I Need to Get Out More

I need to get out more so some fun stuff happens to me and I’ll have more to write about. I’ve been writing about things in my past because not much is happening in the present.

My car is broken and until my wasband decides to get it fixed and hopefully pay for it, I keep having to borrow my daughter’s car. To do that I have to get up at 7:15 AM and I’m just not used to getting up that early.

I get to park in handicapped parking spots legally. I also volunteer for the police dept. and am able to give out tickets to people who park illegally in handicapped spaces.

 

I am just supposed to take down their info and not let them see me do it so there will be no danger to me. But I am always so tempted to say something to them. You know, live dangerously. When I go get the mail (just to get the hell out of the house for a bit) I always cruise the Wal-Mart parking lot for illegal parkers.

I drive down to the beach every day but not much goes on there in the winter. Just a few seagulls waiting for handouts and crapping on my car. Not much there to write about.

 

I don’t date. My husband ruined me for that. No more men in my life, thank you. I notice the other two women in his life after me don’t date either. I think once your with my wasband for a while you don’t want to be with any other men. You don’t want to be with any man. You just want to be by yourself.

My wasband did share something with me this week, his freaking bronchial infection. I woke up this morning with a sore throat and I can’t stop coughing. I had a cold for a couple of weeks (which I caught from him), not a bad one then it went totally away and 5 days later I get this. My daughter is making me go to the doctor tomorrow. She’s afraid I’ll get pneumonia again. My son-in-law’s getting it too and he had a cold a few weeks ago which cleared up and now he’s coughing too. I can’t even whine about it because I’m always talking about my wasband whining.

I don’t want to go to bed because every time I lay down I cough even more. I’d go to sleep in my nice electric reclining chair so I could so I could sit up more but it makes my broken ass hurt. OH Lord, I’m whining. Well at least nobody here knows it.

Instead of getting out more I need to start all the projects I promised myself I would do this winter. The scrap booking, the beading, the reading, sorting all my slides and photos and many more things I have been putting off.

But that stuff doesn’t give me anything exciting to write about. I glued some pictures in a scrap book Whoopie! I knew I should have become a private eye when I grew up.

967762074_026fe30fb2.jpg

Oh, one funny thing happened yesterday. My wasband finally brought his big TV here. The way he talked about it, I expected this 60 inch screen but it was a 7 or 8 year old regular TV with a 32 inch screen. Anyway, we had no table to put it on in the living room so he hooked it up to cable and left it on the floor under the big picture window.

Meanwhile the new people were moving into the welfare house across the street. Well, the wasband and I are sitting in computer chairs facing the TV under the window which the new neighbors can’t see. We are hysterically laughing at a comedian on Comedy Central. Well, they must have thought we were sitting in front of the window laughing at them which made us laugh even more. There’s about 8 adults driving old trucks with homemade wooden trailers attached to them filled with all sorts of stuff my daughter would have put in the dumpster. Suddenly they are all in line staring at us. Not only that but my wasband had been using binoculars to look at a bird that was at our feeder. I can’t imagine what they must think of us. If I get to talk to them, I’m just going to tell them my wasband had a stroke recently and sometimes he doesn’t know what he’s doing. I actually did take a picture of the trucks and trailers lined up in the driveway.

dsc01003.jpg

At one point they had a refrigerator on the lawn and some old man kept opening the fridge door probably hoping beer would suddenly appear in it.

I don’t want to start off on the wrong foot with these people. Actually I don’t ever want to even get to know them. I’m not the neighborly type. I don’t want neighbors to just think they can show up at my door.

So basically, I need to come up with some exciting things a disabled person can do (besides spying on the neighbors). Not too exciting I’m on high blood pressure pills.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Little Miss
    Jan 28, 2008 @ 12:09:44

    I love your posts. It’s like hearing all your thoughts out loud. It’s highly entertaining. I can just imagine what the welfare people were thinking. Scrapbooking is fun, but more fun with others. Does your daughter scrapbook? My daughters and I do but we haven’t done that together for a while. Hopefully next weekend. I hope you don’t get the bronchial infection, but it sounds just like what’s going around on this side of the continent. My daughter had the same thing, and now I’ve developed the cough. I get the handicapped parking space thing too. My mom has one of those passes. I love driving her places because then I get a nice wide spot and no one dings my doors.

    Reply

  2. CuriousC
    Jan 28, 2008 @ 12:16:22

    But what about the snow?! How much did you get? I think we have about 10 inches…

    Reply

  3. joanharvest
    Jan 28, 2008 @ 17:35:35

    @Little Miss
    I got the bronchial thing. I woke up yesterday with a sore throat and my daughter made me go to the Dr. today. My Dr. said if I had waited any longer I would have gotten pneumonia again. So much for pneumonia vaccine. I’m on antibiotics and I have a nebulizer from when I previously had pneumonia and she told me to use it.

    My daughter drives me around and loves that I have a handicapped placard. We have never done scrapbooking together but I bet she’d do it with me.

    @CuriousC

    We got 11 inches according to Weatherunderground.com So when I went to the Drs. this morning everyone was outside shoveling so I wouldn’t fall again. No one wants to see me break anything else again.

    Reply

  4. Little Miss
    Jan 28, 2008 @ 19:31:28

    I’m sorry you got the bronchial thing, Joan. Get some rest. It’s fun scrapbooking with my daugher. In fact, she’s going to sign up again to be a Creative Memories consultant, since I deactivated. That way, she can make a bit of extra money, and I can get my fix – er, supplies – 30% off.

    Reply

  5. Little Miss
    Jan 28, 2008 @ 19:42:16

    I’m not sure I can explain it accurately, but I think you have to add a text widget to your blog sidebar. You do that in the Presentation menu, I think. Then in the widget (from your dashboard) you add the html code that sitemeter offers up. Something like that. Don’t ask me, I’m not a technical writer or anything.😉 (I am, but I’m keeping it a secret.)

    Reply

  6. joanharvest
    Jan 28, 2008 @ 21:41:16

    @Little Miss
    I’ll see if I can work with that, Thanks

    Reply

  7. Wendy
    Jan 29, 2008 @ 19:21:27

    Ugh. I’m so sorry you got that bronchial thing. Those are the meanest colds to get rid of. You do need to rest, sleep-rest, to get rid of it.

    See? if you had gone to work as a sex phone operator like I wanted you to, you’d have tons of stuff to blog about. But don’t feel bad, my sister didn’t do it either.

    Reply

  8. betme
    Feb 02, 2008 @ 09:02:34

    Jane ~ This post is so funny! I can imagine what was going thru the neighbors minds. Do you take zinc? I like to take the cold-eeze at the first sign of a cold. Seems to cut them down much quicker. (when I remember to take them)

    I am with you on the neighbor issue. We once moved into a neighborhood in a small country town. The neighbors were just tooooo frickin friendly for our taste. On the weekends they would be sitting on our front step waiting for us to stir, so they could knock on the door to sit and have coffee with us. (for hours) I am more of the friendly wave and keep going kind of neighbor.

    Reply

  9. joanharvest
    Feb 02, 2008 @ 11:58:29

    @Betme
    I used to own a health food store so yes, I take zinc and a mess of other stuff–mushrooms for your immune system, a bronchial combo of stuff, multi, fish oil, b complex, zinc lozenges. I really think it all has helped me to get rid of this thing. Where as the people I live with haven’t taken the stuff and their Bronchial thing lasted much longer than mine.

    You’re right though, remembering to take the stuff is the difficult part.

    @Wendy
    Maybe I should have become a sex phone operator. That certainly would have been good blogging material.

    Reply

  10. Trackback: Voodoo Princess « DisIsMyPlace

Leave a Reply

