New Knees

Yesterday I finally went to see an orthopedist after having sore knees for years. Going to doctor to me is like well, what’s the worst thing you can think of? I don’t much like them, trust them or ever want to visit them. But I couldn’t put it off any longer. I can barely walk. They took X-rays h9991217.jpgand then I saw the Doc. Actually, the doctor was nice, not too crazy. crazy_doctor.jpg The X-rays had already been downloaded onto his computer. He showed me how I had absolutely no cartilage left in either knee. Also there were bone spurs. Bone against bone. He told me I need two new knees. I asked him how long I’ve got until I really, really need to do this. He said “three months ago”. I guess he means soon. I told him I didn’t want to do it until I lose more weight. He gave me a cortisone shot in each knee and has to get permission from Medicare and then he will give me a series of gel shots that put a kind of gel between the bone –a temporary solution. I really don’t want the surgery at all. What with that super resistant bacteria going around hospitals, and all the other stuff you can catch there, and crazy doctors, I don’t know if new knees are worth all the trouble. I’d have to spend 4-5 days in the hospital and two weeks at a rehab care center. I already did that in February when I had the flu. Not fun.

And after all that I have to face my back problem which is actually worse than my knee problem.

By the way, I’m not whining, just stating the facts. OK, a little bit of whining.

As Scarlett O’Hara said: “I can’t think about that right now. If I do, I’ll go crazy. I’ll think about that tomorrow”scaqrlett.jpg

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Life With Buck
    Oct 24, 2007 @ 12:28:18

    Wow, what an interesting post. I know how you feel about doctors, and it’s so much easier to sit back and do nothing; it’s a battle with yourself, really, just to make yourself go. I give you lost of credit. And thank you for posting X-rays, are those your X-rays? Either way, they’re fascinating. I imagine you guys are researching it all on the Internet. And from what I’ve heard, new knees give people a whole new quality of life.

    Reply

  2. Barbara
    Oct 24, 2007 @ 13:04:50

    All I can picture is stainless steel knees flashing in the sunlight–sort of like that robot in Star Wars–R2D2???

    Reply

  3. joanharvest
    Oct 24, 2007 @ 13:45:42

    Wendy,
    No they are not my knees but my x-rays looked similar to the one on the right. I am a procrastinator. I should have had my knees looked at 5 years ago. I have done some research. I found one page with FAQS about knee surgery–one of the questions being “Can I die from knee surgery”. Probably shouldn’t have read it but it did mention it is safer to do one at a time rather than both at once. At this point I am just playing by ear.

    Sister B.
    Actually that would be sort of cool. I am an avid Star Wars fan. Maybe eventually I’ll be the real Bionic Woman and save mankind from itself.

    Reply

  4. Life With Buck
    Oct 25, 2007 @ 22:38:26

    Do not listen to Barbara. Unless of course, they’ll add the ability to shoot laser beams. Now that would be cool. You and Lindsay Wagner.

    Reply

  5. Harriet's Daughter
    Dec 09, 2007 @ 09:00:07

    Thanks your message is stunning.
    I like your diary..
    See ya

    Reply

Leave a Reply

