Tribute to My Son

 This is just an experiment to see if it would work.  These are just a few of my son’s fishing photos. Fishing is his passion.  Hopefully he will get to do some fishing soon.  There are not a lot of fish to catch in Buffalo right now.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wendy
    Feb 23, 2008 @ 00:22:28

    I left a long message about this and what a genius you are. Did it go to “please moderate” or something? I hate when that happens.

    Reply

  2. joanharvest
    Feb 23, 2008 @ 00:29:00

    I think it’s because I just this minute put it on and I kept editing it. I just wanted to see if the slide show would work on here. It isn’t even his best pictures. I will probably try to add some more later.

    Reply

  3. Wendy
    Feb 23, 2008 @ 00:33:01

    Wait … wait… hold on here. I commented on your original “test” not this one! So if my first comment ever does show up, and you see how I said I want to pose exactly like the photos in your slide show while you and Barbara photograph me, please know that I DO NOT WANT TO POSE LIKE DAMON WITH A FISH.
    He looks cute with all those striped bass and such, but I wouldn’t.

    Reply

  4. joanharvest
    Feb 23, 2008 @ 00:37:40

    I’m sitting here laughing like a fool right now. That would have been so funny to have me think you want to pose with fish. I would have thought “Yes, this woman definitely misses Cape Cod”. I am going to put the other one back on but I want to add some more Pre Raphaelite paintings to it, not just have the one.

    Reply

  5. David
    Feb 23, 2008 @ 20:51:14

    Wendy you would look positively adorable with a nice big Sea Bass!

    Joan those pix are great. Damon has caught a lot of fish hasn’t he?

    Reply

  6. joanharvest
    Feb 23, 2008 @ 23:38:19

    Damon ‘s life depends on fishing. He is ultimately happy when he is fishing. He went to the New England Maritime Academy and past with flying colors. Fishing is his passion. For the past two years he has lived in Florida for the winter but couldn’t afford to get there this winter. He is living in Buffalo. Not much fishing going on there now. He plans on going to Costa Rica soon to work as a First mate on a charter boat. He has a lot of experience doing this. He has some innate aptitude for fishing. The fish are just drawn to him . The photos I put up were all I had handy but I have many more photos of him catching marlin, sharks , and other great fish. He catches , releases and tags what fish he can so that scientists can learn about the patterns of fish. What he doesn’t release he eats. When he has lived with me we have always had plenty of fish to eat- Mahi Mahi, Tuna, Bluefish, Striped Bass, and many more. Fishing is his passion, the way birds are his father’s passion. I thank God that he is pursuing what he loves to do best just like his father, rather than doing something he detests.

    Reply

  7. David
    Feb 24, 2008 @ 14:07:58

    That’s very impressive. Guess being born and raised on the Cape helped that passion grow. It’s good to have a passion- it gives one hope.

    I’m also a firm believer in doing what you love. Or when that’s not possible, loving what you do. There’s something profound in there. SSHHHH! Be vewy, vewy quiet!

    Sorry about that. I Fudded. Sometimes profundity does that to me. Anyway, thanks again for sharing your photos and this side of your son.

    Reply

  8. Lucky
    Feb 26, 2008 @ 17:10:41

    Great pictures!

    Reply

  9. duskydi
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 02:41:32

    Wow !!

    Your boy can catch some whoopers can’t he. I’ve loved looking at these pictures and I’m sending some strength. Its funny I don’t think I knew he was a fisher man when I commented on one of your more recent posts. I knew he was a keen fisher but this boy is a real fisherman isn’t.

    HAHA!! I’m laughing here reding your comments. Oh Joan – you know!!!! you make me smile so much ya know. Hehe!! Thinking Wendy wanted to pose with Damon and the fish. to Funny – But…. Can I somehow.

    Just checking in on you this morning – I know your not to great, hope today is a bit better for you, try and feel the sunshine Joan and listen to a song and just breathe.

    Hey !!

    I bet on your home page ( Is that we we call them ) I will come up on it as commenting loads and people will think I’m a right old stalker. I quess I am stalking you this morning.

    Stalking you with love and strength. I don’t have any strength though today. I don’t know why. I feel drained.I’ve been writing a situation I’ve had this week to a friend and I always worry when I’ve.. Oh ! I don’t know – not even going there. I sometimes worry about being to honest about certain things. I always seem to be worrying about hurting people but I hurt myself so much in that mad process. I know I’m not making sense.

    I’m so happy and glad that we have great friends Joan and so many women all over the world love and care for us.

    How wonderful is that.

    Keep ya chin up and your knickers down
    Love
    Di

    Reply

Leave a Reply

