Slow Cooker Teriyaki Pork Roast

Because I cook so much and can’t think of anything to write today, I thought I would post one of my recipes. I should video myself cooking it and put it on You Tube except I don’t have a video camera. So you will have to imagine me in my wheelchair making this recipe.

wheelchair-cooking.gif

Ingredients:

3/4 cup unsweetened apple juice

2 TBL sugar (this is probably why they call for unsweetened apple juice.)

2 TBL dark soy sauce (or whatever soy sauce you have in the cupboard) I like dark because it is more flavorful. I use the Sushi Chef brand.

1 TBL rice wine vinegar (or whatever vinegar is laying around, though I wouldn’t use balsamic. I think it would change the flavor of the whole roast too much.

1 tsp ground (powdered) ginger

1/4 tsp garlic powder

1/8 tsp pepper (I use freshly cracked pepper –yes, I am a pepper snob.)

Mix the above all together in a bowl.

1 boneless pork loin roast (about 3 lbs.) cut in half

pork-loin-roast.jpgI cut all that fat off becuase of weight watchers.

Spray crock pot with olive oil spray or Pam or something

Throw the pork in the crock pot, throw the stuff in the bowl on top and coat all sides of the pork. Cover and cook on low for 7-8 hours.

About 1/2 hour before pork is done mix 7 1/2 tsp. of cornstarch with 3 TBL. of cold water until creamy smooth. Pour in pot and stir. This will thicken gravy. Cook another half hour and your done. We serve it on Jasmine rice. Yummy!!!

Next time I will post my slow cooker recipe for Rosemary cashew chicken. It is so good.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. David
    Mar 01, 2008 @ 18:15:58

    Jeez! Guess who has pork roast in the freezer??

    Reply

  2. moonbeammcqueen
    Mar 01, 2008 @ 20:05:45

    Oh yum!!! Thank you for posting this Joan. I’ll will definitely be making this.

    Reply

  3. Little Miss
    Mar 01, 2008 @ 21:39:50

    Yum. What time is dinner? I’ll be right over. LOL. Sounds great. Now all I need is a crock pot.

    Reply

  4. joanharvest
    Mar 01, 2008 @ 22:30:36

    @ Little Miss
    I am a crock pot fanatic. I love cooking in the morning when I am awake and not tired and then having everything ready when the kids get home. It’s just so easy. There are so many good recipes. I have a giant one, 7 quarts, because I live with piggy men. They all love my cooking and think I spend lots of time doing it. Ha!! It takes no time. I get all these kudos and don’t do crap.

    Reply

  5. Little Miss
    Mar 02, 2008 @ 18:05:01

    i’m going to buy one. Oh, and I’ve decided to join WW again. I went a couple years ago when Cayden was a baby and Cindy was still living with me, but then I went broke and couldn’t afford it. I’m going to do it again. I can’t do this alone anymore. First thing when I get my crockpot is to try out this recipe. 🙂

    Reply

  6. David
    Mar 02, 2008 @ 20:02:41

    You “get all these kudos and don’t do crap”! That’s hilarious Joan!! 🙂

    Reply

  7. Barbara
    Mar 02, 2008 @ 22:21:56

    I made this the other day and it was very good. The only thing I’d do different is brown the meat, mostly to avoid the nasty color of unbrowned pork. And I’d use the dark soy that Joan recommends. I used regular soy and it was a tad bland.

    Reply

  8. Wendy
    Mar 02, 2008 @ 23:47:17

    I wish to God I could come over and video tape you cooking all your great recipes. I would love to edit and produce this show. I may have to plan a trip specifically to accomplish this.

    Reply

  9. joanharvest
    Mar 03, 2008 @ 00:35:08

    @Wendy

    It’s funny but I was thinking the same thing today. Possibly having Sarah videotape me cooking a meal then putting it on You Tube then on the blog. You could all see me rolling around in my wheelchair when I cook. I think it would be hilarious. I’m always dropping stuff and burning myself and potato peels seem to fly around me.

    Though I would rather have you do it because you’ve got experience and you can fly without drugs.

    Reply

  10. Lucky
    Mar 03, 2008 @ 16:07:20

    This sounds so good. Can’t wait for the chicken!! 😀

    Reply

  11. joanharvest
    Mar 04, 2008 @ 11:44:46

    @ Lucky
    It’s a good crock pot recipe because it’s fast to make and tastes good too.

    Reply

  12. bernie
    Mar 09, 2008 @ 22:16:05

    Thanks heaps i am cooking the pork now 😀
    you awsome

    Reply

Leave a Reply

