Squirrel in My Living Room

I’m beginning to think that if I have some animal totem it has to be the squirrel. I have this book called “Animal Spirit Guides”.

animal-spirit-guides.jpg

It says if the squirrel is my totem I should prepare for the future by gathering and storing extra food, water, clothing, candles and money for later use. It also says “Although you’re actively and aggressively pursuing your goals right now, you need to balance this pursuit with more socializing and play”. OK, some of this is true . I do hoard. I don’t hoard extra food because we always have enough food for the week and I can’t ever think about what I need for next week. I don’t hoard water because we have it delivered. I have a water cooler that also heats your water for tea and coffee. I certainly won’t hoard clothing. Who knows what size I will be next week? I do have a lot of candles but only because I like the ambiance of the room when they are lit. I don’t hoard money because I have none of my own.

I am actively pursuing my goals and I probably need to socialize more and play more.

My other book “Animal-Speak” asks if I am getting too hung up on collecting stuff and accumulating.

animal-speak.jpg

Well, that’s a definite yes. I collect more crap and then can’t throw it away. I told you all about filling five huge dumpsters of stuff when my daughter and her hubby moved in. And you’ve seen my “Sanctuary“. It is somewhat cluttered. I hate throwing stuff away.

I am supposed to call on Squirrel if “I am feeling scattered and fragmented”. Well, that’s pretty much every day.

Well I think “Squirrel just called on me”. The little sucker (and I’d like to make that s an f ) just knocked on my picture window where I am sitting at the computer. He jumped on the window sill and knocked. I swear he was trying to get my attention, probably because no one has put out any bird food today and the little sucker is hungry and wants me to bring him food. He’s a rodent–could he be that smart?

squirrel.jpgI just took this photo of him. He looks angry doesn’t he?

I think when I go get the mail I’ll throw some food out so he doesn’t attack me. I don’t think he’s really that hungry. I just think he’s a greedy little rodent.

Anyway, none of this covers the story about the day one of those suckers climbed down my chimney and got into my living room. This happened about 3 or 4 years ago when just my son and I lived here.

It was morning and I woke up to the sounds of my three cats screeching and running up and down the hallway. I had never heard them make noises like that. Then I heard things crashing to the floor. I ran into the living room trying to understand what was happening because I was still half asleep. Then I saw the little monster on the back of the couch surrounded by the cats.

I screamed for my son who was sound asleep and he came running up the stairs with a blank look on his face and then he saw the squirrel. We both sort of blanked out as to what we should do, then all of a sudden the chase started again. The cats were so happy to have that squirrel in their grasp. They started creeping towards him and he took off. He was literally bouncing off the walls. At one point he bounced off my son’s shoulder. Then my son and I started laughing so much we could hardly see straight.

We knew we had to do something. My son got one of his big fishing nets and started trying to net the squirrel which after a few minutes he actually succeeded. He slid a piece of cardboard under the net and managed to get the squirrel outside.

That along with the attempted electrocution of a squirrel and the squirrel knocking on the window this morning, well it all has to mean something. Doesn’t it?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaylee2
    Mar 11, 2008 @ 20:17:26

    quite the book there LLOL!

    Reply

  2. betme
    Mar 12, 2008 @ 12:33:07

    It IS a sign! I am just not sure what the sign is. Great post… now go stock up on nuts in case he decides to hold you for ransom.

    Reply

  3. moonbeammcqueen
    Mar 12, 2008 @ 22:22:21

    This squirrel thing is spooking the hell out of me. Are you guys hoarding acorns in your cabinets or something?

    Reply

  4. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Mar 13, 2008 @ 20:02:16

    Hmmm, I wonder what my totem is? Probably a lion since they roar so loud, and I love to complain anymore …

    Reply

  5. kaylee2
    Mar 13, 2008 @ 20:35:01

    okauy joanharvest I need to read some more posts like this πŸ˜›

    Reply

  6. Wendy
    Mar 14, 2008 @ 00:31:09

    You current squirrel has muscles! Man, that thing is built. What the hell does it do all day to acquire such muscles? It’s really freaky. And yes, I agree that all these squirrels in your life must mean something, but I don’t know what. The story about you and Damon was hilarious.

    Reply

  7. joanharvest
    Mar 14, 2008 @ 08:58:47

    @Kaylee
    I also got sprayed in the face by a skunk. That story is on here somewhere.

    @Betme
    I’m not too sure what it all means either.

    @Moonbeam
    No nuts in this house except for me. OMG, he thinks I’m squirrel food.

    @ TheGirlFromTheGhetto
    I’ll have to look up lion in my book and let you know.

    @Wendy
    Yea, a lot of squirrel shit has happened around me. The squirrel probably has muscles from doing chin ups on my bird feeders.

    Reply

  8. romi41
    Mar 15, 2008 @ 11:30:05

    Were you maybe a squirrel in another life, and perhaps this one squirrel has heard of the legend of “Joan the Squirrel”, and wants to bring you back??? Perhaps??? πŸ˜‰

    And LOL, after the squirrels-making-love picture I posted, coupled with hearing that story of the squirrel bouncing off your walls that day, I think squirrels are just 24-hours-a-day horny…LOL… πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  9. joanharvest
    Mar 15, 2008 @ 12:07:19

    I would rather have been “Joan the Dragon” or Joan the Unicorn” but I think you’re right, “Joan the Squirrel” it is.

    You’re also probably right about the little suckers being horny. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  10. Seed Feeder
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 10:01:50

    Not a big fan of them they keep scaring my birds away an stealing the seed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

