Guilty of not Blogging and putting Christmas pigs first

So , this year I wasn’t going to be a Christmas pig, but I succumbed and Pigged out. I bought more than I should have and got a whole load of cool presents. I got an ergonomically cool cane, fairy stuff and dragon stuff, and cooking stuff ,books, 5 calendars (cool ones), PC games, 2 books about Buddhism, a witch calendar, a fairyopolis calendar, a bird calendar with all the photos done by my Wasband (short for ex-husband), he is the best bird photographer in New England.

barry-calendar-cover.jpg

I don’t know what happened to the two or three gifts we were going to get each other. I think I got the most prizes.

cheesy-wasband.jpg This is the Wasband. He likes to take pictures of himself. We have so many now, we are going to make a calendar of just pictures he’s taken of himself for Christmas next year. He only does it at special occasions.

So Wendy, has always come for Christmas eve and we missed her a lot.

me-christmas-eve-talking-on-the-phone-wirh-wendy.jpg Here, I am talking to Wendy on Christmas Eve.

christmas-eve.jpg

bobbie-and-emily.jpgthe-four-of-us.jpg

My niece, Emily, My daughter , Sarah, My sister Barbara and me in the front, Christmas Eve.

catnip-crazed-kittys.jpgCatnip crazed Kitties

christmas-morning.jpgchristmas-toast.jpgChristmas morning

my-son-in-law-daughter-and-son.jpgMy son-in-law, daughter, and son

I’m sort of glad it’s over. I love Christmas, but it is a lot of work, shopping, wrapping,  Christmas cards, baking, cooking and my son coming home. As a recovering heroin addict I didn’t know if my daughter would let him stay with us. But she did, and everyone got along amazingly well. He is doing really well now, working, girlfriend (nice one) and taking care of himself. It was so good to see him. I haven’t seen him in three months which is a long time for me. It was the first Christmas in three years we have all been together. He even had presents for all of us. Last year he spent Christmas in a Psyche ward. I have a weight problem and he inspires me. If he can stay off heroin , I can stay off eating crap.

Wendy’s son , Sam and my son Damon have been friends since they were 7 or 8 years old. They have gone through so much together but this year they both look so healthy and good.

We had a wonderful Christmas. Now I look forward to the peace and calm of the next few months before the tourists show up again. I love this time of the year. A good fire in the fireplace, a good book, a cup of tea, what more could you want (except new episodes of Lost).

I’ll try to write more now that Christmas is over. If I didn’t have to cook a gourmet meal for the family every night I would have more time, but they would probably throw me out if I didn’t .

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. moonbeammcqueen
    Dec 27, 2007 @ 13:55:07

    “Wasband.” Ha! I’m stealing that one! Love this happy post, and the beautiful pictures. It looks like you had a wonderful Christmas– so glad for you!

    No spy equipment though. I was hoping you’d get a candy cane that’s really a telescope or something.

    Reply

  2. Life With Buck
    Dec 27, 2007 @ 14:01:34

    Wow, Barry really does take the best bird pictures in New England! All the photos were good, though. The photo of all you girls is so cute, I love it. I loved seeing everybody, and I missed you all Christmas Eve. I told you how I freaked out when I realized it actually was Christmas Eve and I was afraid I’d missed it because of the time difference. I freaked myself out so bad I couldn’t remember the phone number! I was screaming and slapping everyone and throwing myself down on the couch wailing like a two-year-old, till Buck finally went and got the number for me.

    You got excellent prizes. I love mine! I’m going to blog about my saint.

    Reply

  3. CuriousC
    Dec 30, 2007 @ 15:20:22

    lovely lovely! Hub & drove down to Woods Hole yesterday and I thought of you when we drove by/thru Bourne… Happy New Year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

