Comments, Tweets and So Forth!

I started a twitter account a couple of years ago  and tried to “tweet” but I could never think of anything to “tweet” about.  It never occurred to me to “tweet”  about the everyday little things that occur like being tired or what I ate for a snack.  I don’t go anywhere very often so that was a subject I really couldn’t “tweet” about.   And anyway, did anyone even care if I was tired or drove to the store?  I became “tweetless” in a sea of “tweets”.  I gave up “tweeting”  early on.

I am on Facebook but not so often since I quit those horribly addicting Facebook games.  I do post on Facebook but mostly on some private groups where the people actually do care about what I eat or if I can’t sleep or where I am going.  Now don’t get me wrong I am not complaining about those who comment constantly giving us a blow by blow description of their mundane existence.  It’s their page.  They get to write what they want and if we don’t like it we have the option of blocking them which I have done.  I actually enjoy a lot of the status updates that my close friends post because I care about them (also many of them read this blog).  I enjoy the music they share with me.  I enjoy the You Tube videos and the newspaper articles.

One thing I don’t enjoy are the cryptic comments some people make.  They are cryptic so I don’t understand them.  I have written about my curiosity and it damn near kills me to not know what the hell they are talking about.  My son does it on occasion and I do my best to not call him to find out what on earth he means.  And again, my curiosity outweighs any common sense I may have and I immediately call him up.

Me:   Damon, what the hell did you mean by your last Facebook comment?

Damon:  Nothing, Ma.

Me:  Well, you must have meant something.

Damon:  Just a joke between me and this girl I know.  (It’s always a girl he knows}

Me:  Well, what was the joke?  You put it on Facebook for 800 people to see so it can’t just be between you and this so called girl.  (by this time I realize I have crossed the line, oh so badly)

Me:  (I quietly wait for an answer and as usual I get the same answer I always get}

Damon:    Mommmmmmmmmmm!

Me:  Sorry, but you know I can’t stand not knowing.

Damon.  I love you Mom.  I’m hanging up now.  I love you, Bye,

He really is very patient with me and my unbearable curiosity.  He probably never should have friended me but he does care for my feelings so he doesn’t block me.

So what do you think about all this social networking stuff?

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lisa
    Jan 16, 2012 @ 16:05:52

    I would tweet, Joan for taking Andy Rooneys place on 60 minutes!

    Reply

  2. Just a Mom
    Jan 16, 2012 @ 17:55:16

    I don’t care for Tweeting but I do like Facebook. I admit I am an over-poster but I don’t care. Like you said, it’s my page if you don’t like reading it then block me.
    My oldest daughter does the cryptic messages on Facebook too! It drives me crazy as well, but I don’t call her, I just add stupid comments to irrate her!

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jan 16, 2012 @ 19:37:02

      I don’t think anyone is an overposter because that’s what Facebook is for. I enjoy reading about what my friends are doing, even the little things. I think I mostly wonder how much I bore people. I have left stupid comments on my son’s cryptic posts but he deletes and then calls me and laughs.
      .

      Reply

  3. Claire
    Jan 16, 2012 @ 18:29:01

    I should to a tag along post on my own site to this because I have too many thoughts about it to put in here. I think you should tweet and we can tweet back and forth between each other and see who jumps in or “listens”. HAHAHA. I know!! We could tweet about all the dumbasses you (or I) see all the time. Particularly you because there seems to be a lot of dumbasses out there. hahahahhaha. Love ya, Joan!

    Reply

    • joanharvest
      Jan 16, 2012 @ 19:45:35

      I would tweet back and forth with you anytime Claire. I met up with so many dumbasses when I went out tonight it was ridiculous and I was only gone for 30 minutes.. My curiosity overcomes me with Facebook. I end up getting hints about people’s lives and then I want to know more. Honestly, a couple of times I have wanted to call people because I couldn’t get enough information from their posts. I’m friends with a lot of Damon and Sarah’s friends and they will post something like “I have a date tonight”. Well, I want to know with who, where are they going, etc. Curiosity killed the cat~ I think they were talking about me.

      Reply

  4. iliketoads
    Jan 16, 2012 @ 20:56:00

    I tweet when I remember it’s there. I don’t really have many people I follow so it is not really that interesting to me, but I could probably look some people up and make it work for me better, which I plan to do eventually. My twitter name is laurawouldsay but I think you already follow me, or I follow you. Anyway, I like that you are curious; there is nothing wrong with that! The curiouser the better. That is how people figure out stuff. It takes curiosity to make anything happen, so don’t worry about it and just ask questions if you want to. I ask too many questions usually and annoy people but I don’t do it on purpose, I just have a lot of questions. But at least I am never bored, because I know how to figure stuff out all by myself because I am a smart animal. Have a wonderful day!

    Reply

  5. sheng
    Jan 16, 2012 @ 22:20:56

    Some people, they add you up as friend on facebook and after you being friends, snarl at you with their comments. Damn ironic cryptics.

    And what’s funny is this, the wife of an ex-bf added me up on FB too. I laughed my ass out knowing she added me up, and I don’t know what her reasons are, but for sure, I will never give her the opportunity to stab me even online. That’s being extra careful there, haha.

    Reply

  6. Hannah
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 18:53:20

    Oh Joan, that is so funny. Because you’re SO right! I am guilty of a few cryptic updates myself, but I try not to do it too often … and if somebody asks me to elaborate, I will! I have a friend who pretty much posts about 30 times a day, and probably half of her posts are cryptic. I had to giggle at your son’s comment “It’s a joke between me and a girl” … then why put it on FB? You’re on the button with this one, Joan. Love this post :-)

    Reply

  7. Doraz
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 19:38:59

    I am amazed at the “friends” you can make on the internet. I also do not tweet anymore. I was just talking to myselk!!! lol I only do facebook for some of my friends. Blogging is a part time thing for me because of my situations!!! lol I love the way you write. Keep having fun. Stay well and happy.

    Reply

  8. Joy
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 10:21:54

    I tweeted about like you did. For 5 minutes. I just didn’t get a thrill out of it. I do love FB though. My blog also. My blog would be the last thing I’d give up. I kind of feel it’s like therapy. It also fills a “lonely” void. I love the companionship and the conversation.

    I got pretty addicted to those FB games too for quite a while. Probably 2 years I lived for FarmTown. My husband still plays but not to the extreme we both used to play. I started working out in it’s spot. I’m a firm believer that you have to do something else to fill that void. So I did that and I also started knitting a little more and reading.

    I love Pinterest now. The reason I like it so much is because you can do it for an hour or 5 minutes. If you want to relax for 10 minutes, it’s perfect. It’s not like there’s a time limit nor will anything “die” or need water.

    All I can say is I’m so happy you’re back blogging. I really missed you.

    Reply

  9. javajunkee
    Jan 22, 2012 @ 11:51:03

    ok I can’t even comment right now cuz I’m running over to facebook to see if there are any cryptic messages I need to find out about…omg that was too funny Joan!!!

    Reply

  10. Ann
    Jun 08, 2012 @ 13:06:23

    Joan, the posters that drive me crazy are the ones that post something cryptic so that people WILL ask what’s wrong, etc. instead of just spitting it out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

