Confession to my sister, Barbara

About 45 years ago I did something to my sister that I have never confessed to.  Mostly, because I forgot. I know she will forgive me, but I will feel better if I confess to the whole sordid story.  I told her tonight that I was going to confess something about her and Damn her if she didn’t guess it. But she only guessed half of it.

When I was about 12 or 13 , about 45 years ago, me and my best friend, Nancy stole my sister’s  diary. Barbara’s guess was that I read it, but it was worse, we took it.  We took it about 1/4 mile away to a cemetery where there was a little abandoned building.  And that’s where we sat and read it. We expected excitement, sex, boyfriend talk. We got nothing. It was sort of boring- no offense Barbara, but you were such a good girl. Then we didn’t know what to do with it.  We couldn’t return it in case she found it missing and then she would know it was me, so we hid it in the abandoned building.  For all I know it’s still there or someone found it, or it got destroyed if they tore down the building. I am truly sorry for stealing your diary. The only other confession I have to make to her is that at about the same age I went through her bureau drawer and found some used menstrual pads wrapped in toilet paper.  Of course there was blood on them but I still hadn’t gotten my period and my mother never told me about it.  All I could think of is that she had broken something , only I couldn’t imagine what and why I wasn’t told about it.

So there it is, finally out in the open. I can truly say they are the only bad things I ever did to you that I regret.  I don’t know why I waited so long to tell you.  Most likely it was because I forgot.  But this blog thing has me remembering things I had long ago put in the back of my brain.

Soon I will confess about what I found in my brother’s room, and this was back in the early 60’s.

Barbara, I hope you forgive me. Though I know you will because You are my bestest friend and sister.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara
    Dec 01, 2007 @ 13:36:03

    I still remember when that diary turned up missing, and I knew instantly that Joan had something to do with it. I mean, come on, the entire diary is gone– not just returned to its hiding place slightly askew–but vanished. Who else but a 13-year-old sister would do such a stupid thing?

    For those of you who don’t know Joan, I have to tell you Joan is serious when she asks my forgiveness. Deep in her thieving little heart she’s worried I’ll be pissed over the purloined diary.

    So, okay, you little shit, I forgive you. No really.

    Love,
    Sister B

    Reply

  2. joanharvest
    Dec 01, 2007 @ 13:56:54

    Thank you, dear sister for forgiveness. This has been weighing on my heart for 45 years. Now I have to tell Nancy that I told you the truth. She was my partner in this crime of betrayal. Love Sister J

    Reply

  3. Life With Buck
    Dec 01, 2007 @ 17:32:58

    This story is insane. That Barbara could have written a boring diary is bad enough, but the idea of some dirty, sweaty, beer-breathed grave digger reading it and then carrying it home to keep in his dirty underpants drawer is worse. Though I admit I do like the mental imagery of it all. But what of the bloody pads? I once left a couple of those in the waste basket in the bathroom of our beach house. When we returned the following week, my parents couldn’t figure out where the horrid smell was coming from. MY FATHER traced it to the waste basket, unwrapped the awful mess, and like you, had no idea what it was. But he started yelling, “WHAT THE HELL IS THIS?” And I had to tell him.

    And you’re very sweet to want Barbara’s forgiveness for the whole thing. When I confess stuff to my sister that I’ve done I usually just end it with, “So suck it up.”

    Reply

  4. CuriousC
    Dec 03, 2007 @ 18:35:09

    Almost but not really similar story to weird bad smells from past days… My husband is a birdhunter. Yep, one late summer when he was getting all his crap out to go hunting, he found a dead bird in his vest that he apparently missed when packing it up for storage 9 months prior. U G H. The dog was going crazy!

    Reply

  5. Life With Buck
    Dec 05, 2007 @ 00:32:16

    @ Curious C – LOL. For 9 months the dog must have been going, “No! I swear I can smell something! Listen to me, people! I know what I smell!”

    Reply

  6. moonbeammcqueen
    Dec 05, 2007 @ 23:45:10

    Oh my God!!! I was going to write something here, but then I started reading the comments, and I’m laughing so hard that I forgot what I was going to say!!! Joan, we gotta help you get rid of some of this guilt you’ve been carrying around– life is just too short! Maybe you can think of this as your confession booth! I’m glad you were absolved of this one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

