My first Blog

I guess I should start by telling you a little bit about myself. I have two children, a daughter 28 years old and a 26 year old son. I live with my daughter , her husband, and my ex-husband. Just your typical family. My ex-husband just moved in a couple of weeks ago. He broke up with his girlfriend of four years and my daughter felt she had to take him in because he had nowhere else to go. Fortunately, he and I have always gotten along well. My ex-husband Especially after the divorce 18 years ago.I am considered disabled by the government, probably because I can’t stand for more than a few minutes at a time. I get to park in handicapped parking spaces. I get to drive around in the grocery store in a motorized shopping cart at 4 miles per hour. I get the library to deliver books to me.

I have a lot of time now. I retired from a small business I owned, a year ago, because of my back problems. I miss my store. I ran it along with my father for 25 years. He passed away almost 8 years ago so I ran it alone then. It wasn’t any fun without him. I also could not survive on disability alone so my daughter and her husband moved in with me about 8 months ago. The deal was I would give her the house but I came with it and now her father comes with it too. He and I live on one floor and my daughter and her hubby live on another floor and we share the kitchen and bathroom. They have their own bedroom and living room and their own entrance so they can have some privacy. I do all the cooking from my wheel chair. It’s hard cooking from a wheel chair, I’ve burned myself on the stove twice already. My daughter’s convinced I’m going to set myself on fire. But I guess she isn’t worried enough to do the cooking herself. Actually, she wouldn’t have the time. She has to take a boat to work which takes up 1 1/2 hours a day. She works long hours. Plus I like to cook. I just hope I stop burning myself.

I only cook weight watcher meals. I make six portions. One for me and one for my daughter and two portions each for the guys. She’s lost 35 pounds since she moved in and is now back to being a size 4 and I’ve lost 45 pounds. I still have to lose another 150 pounds. That’s the price I have to pay for eating instead of getting on Zoloft. I didn’t even know I was depressed until my sister and daughter convinced me. They were right. I finally feel I am getting my life back under control.

I guess that’s what this blog will be about mostly– Me

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Life With Buck
    Oct 19, 2007 @ 19:32:05

    For the record, Barbara is also the person who pointed out to me that I was suffering from depression and needed help. I guess she figured it out while I was explaining to her the diffrence between my daytime pajamas and my nightime pajamas.

    I think this blog is a great idea for you. If for no other reason, it is really therapeutic to get everything out on paper/the Internet. You’re doing really, really great.

    Reply

  2. joanharvest
    Oct 19, 2007 @ 19:39:43

    Thanks, Wendy. I really am trying to put myself in a better place and I actually think I am succeeding. I love Zoloft.

    Reply

  3. moonbeammcqueen
    Nov 30, 2007 @ 01:53:52

    I’ve worked my way from the top to the bottom of your blog, and I really love it. It’s hilarious,offbeat, and a little heartbreaking– my favorite combination! Can’t wait to read more.

    Reply

  4. joanharvest
    Nov 30, 2007 @ 12:42:26

    Thanks Moonbeam, Wendy from Life With Buck got me started on this whole thing. I’ve never written anything before in my life. It’s like going to therapy, only it’s free. Though I go to therapy too. Can I add you to my Blogroll? If I can remember how?

    Reply

  5. Lucky
    Mar 01, 2008 @ 15:03:12

    I am learning more and more all the time. I noticed your last post of cooking from a wheelchair and I was confused. Then I realized…I hadn’t read your “About Me” yet. I always forget to do that!

    This is going to sound so corny, but I hope it sounds heartfelt, because it is!

    Since you, Wendy and Moonbeam have found my blog, I have felt like a better person “knowing” y’all. I love reading your stories and y’all always have such great things to say. Your comments to me always make me smile. Whether you are serious or funny, I am always excited to see what you have to say. I have been trying to go back through blogs to get a little more understanding of everyone, it’s just taking awhile. 🙂 I look forward to learning more!

    Reply

  6. joanharvest
    Mar 01, 2008 @ 15:11:01

    @ Lucky
    I went to weight watchers this morning and they were talking about positive feed back and how it motivates you. You are the second person today to give me positive feedback and it sure is motivating. I appreciate it a lot. A year ago today I was in a health care center getting over severe pneumonia, I was there for three weeks. When I finally left I vowed I would make changes in my life and I have. Big changes. But I’ve needed positive feedback and little pushes and shoves. I am “lucky” to have such a supportive family and to have such good blogging friends. Thanks. I also look forward to learning more about you too.

    Reply

  7. Lucky
    Mar 02, 2008 @ 11:23:45

    That is awesome!!! I’m glad you have made so many positive changes in your life! Keep up the good work Lady! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

