To My Daughter

My daughter saw the photo I put in yesterday’s post and it’s not one of her favorite photos. I told her I would put a photo of her now, 40 pounds lighter, thanks to weight watcher’s and my cooking. I am also sneaking in a photo of one of her tattoos because we know a certain someone was a little afraid to see her daughter’s body altered for life.

obie-and-sarah-xmas-2007.jpgsarah-tatoo.jpgMy daughter on her wedding day.

I thought I would add a few more photos of her wedding. I can’t help myself. It was such a beautiful and perfect wedding.

The above song was the theme song from her wedding. It comes from the movie “The Princess Bride” Feel free to listen to it while you look at the photos of her wedding.

This was the band, Pumpkin Head Ted, My daughter wanted her wedding to be casual. We had a catered barbecue, salmon and steak with all the sides. We also had a raw bar in a boat that Obie had made when he was young. His father owned the Beetle Cat Boat Company.

band.jpg

These were the appetizers.

apps.jpg

This was the wedding cake. Obie’s grandmother and aunt made it the night before. There were three different flavored cakes.

wedding-cake.jpg

dance.jpg

wedding2.jpgwedding3.jpg

sarah-wedding.jpg

wedding4.jpg

That’s my girl. I am so thankful to be her Mother. You couldn’t ask for a more wonderful daughter. She is always there for me and I hope I am for her. Who knows where I would be today without her love and support.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wendy
    Feb 04, 2008 @ 15:47:16

    These photos were just beautiful! You’re very cool to post them for us. Sarah looked so lovely at Christmas (Obie too), and of course in her wedding photos. Tell her that if it’s any consolation about yesterday’s photo, she still looked lovely in spite of these “40-pounds” she lost. (Frankly, I don’t know where these 40-pounds were hiding on her body, because I never noticed them.)

    And I really like her tattoo. I wish I could get away with something like that.

    Reply

  2. betme
    Feb 04, 2008 @ 15:56:26

    Your daughter is beautiful! I want one… If I can just convince my son to married. (yeah right) 😉

    Your tribute left me all wistful… alas…

    Back to your daughter… She looks fabulous!

    Reply

  3. Little Miss
    Feb 04, 2008 @ 16:34:43

    How beautiful your daughter is – in these photos and yesterday’s. And that wedding was gorgeous. I have a twisted, sick sense of humor though because I had a flash image in my head of them running back down the doc after being pronounced husband and wife and all the attendants flying out backwards into the water. I know, sorry. I’m sick. It was funny image and I’m glad it was only in my twisted head. Please forgive me. 😉

    Reply

  4. joanharvest
    Feb 04, 2008 @ 17:11:02

    @Little Miss
    Actually, I’m sure they all thought of it. I think it would have been hilarious.

    Reply

  5. joanharvest
    Feb 04, 2008 @ 17:38:38

    @ Betme
    Thank you, she’s a treasure. I love my son too but at this point he can barely take care of himself never mind anyone else though he does have a girlfriend. I just can’t imagine him married yet.

    @ Wendy
    She had put on more weight in the last year. She’s down to about 120, what she was in high school. And it’s not that she doesn’t eat. She just eats the right things now. She has two other tattoos but they are smaller.

    Reply

  6. moonbeammcqueen
    Feb 04, 2008 @ 18:13:32

    Oh, Joan, these pictures are so wonderful. Your daughter is so beautiful, and she seems to have an inner beauty that just shines through. Her tattoo is awesome– I like the contrast between how sweet and innocent she looks, and that big, bad dragon on her back.

    The wedding photos are absolutely gorgeous. It looks so happy and unstuffy, and I love her dress.

    Okay, I think I’m through gushing.

    Reply

  7. joanharvest
    Feb 04, 2008 @ 19:11:19

    @Moonbeam
    She may look sweet and innocent but she has a very strong personality. She doesn’t take any crap from anyone. Yet at the same time she is a really sweet girl. She is especially generous too not only monetarily but emotionally.

    It definitely was not a stuffy wedding. They were barefoot during the ceremony. Notice the attendants all had $2.00 flip flops on.

    Reply

  8. Barbara
    Feb 05, 2008 @ 14:48:03

    The photo of them alone at the end of the dock is my favorite. I wonder what happened to the print of that photo you were supposed to make for me, so I could display it on the bookcase with the other family photos?

    Sister B (aka Santa B)

    Reply

  9. joanharvest
    Feb 05, 2008 @ 15:37:33

    Gee, I wonder. I promise I will do it for Santa Barbara.

    Reply

  10. romi41
    Feb 05, 2008 @ 22:27:34

    This was so lovely; I love the pictures and your sentiments; all the sweetness of your “momness” was bursting through in this one 😉

    Reply

  11. CuriousC
    Feb 06, 2008 @ 08:11:37

    Beautiful!!

    Reply

  12. Lucky
    Mar 03, 2008 @ 16:39:28

    She is beautiful! I agree with Romi…The sweet momness is pouring out of you!! 🙂 You have a lot to be proud of!

    P.S. I LOVE her tattoo!

    Reply

  13. joanharvest
    Mar 04, 2008 @ 11:48:12

    @ Lucky
    I can’t wait to be a grandma and take care of my daughter’s child while she’s at work. I love being a mom. It will be nice to someday have a baby back in the house and watch it grow up.

    My daughter has two other tattoos also. My son has three tattoos. When I lose weight I am going to get one too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

