Running into People

Wendy at Life With Buck gave me the idea for this from a poem she wrote. It was called “When I Go Home” Except in my case it’s “When I go to the Grocery Store”.

Now that I have closed my own little health food store, I can’t go to the grocery store without running into ex-customers looking for free advice.

store3.jpgThis was my little store

Now the sign permanently resides at one of the local bars. That’s my daughter and my niece standing in front of it. It’s right near the pool table. At least it lives on. Also, my daughter on the left has lost 40 pounds since that photo was taken. abundant-harvest-sign-at-grumpys.jpg

The thing is I’m driving a motorized cripple cart that goes 4 MPH and I can’t go fast enough to get away from them. They just chase me down the aisles.

 

I ran into a born again who tried to convert me next to the meat aisle.

Sometimes it takes me a couple of hours to get my shopping done because I run into so many people. My daughter will call me on my cell to find out what’s taking me so long.

One time there was actually a line of people waiting to talk to me as I sat on my cripple cart. The first six months I was home, I never left the house. I was too depressed and in pain. Once I started to do something about my problems I started going out more. So I hadn’t seen any of these people in quite a while. At least it’s nice to be missed.

Some of them even went to my competitor to ask if he had my home phone so they could call me for free advice. Fortunately my number is unlisted.

I had a woman come up to me recently telling me about her constipation problems. I wanted to say”GO SEE YOUR DOCTOR”. Instead I sent her to buy some fiber.

wheat-bran.jpg

I looked in her cart and all she had in it was ice cream and diet soda. If you’re going to eat ice cream why bother with diet soda, just get the real stuff.

I called this post “Running into People” because on occasion I have actually ran into people with my cripple cart. Fortunately I haven’t maimed anyone yet. Just a few little taps when I think I have it in reverse but I don’t. People pretty much stay out of my path now because I usually go at full speed. I floor it. I go the top speed which is so slow it’s pathetic. Old ladies with canes can walk faster than my cart.

Hopefully, one day in the not too distant future I won’t need the damn cripple cart. I lost 2.4 pounds this week. Notice the dot between the 2 and the 4. I didn’t lose 24 pounds just 2point4 pounds. But I’m happy with that.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. David
    Feb 03, 2008 @ 14:51:17

    Yeah that’s really not fair with you trapped in the cripple cart. Good going on the 2.4 lbs! Funny thing about the health foods and natural rememdies- my wife and I worked in a couple of health food stores in our first 10 or 15 years together, and lived the natural sort of lifestyle, quasi-vegetarian. Then we had a kid who needed open heart surgery. No herbal cures for that.

    Anyway, if I don’t want to run into people at the market, I need to go at an off time, like Sunday morning before I go to the dump. Wife and I have lived in this area for about 20 years now so we know lots of people. I kinda like that, but sometimes it slows ya down.

    I wonder how your constipated friend made out. Once I thought it would be a good idea to eat about a half a cup of dry, uncooked rolled oats. It really was not a good idea. Maybe if I’d had a cup or 3 of prune juice along with the oats …

    Reply

  2. Wendy
    Feb 03, 2008 @ 15:04:44

    It was really nice to see the photo of the shop, and I love seeing the girls with the sign. I’m assuming the sparkly “Soup Solstice” sign I made for Soupy is also now hung in a place of honor, town hall perhaps? Your dad was the greatest.

    Excellent on the 2.4 lbs, Joan! As I’ve said so many times, you are my hero. You’re such an inspiration, I just love your blog and reading how great you’re doing.

    @ David – I actually like chilled prune juice. It’s delicious, really.

    Reply

  3. dragonfly3085
    Feb 03, 2008 @ 20:13:08

    Congratulations on losing the weight — it’s a constant battle with me. I’d love to try hypnotherapy. Not to lose weight but to ditch the coca-cola. I’m addicted, really I am. I think they still use cocaine because I can’t get enough… I bought cans because they hold carbonation much longer than the bottles and now the cans are piling up and I feel like some hillbilly with their cans rattling around on the floor when they walk.😦 How did your daughter lose her weight? Tell us the secrets!!!

    I’d hate to be trapped in one of those carts. I have anxiety attacks at the grocery story so I need to be able to run away as fast as humanly possible at any given moment. This is why I usually go around 8:30 or 9 at night because it’s empty and I can do my shopping in peace. Usually. Unless it’s on a Saturday night before the Superbowl… ::grumbles::

    Reply

  4. moonbeammcqueen
    Feb 03, 2008 @ 21:46:48

    Congrats on the 2.4 pounds! Anything that’s on the negative side is great! My uncle’s lost a great deal of weight on Weight Watchers, and I think it’s a great program.

    Your former store looks like my kind of place. I’ll bet you could tell stories for days about your customers. Since you’re so knowledgeable about this subject, maybe you can start a side blog just about health food. You could even earn a little extra income, I’ll bet.

    Reply

  5. romi41
    Feb 03, 2008 @ 23:29:05

    Hey if you lose weight the proper way, you can’t really expect to lose more than two pounds a week, so you did very well!🙂

    Wow, you had a store! I love that it lives on through the sign, and I may have to consult you for some constipation advice if I keep eating all these complex carbohydrates before dinner😉

    Reply

  6. Wendy
    Feb 03, 2008 @ 23:30:52

    Wow Joan, Moonbeam’s idea is great. If you had a blog about health food you could make some money. You’d have to have it on another site, because they won’t let you post ads on WordPress, but you should think about it. But you’d have to keep this blog, too. We depend on this blog!

    Reply

  7. betme
    Feb 04, 2008 @ 12:08:41

    I agree! I have stopped myself a couple times from hitting you up for free advice.

    And congrats on the 2.4!!!!! Just think 2.4 X 52 (weeks) is 124.8, which is a teenager😉

    Reply

  8. joanharvest
    Feb 04, 2008 @ 14:37:56

    @ David
    That must have been difficult for you to go through that with your child.
    Yea, I can see where dry rolled oats might have been tough to go down.
    I’m not a health food fanatic, though I try to buy as much organic stuff as we can afford. I was always more into the supplement end of the business. I’m very interested in herbal remedies, vitamins, etc.

    @Wendy
    When we changed the store around in 2005, the kids went in and threw a lot of stuff away because I am such a pack rat. The poster was still on the door of the bathroom and they chucked it. My sister and I were talking about it just the other day. I had always gotten so many compliments on it. It was a great disappointment to lose it. I would have it on my bedroom wall today if they had kept it. It always reminded me of my Dad.

    @Dragonfly
    I could not have lost weight without weight watchers and a crock pot. I have discovered a lot of low point snacks like popcorn and certain crackers that I dip in salsa. No more cheese, I don’t like fat free cheese. But I have learned to cook some really great meals that the kids love even though they are low in fat. The other thing is I’m home so I have the time to cook.

    @Moonbeam
    I’ve thought of putting up a website. I’m just always so busy lately that it is on my to do list “someday”. I also want to create my own chemical free salves and lotions. and sell them locally. I could really scare the hell out of all of you if I started ranting about chemicals in bath and body care products. There was something in the news today about infants and baby lotions and shampoos. The stuff I could tell you……

    @ Romi

    Fiber, Fiber, Fiber for constipation that is plus it helps you lose weight because it makes you feel full.

    @ Wendy
    It’s a good idea but the sex phone operator sounds like more fun.

    @Betme

    Anytime you have questions just ask. I have 27 years experience. And like I said I’m not a fanatic. If it won’t work for you. I’ll tell you. I think that’s why I had a good business because I was honest and people trusted me. I used to talk people out of taking certain things. There’s a lot of phony crap out there that you get ripped off on.

    Reply

  9. betme
    Feb 04, 2008 @ 16:01:57

    OK… just one…😉 I am wondering if Tea Tree Oil is as good as some say for athlete’s foot? My hubby is in boots all day and from time to time he gets a case of it. We bought him an extra pair of boots so that he can alternate pairs to let them dry out each day. I bought a couple OTC cremes and I was wondering about the oil…

    Reply

  10. joanharvest
    Feb 04, 2008 @ 17:41:12

    They also make a tee tree powder. I have heard some people get good results but you have to give it time. The natural remedies take longer to work than the prescription stuff.

    Reply

  11. joanharvest
    Feb 04, 2008 @ 17:42:06

    They also make a tee tree powder. I have heard some people get good results but you have to give it time. The natural remedies take longer to work than the prescription stuff.

    Reply

  12. CuriousC
    Feb 06, 2008 @ 08:19:11

    fascinating! This is also a good reminder for me to stop in on other unique small shops that are probably feeling the squeeze of the big box stores… I’d hate to have Walmart be my only shopping choice…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

