Meme–What’s in my fridge

Remember now I cook for four adults, my daughter, her husband and my wasband (ex-husband), and myself (I’m on weight watcher’s).

Since I can’t work, I have made it my place in the house to be the personal chef to these people. I know they appreciate it. My daughter and son-in-law work hard, especially in the summer (tourist season) and enjoy coming home to a good meal. My wasband doesn’t work hard but he pitches in a lot of money. Good enough for me to cook for. A lot of my meals are very “gourmet” but it keeps me busy.

door-of-fridge.jpgNotice the door of the fridge. Many condiments and about 10 kinds of mustard because mustard has 0 points for weight watchers.

Now the inside of the fridge is actually a little empty because no one’s gone shopping since before Christmas. And what with my broken ass and all, I certainly haven’t gone. Those motorized shopping vehicles have a hard seat and I don’t want to carry around my daughter’s Tempurpedic pillow she let me borrow, which she will probably never lay her head on again.

inside-of-fridge.jpgNotice the weight watcher’s yogurt, the Fat Free topping , which is supposed to be like parmesan cheese, except it contains no cheese and I’m afraid to look at the ingredients but I eat it anyway because it has no points for 2 Tbls., the Fat free sour cream, the Smart Balance margarine,and the V8. The pan is filled with Turkey soup my son-in-law made but I can’t eat it because it has way too much fat.

My daughter is going to go grocery shopping tomorrow night after she gets out of work. She will follow my list explicitly, which I will type on the computer so she can read and we won’t have any more potholders for potatoes problems. Tonight I will make up my menu for the week. I know we will be having Roast Chicken Provencal and a slow cooker Teriyaki Pork Roast and possibly my crock pot beef stew. All weight watcher’s approved–unless you have more than one serving, then weight watcher’s goes down the tube.

Well, that’s my fridge for what it’s worth. I have to come up with two more recipes for the week. I only cook five days a week. I take weekends off because the kids are usually out and I am certainly not going to cook a meal just for the wasband. I think I will cook another slow cooker recipe, Rosemary Cashew Chicken. I love my slow cooker. May St. Applencia bless it.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wendy
    Jan 02, 2008 @ 21:47:22

    Your fridge looks fabulous, you’ve the ingredients for wonderful stuff in there. I have a lot of the same ingredients (when I buy it, that is) but I never think of the fish oil till I’m reading a recipe and it’s too late. Is that leftover Chinese food in that container? Because THAT is always my favorite breakfast. The Teriyaki Pork Roast and the Rosemary Cashew Chicken you mentioned sound so delicious.

    And I love using a Crock Pot too, the food and the aroma is heavenly. Have you ever used one of the new “contemporary” pressure cookers? Those are wonderful, too. I used to work with someone who cooked all her meals in one and she swore by it. I had one and I liked it a lot, but then I tapered off and now I don’t know where it is. But they are fast.

    I think it’s great that you’re the personal chef, they must really love that. Thanks for doing this, Joan, I loved going through your refrigerator!

    Reply

  2. moonbeammcqueen
    Jan 03, 2008 @ 00:59:56

    Wow, Joan. What a fridge!!!!!!! And what willpower you have, being around some of that stuff and not caving in. Congratulations!

    Reply

  3. CuriousC
    Jan 03, 2008 @ 09:45:30

    “to be the personal chef to these people.” You’ve GOT PEOPLE! cool.

    Reply

  4. David
    Jan 04, 2008 @ 18:38:14

    Very impressive fridge contents Joan. And I SO applaud your mustard selection! Mustard rules! (I love mustard and made it a topic for a post last summer.)

    That Wendy! She is like totally on the prowl for Chinese leftovers! Forgot to tell her about the leftover slice of pepperoni pizza in my fridge. Pretty cool idea for a meme though!

    How’s your broken ass coming along? Better I hope.

    Reply

  5. joanharvest
    Jan 04, 2008 @ 18:52:26

    David-
    My broken ass is about 15% better which was enough to get me in my car and out of the house. I was going stir crazy. All I did was go get the mail at the P.O. about 2 1/2 miles away but it was enough to let me know I can drive and go out again tomorrow. I just can’t decide whether to bring my Tempurpedic pillow my daughter let me borrow (which I don’t think she wants back now. I wonder why?) to my weight watcher’s meeting tomorrow. They have really hard chairs. I don’t want to look like an ass!!!!

    Reply

  6. David
    Jan 05, 2008 @ 18:07:19

    15% is good for a few days. I’m sure that your WW friends will fully understand as you tell them the story of how you fell and broke your ass. Once they stop laughing.

    Reply

  7. joanharvest
    Jan 05, 2008 @ 18:36:12

    Actually they all did laugh and me right with them. There were a lot of new ones there today too. All those people with their New Year’s resolutions. I lost 4.8 pounds this week. I should have brought my Tempurpedic pillow but I forgot it and had to sit on my sweater. I made my New Year’s resolutions too. No more rum and diet cokes on Saturday nights. I wasn’t exactly including them when I counted up my points which is probably why I only lost a little weight over the past few months. But I’m back on track. I replaced the rum and cokes with diet cocoa. Not so much fun but I still have a lot to lose. Gotta have priorities.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

