How can you miss a tree?

We have two Swamp Maples in our front yard . They are the only two trees in the yard that turn pretty colors in the fall. I live on a street that is filled with White Pines. They are not pretty trees. They snap in half during the smallest wind storms. My sister who lives on the next street has lost 12 Pines during storms. One even had the nerve to land on her house.

About a year ago we had to have a new septic system put in and for some reason we were not allowed to put it in the backyard where it was. We were told it had to go in the front yard. I think it’s because we have a vernal pool in our back yard. Anyway, when they put in the system, they tore up the front yard with their digging and what not. They also tore up the roots to one of my Maple trees. This tree also leans toward the house and looks like it could land right on my bedroom if it fell during a Northeaster, which it probably would since it didn’t have a good root system.

yoda-looking-at-tree.jpg Yoda watching the tree come down. So far they had only removed the branches.

tree-is-cut.jpg That’s what’s left of my Maple tree that’s been with me for 33 years.

Now I have a complete view of the empty welfare house across the street. I won’t need to hide in the bushes to see what’s going on over there anymore. I can just turn off the lights in the house and watch from the window. If it’s daytime, maybe I can buy some cheap tab curtains for the window and hide behind them. I can poke little eye holes in the curtains just big enough for my binoculars to fit through.

 

The new people, whoever they are, probably won’t notice anyway. The chances of them being on drugs is good. A number of tenants there have been druggies and they don’t notice anything. I can do all the spying I want. I still don’t have a good Big Ear. Well, Christmas is coming. I’m somewhat deaf from listening to loud music when I was a kid so it will have to be a good Big Ear. Something a private detective would use.

The thing is, I have no curtains in any of my windows in the house. I find them claustrophobic. Point being, if I can see them, they can see me. But I don’t do anything weird except talk to the cats when I am alone.

It’s very strange to look out the window and not see that tree. I already had some guy walking his dog yesterday and wave at me while I was on the computer which is directly in front of the window. I have no clue as to who he was. But I was polite and waved back. Actually , he might live next door. My kids were telling me they got a new dog . But no one there has ever even said hello to me, never mind wave. Who knows what this tree coming down has done. I don’t want to know my neighbors, I just want to spy on them.spying-book.jpgLooks like an interesting book.

Now don’t take me too seriously. I don’t do any illegal spying. I can’t see their bathroom or bedrooms. I can barely see them in the kitchen or living room. I do spy whenever the police show up or they are outside yelling at each other.

vintage-concealed-camera.jpgThought these vintage spy cameras were interesting too, compared to the technology that exists now for spying which I don’t own any of. Just to clarify that.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara
    Dec 09, 2007 @ 17:07:56

    I want the concealed vest camera–or maybe the cravat camera, I can’t decide.

    I love the cartoon of the woman lurking behind the sign. It is so you, Joan.

    Reply

  2. joanharvest
    Dec 09, 2007 @ 17:09:43

    I want the cane camera. I use a cane anyway. It would be perfect.

    Reply

  3. moonbeammcqueen
    Dec 09, 2007 @ 21:51:34

    I love the way you write, Joan! I can definitely understand how you can miss a tree that’s been in your yard for 33 years. I love the picture of the kitty in the window too.

    I think my favorite spy cameras are the ones disguised as weapons. How tricky! Someone thinks you’re going to blow their head off, while secretly, you’re snapping their picture. Verrrry clever.

    Reply

  4. Life With Buck
    Dec 13, 2007 @ 17:37:00

    I hate missing trees. And I always miss them. The tree gone in your yard will make the spying a little easier, but not the hearing part. I loved that Neighborhood Watch cartoon, and I thought it was a rather good idea actually.

    We had a house across the street from us in Sandwich that I swear got lived in by a family in the Witness Protection Program. I still think so, but I won’t go into it here. It’s long and involved. But anyway, they lived there abour 10 months and when they were moving away and their car was all packed and they were just about to leave, this teenage boy from down the street (who was in love with their teenage daughter) came to the house and threw a fit, screaming and crying and professing his love, and threw himself on the ground in front of the car. Max was about 11 at the time, and he and I hid behind our fence and watched the whole thing from our garden — we were laughing and laughing, crying we were laughing so hard, pounding the lawn laughing so hard, and trying not to be heard. Their whole family was out there watching this boy! He jumped up from the driveway and threw himself at the girl’s feet and wrapped his arms around her ankles and was screaming and sobbing and refusing to let go. They were both like 15 at the time. Max and I were dying! We were hysterical! Then the girl’s father had to pry the boy’s hands off his daughter’s ankles and shove her in the car, and they drove away with the kid CHASING the car down the street screaming his bloody lungs out. It was just the funniest goddamned thing …

    To this very day whenever Max and I see that boy (who’s now in his late 20s) we always bust out laughing and go, “There’s THAT KID!” And every once in awhile Max will call and say, “I was at a party last night and guess who walked in … THAT KID!” He and I still laugh about it as if it happened yesterday. It was one of the most amazing stake outs we’ve ever been on. And we’ve been a lot. He was my partner in crime.

    Reply

  5. Life With Buck
    Dec 13, 2007 @ 17:39:06

    Also … I remember saying to Max, “Max, don’t ever do that, don’t ever make a complete ass of yourself over a stupid teeange girl” and he said, “Well no shit, Ma.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

