at her goal weight and wants to stay that way because she and her husband are going to Vegas in April. I got her hubby a dark chocolate Easter bunny ( a bit larger) and I got the wasband a milk chocolate baseball, bat and glove set because he’s a sports card dealer. I got myself nothing. The Target store is definitely a better store than the dreaded WalMart.

    Reply

  13. reena
    Mar 19, 2008 @ 23:39:34

    Great post. It has interesting points regarding
    panic attacks. I’ve finally learnt how to control it from http://www.whatcausespanicattacks.com.Pretty useful. Any opinions?

    Reply

  14. joanharvest
    Mar 20, 2008 @ 17:44:58

    I can’t decide whether I like leaving my comments like I did with this post or leaving them all in one post. Too big a decision to make for today.

    Reply

  15. kaylee2
    Mar 20, 2008 @ 20:28:14

    hey Joan,

    I am feeling okay though, I am only two days removed from the surgery but, I really dont feel much pain(with tall the drugs that I am on) unless I get up and walk.Which is hard to do since it was knee surgery!

    As for my favorite Red sox player(you asked that on my blog)? HMMMMM it is hard I love them all but, I would have to say manny or David Ortiz!!!!

    My wasband is away for the weekend but I will let him know and we’ll see if he has anything good to send you from Manny or David. I am Happy you are feeling OK.

    Reply

  16. Wendy
    Mar 21, 2008 @ 00:51:39

    @ Romi – You would probably love Target, but I think they’re too big. I was in one today and by the time I left I was exhausted. It’s like walking back and forth on a football field about 20 times. They’re vast.

    Yea, what Wendy said. I’m lucky they have cripple carts.

    Reply

  17. moonbeammcqueen
    Mar 22, 2008 @ 13:45:36

    I love it that you’re driving over that bridge.
    Wal-Mart is the evil empire. Go Target!
    I can’t wait for spring either.
    So great that you linked to Kaylee!
    Barbara’s sunset garden sounds beautiful.
    I hope you post a photo of your daughter’s Easter basket– so sweet!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

