The Illegal Cell Phone Charge

First of all, you have to remember that in the house I live in with my daughter and son-in-law, they have taken on the roll of the parents and my wasband and I are the kids. And damn it, if we’re not always getting into trouble. I stay up too late. They think we’re on drugs because we laugh so much. I talk too much. I’m surprised they don’t put me in time out. I’ll bet they’ve discussed it. I can just picture Sarah saying to Obie “Well I think Mom may need to be in time out for a while. She’s way out of control tonight. Can you hear her up there? She’s alone talking a mile a minute.”

 

Both kids (I still do call them kids or children to their chagrin) are very serious, hard working people. Now Barry and I are totally not serious about much and we don’t really work that hard anymore. Barry bird watches most days. There is always some bird somewhere to be photographed. Sometimes he meets people to buy baseball card collections. and on some weekends he has a table at baseball card shows to sell his wares.

I cook and shop. I went to two grocery stores yesterday. One I actually bought food at. The second one I mostly strolled around in the cripple cart reading labels. This is a more up scale expensive store that I usually only buy one or two things at.

muir-glen.jpg

Now see, I get myself sidetracked all the time with these stories. This is really about my cell phone.

my-cell-phone.jpg

My daughter has a cell phone and she put me on her plan as a family member so she only has to pay $10 a month extra for me to have the phone and we share her minutes. Last night she comes upstairs and informs me that there is a charge on her bill under my number for $39.98. It is listed under other charges and she obviously wants to know what it is for. Understandable. But what she’s really thinking is “What’s Mom done now”. That’s understandable too, since I seem to always do things that get me into some kind of hot water.

That’s me, the tea bagtea-bag.jpg

Well, I start thinking about it and thinking about it and then I’m quickly tired of thinking about it and I tell her I have no clue.

About a half hour later she comes back up and asks me if I have gotten any strange text messages. I start thinking about it and thinking about it and suddenly it occurs to me that about two weeks ago I got spam text messages wanting me to by ringtones and a joke a day and other spam crap. I kept getting one message every day. Of course I opened them up just to see what they said. Finally one of the messages had a 1-800 # so I called thinking I would end all this spam business. I got a computer voice that finally gave me the option to unsubscribe to something I had never subscribed to. I also went to the “Do not call website” and registered my phone # again just to be sure. So I thought I had everything under control. But Noooooo!!!

Evidently as soon as I opened the first message this company took it upon themselves to assume I wanted their service and charged our account $39.98 for 2 months service and were going to continue charging our account $19.99 a month.   Sarah found all this out from our cell phone service. Fortunately AT&T was willing to give us our money back. But Sarah had to block my phone from ever getting text messages or buying ringtones on it which is fine with me because it takes me ten minutes just to text the words “Call me” which I only text to my son because sometimes he “avoids” my calls.

Sarah’s husband got online and started Googling the name of the company. All sorts of complaints came up going as far back as 2005 including class action suits, etc. There were all sorts of websites with forums just dedicated to complaints about this company I think it was called M-Qube.

Also another weird thing happened last night around 8:30PM. There was this loud noise that came from outside. I can only describe it this way. It was as if a huge crane was holding a 10,000 pound rock and dropped it 1000 yards. The house shook. Of course Sarah came running up the stairs thinking I broke my ass again. I think if I did fall again it wouldn’t sound like a meteor hitting the ground next door. But I was just sitting in my easy chair. I called my sister who lives one street over and she heard it too and her house shook also. Obie even went outside to look around. I put on the police scanner and nothing. It didn’t sound like a car accident and if it was,  we would have heard sirens eventually. It didn’t feel like an earthquake. I never heard anything on the news either. I can’t imagine what it was. But I can tell you for sure, my sister didn’t hear ME falling again from one street over. I know I’m heavy but not that heavy.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. betme
    Mar 14, 2008 @ 11:11:30

    OHHHHH!!! M-Qube got me too. Somehow or other they were attaching a fee of 1.99 every time we made a call on our cell phones. Neither me or Mr. J ever text message. We don’t have fancy ring tones and we don’t send pictures.

    M-Qube was costing us about 200 dollars a month before we got it removed.

    That is odd about the loud shaking noise. I am a conspiracy therory nut and fear the Squirrels may be testing Nut-cluster bombs in your area.

    Reply

  2. joanharvest
    Mar 14, 2008 @ 12:14:24

    @ Betme
    I can’t wait to show your comment to my daughter to prove it’s not just her nutty mother that these things happen to. Were you able to get your money back? I’m sorry it happened to you but it proves it’s just not me. I think she was convinced I might have signed up for something on the internet which I shouldn’t have.

    A Squirrel conspiracy, that’s it. You may have solved the case. I can’t tell my wasband . He’ll be trying new electrocution methods and we know this time (he’s getting older) he couldn’t take the rebound shock.

    Reply

  3. betme
    Mar 14, 2008 @ 12:28:47

    Joan ~ It was a compromise of sorts. We got back the money for three of the four months that the nonsense occured. The tough part was getting M-Qube to stop charging our phone bill. I hope they are being investigated as I feel they are crooks. I kept asking them to tell me what I signed up for. Show me my intitial request for their product/service. No one could do that.

    If your wasband decides to move forward with his de-squirrel-ization plans, we want to see the pictures!

    Reply

  4. kaylee2
    Mar 14, 2008 @ 21:00:30

    Joan-nice post lots of weirds things happen to you huh?

    Reply

  5. joanharvest
    Mar 14, 2008 @ 22:07:15

    @Kaylee2

    Yes, Kaylee, I am a magnet for weirdness.

    Reply

  6. kaylee2
    Mar 14, 2008 @ 22:10:45

    I know you are!!!!!!!! I come here for my laughs LOL just read the broken ass post and am still laughing!

    Reply

  7. joanharvest
    Mar 14, 2008 @ 22:34:37

    Well, I’ll have you know my ass is almost back to normal. Thank Goodness. It only hurts if I sit on it for an extended period of time. Considering I can’t stand for long, I’m sitting down a lot. But if I lean forward to take the pressure off the tailbone, it’s not too bad. I’m about 92% better. But that 8% is a real pain in the ass🙂

    Reply

  8. kaylee2
    Mar 14, 2008 @ 23:15:40

    THAt Sgood!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  9. kaylee2
    Mar 17, 2008 @ 19:59:07

    I am having surgery tomorrow😦

    Reply

  10. Wendy
    Mar 17, 2008 @ 23:49:49

    That M-Qube thing is horrifying! How awful, Joan. I hope you can get it off your bill quickly. I’m really scared of that crap.

    Reply

  11. Murder of Ravens
    Mar 18, 2008 @ 00:21:07

    I thoroughly intend to be a major pain in the ass to my kids when I’m old and silly. In the meantime, I guess I’ll be nice to them, since they’re the ones who will pick my nursing home.

    -smith

    Reply

  12. joanharvest
    Mar 18, 2008 @ 00:58:57

    @kaylee
    I left you a post on your blog just now. I forgot to tell you that I was happy to hear you got out today and had a good time.

    @Wendy
    Sarah already took care of it with At&t. I really didn’t know they could get you like that on your cell phone.

    Reply

  13. joanharvest
    Mar 18, 2008 @ 01:15:26

    @ Murder of Ravens
    Thanks for stopping by. You’ve made a good point. I live with my daughter and son-in-law so I have to be nice to them so they’ll keep me. I don’t want to end up in some crappy nursing home. But they are lucky because I do all the cooking and shopping even though I am disabled.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

