The Dude in the Bushes; Another Police Story

I almost forgot about this story. My daughter reminded me of it yesterday.

The weird thing is my sister lives one street over and nothing ever happens on her street. If anything is going to happen in the neighborhood it’s going to be right in front of my house. I definitely do NOT live in Mr. Roger’s neighborhood.

01rogers.jpg

Yet I live on a nice street with only 10 houses in a small beach town on Cape Cod. It’s not like I live in the ghetto.

One night about 13 or 14 years ago, I was just going to bed and I heard police sirens coming down the road toward my street and then the sirens suddenly stopped. The battery was dead on my police scanner so I couldn’t find out what was happening.

My son was only about 12 and I knew he was in bed sleeping so it couldn’t have to do with him. Whenever I heard sirens, a picture of him always floated around my head.

I figured whatever was happening was close by so I looked out the window. I saw a policeman in the middle of the road with a flashlight shining it on my house.

4340_graveyard_shift_police_officer_shinning_his_flashlight_at_something.jpg

I’m thinking, WTF?

I went in the living room so I could see better out the big picture window. Within minutes there were more policemen and they were all shining their bright flashlights on my house.

I couldn’t take not knowing what was happening so I called the police and explained to them how my house was surrounded by police and was there something I should know. The woman, nonchalantly, said, ” Oh, they are just chasing a suspect, stay away from the windows.”

OK, I could stay away from the windows, but if I did, I wouldn’t know what’s going on. So again, I was on the floor crawling around the house to get a better view. At the same time I was looking for new batteries for the scanner. I found the batteries and quickly got them into the scanner.

scanner.jpg

As I was crawling around on the floor, I was thinking, “This can’t be happening again.”

Now, at the time we had some kind of wild bushes growing in our yard. I can’t remember what they are called but they spread like wild fire. They were out of control. They had pretty little flowers in the summer. They also had thorns. They bordered our yard on the left and were taking over the border in the front of the house. They were very thick.Finally all the flashlights were pointed toward the thorny bushes. Within seconds, a young man struggled to get out of the bushes without scratching himself to shreds. The police got their suspect, who was soon handcuffed and thrown into a police car. When I say “thrown in” I mean it.

Evidently, the kid had been speeding down the main road and the police had given chase. As the driver of the car, he finally pulled over but tried to run away leaving his buddy in the car to face the police. He ran down my street and jumped into my thorny bushes trying to hide from the police, a tactic that didn’t work out well for him.

This reminds me of the time someone left a car on my front lawn near the fence in the middle of the night and took off. I saw him climb out the car window as I called the police.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wendy
    Jan 18, 2008 @ 19:56:59

    LOL, I love when you crawl around inside your house peeking out at the drama outside. Your street is certainly a magnet. But y’know, it’s not like your street is that visible, either. I mean, there are quite a few little side streets there, I don’t know why they always pick yours. And on top of it, it’s always in your yard! And you’re right about Barbara’s neighborhood. She had the Phats, and now she’s got the people who shower outside and in view of her reading room, but other than that it’s pretty quiet over there. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Little Miss
    Jan 18, 2008 @ 21:00:12

    I had a similar experience, about 20 odd years ago. I should blog about it, but it’s not funny at all. More scary. And I didn’t crawl around on the floor looking for a police scanner. That’s funny. You are so brave. I would have been scared and probably moved by now.

    Reply

  3. joanharvest
    Jan 19, 2008 @ 14:21:31

    Well, if anything happens now, I can’t crawl on my knees. My arthritis is too bad. I’ll just have to face it standing up.

    Reply

  4. romi41
    Jan 21, 2008 @ 21:39:34

    It must’ve not have been very comfortable hiding in those thorny bushes….all those scratches, and it didn’t even pan out…haha…and whatever it is, you can face it standing up, you’re becoming my hero 😉

    Reply

  5. David
    Jan 21, 2008 @ 21:40:24

    Brilliant post joan!

    I LOVED THIS: “so I called the police and explained to them how my house was surrounded by police and was there something I should know” OMG so funny!

    I have lived on a secondary state route for about 12 years now after almost 20 years of living more remotely. No police surrounding my house and flushing perps out of the brambles. Bear, deer, turkeys, yes, but no cop cars in pursuit.

    Reply

  6. joanharvest
    Jan 22, 2008 @ 01:34:25

    I still have more police stories, mostly involving my son. Some are funny and some are horrifying but I will tell all. I like to tell the funny ones but that doesn’t tell the other part of my life. The not so funny stuff that I’m sure everyone has to go through at some time or other.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

