How I will spend New Year’s Eve

I usually spend New Year’s Eve with Dick Clark by myself while the kids go out and celebrate my daughter’s birthday. Sometimes we have a party here. This year my niece is having a party at her house. It’s a come anytime party which is good because me and my sore tail bone will go with my sister and her husband and my sister never stays very long. She’s like an eat and run kind of gal. They’ll have a special chair set up for me as I hobble in. We will celebrate my daughter’s birthday there and then I can go home and she and her husband and my wasband will go to a bar to meet all of my daughter’s friends. My wasband is the designated driver so I don’t have to worry about anyone driving when they shouldn’t.

The Kitchenaid mixer that we ordered for her didn’t come yet so I will put a picture of it in a box and wrap it.firstkitchenaid.jpgThis is the first ever Kitchenaid made. This is the picture I will put in the box.

And when she asks about it I can just say “You didn’t think we were going to buy you a new one, did you?”. Of course, we did buy her a new one. She wanted the one just under the professional version. Now keep in mind she will probably only use it once a year. Who’s crazier, us for buying it or her for wanting it?

It’s just as well I don’t go to a bar with them because I probably would drink and probably would fall again and have multiple tailbone breaks.

I just read somewhere that Dick Clark is scheduled to appear tonight and say a few words. Poor guy finally did get old. Ryan Seacrest is taking his place.

clark-seacrest-topper.jpg

I’ll probably just flip channels or watch The Twilight Zone marathon on Sci Fi. Or I’ll fall asleep in my chair if I can get comfortable.

I hope everyone has a Happy New Year!!!!!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. moonbeammcqueen
    Dec 31, 2007 @ 15:52:30

    Your New Year’s celebration sounds fanatastic! Oh my God– is Ryan Seacrest Dick Clark’s long lost love child?

    Reply

  2. moonbeammcqueen
    Dec 31, 2007 @ 15:53:00

    Um…”fanatastic” is “fantastic” in Italian, I think.

    Reply

  3. joanharvest
    Dec 31, 2007 @ 17:02:15

    I like fanatastic. When my son was just learning how to talk he called me mamia and his father daddia. We thought our real son had gotten switched with some Italian baby. At about the same time his nickname was “Alien Piggy”. No matter how many baths I gave him he was always dirty. We used to go to the beach everyday and he would just stand there at about 3 years old and stare up at the sky while all the seagulls fluttered around him looking for drops of his P&B sandwich which was usually splattered all over him. That’s when my sister dubbed him “Alien Piggy”.

    Reply

  4. Wendy
    Dec 31, 2007 @ 18:02:23

    Dick Clark and Ryan Seacrest are part of that new category of sub-humans who do not physically age. Elijah Wood is part of it.

    Your New Year’s Eve sounds excellent, Joan. I’m a Twighlight Zone Marathon girl, myself. Or Three Stooges. But I screwed up my evening already. Last night I thought it was New Year’s Eve, so I put a big turkey in a cooler to brine overnight so we could have a turkey dinner on New Year’s Day. Well a few hours later I realized IT WAS NOT New Year’s Fucking Eve, but I’d already started brining the stupid turkey! So now tonight I’m stuck roasting a big turkey dinner instead of getting Chinese food and watching TV, like we normally do.

    Hey, remember last weekend I FORGOT that it was Christmas Eve and called you guys in a panic when I suddenly remembered? Well, last night was the opposite.

    Reply

  5. joanharvest
    Jan 01, 2008 @ 02:10:40

    I went to Emily’s house ( my niece) for New Year”s eve and Sarah’s birthday (my daughter’s birthday and she opened up her presents.) Three hours had past and
    Barbara, my sister, was toast. She was done. She had to get home. My agoraphobic sister. But I’m very much like her except I can usually last two hours longer. So my wasband and I dropped the kids off at The Trowbridge (bar type place) and he took me home because my ass hurt and he went back to the Trowbridge to be the designated driver. At midnight my daughter called me as I knew she would to wish me a Happy New Year. I called my son, who was in Philadelphia for some Biscuit concert earlier and told him not to worry about calling me at midnight like he always has because I knew the concert would be noisy. It was a good New Year’s Eve. My wasband told me that if I lose 100 more pounds in the next year he will pay for us to go to Disneyworld and celebrate New Year’s Eve there for my daughter”s 30th birthday. She is a Disney Fanatatic. So now I have a goal. Happy New Year

    Reply

  6. David
    Jan 01, 2008 @ 15:53:06

    That is one incredible Kitchen Aid mixer!

    Nice peaceful New Years Eves had by all it sounds like. My wife and I watched the last 30 minutes of a CSI before she got stuck back on H&GTV. I went back to the interweb. In bed by 11. Yawn. It’s 2008.

    That is a really freaky photo of Clark and Seacrest, but Wendy, what ever do you mean “sub-human”?? Maybe they’re the next step in our “evolution”. EEEEWWW. Glad I didn’t watch their ball drop.

    Reply

  7. Wendy
    Jan 01, 2008 @ 16:06:05

    Joan, that’s wonderful! What a fabulous goal! But tell him to make the reservations NOW so you can get what you want. (I’m a worrier. Is that how it’s spelled? If so, that is bananas!) And think 3 hours is amazing for Barbara. Wow.

    David- This whole new sub-human, sub-species thing is something I’m intrigued with. I’ve blogged about it a few times, but I think the first time was in this Q&A:
    http://awriterinthedesert.wordpress.com/2007/09/17/qa-sunday-ken-burns-oranges-and-my-tomato-defense/

    Reply

  8. moonbeammcqueen
    Jan 01, 2008 @ 16:21:00

    “Alien Piggy” is the greatest name in the world. It could be a band. A cartoon character. A logo for the person who wipes out the Chinese restaurant buffet.
    I love it!

    Reply

  9. romi41
    Jan 01, 2008 @ 22:29:18

    Hey there, happy new year, and I hope your “broken ass” is on the mend!! 🙂

    PS: what kind of special chair did you have to sit on??? Please don’t tell me you were stuck in the bathroom the whole night!!

    Reply

  10. joanharvest
    Jan 02, 2008 @ 02:12:49

    Romi41-
    To be honest I would have sat on the toilet all night. It was the most comfortable place in the house but I’m not fortunate enough to have a TV in there so I sat on my right cheek which wasn’t horrible. For some reason it’s worse on the left one. I was going to order some special pillow I saw online just for my so called ass problem, but I know that the day it gets here my I’ll have a better butt.

    Have a Great Eight!!!!

    Reply

  11. joanharvest
    Jan 02, 2008 @ 02:17:00

    Wendy

    I hope someone got you a calendar for Christmas. If not let me know. I watched 8 episodes of Twilight Zone. I’m going to bed now, my ass is dragging.

    Reply

  12. teeni
    Apr 01, 2008 @ 02:03:34

    Pretty awesome KitchenAid mixer. I never knew the first one looked like that. I have one (not the professional one – too bad) but I use it often and love it! I actually came here to read how you broke your ass but had to read this post too when I saw the KitchenAid. LOL.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

