Happy Summer Solstice and Happy Father’s Day

In the Northern Hemisphere  the summer solstice begins on June 21, 2009 at 1:45 A.M. EDT

That is coming up in an hour. I’m thinking I should run around the backyard naked or something.  Maybe cast a spell of some sort.

Ancient Pagans celebrated Midsummer with bonfires, when couples would leap through the flames, believing their crops would grow as high as the couples were able to jump.  Well I  decided I’m not going to leap through any flames so my crops which consist of one basil plant, one thyme plant and one rosemary plant will just have to grow on their own. No naked dancing either.  I would need a lot of rum to get me to do that.

Stonehenge2SAT_428x269_to_468x312

Happy Father’s Day to all the dads out there.  My dad has been gone for 9 years but I know he’s looking down on me.

Happy Father’s Day Gubby!!!  I love you!!!

gubby

My son-in-law will get to celebrate Father’s Day tomorrow for the first time. I can tell already he is going to be a wonderful dad.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anja
    Jun 21, 2009 @ 00:39:46

    You need an excuse to run around the backyard naked?

    Reply

  2. starlaschat
    Jun 21, 2009 @ 07:44:02

    Nice pictures!

    Reply

  3. Just a Mom
    Jun 21, 2009 @ 11:37:30

    I’m sure your neighbors will be glad to know there will not be any naked dancing going on!

    Reply

  4. c
    Jun 21, 2009 @ 14:36:42

    You could always do the naked dancing in the kitchen or shower. That’s where i do most of mine. ;)

    You have your dad’s eyes.
    Blessings to you.

    Reply

  5. Doraz
    Jun 21, 2009 @ 14:44:05

    Joan, what the heck…go for it!
    You need to release some of that tension and stress, right! Just turn on some of your favorite music…and dance,dance,dance!

    Your dad has a nice smile!
    Happy Father’s Day to your family! :)

    Reply

  6. widdleshamrock
    Jun 21, 2009 @ 22:20:40

    Happy Father’s Day and Summer Solstace to the Northern Hemisphere.

    Reply

  7. Joy
    Jun 22, 2009 @ 10:02:56

    I hope everyone had a terrific father’s day.

    Reply

  8. museditions
    Jun 23, 2009 @ 01:48:37

    —Someone get this woman a case of rum!
    LOVED the sun/solstice/Stonehenge picture.
    How exciting to get to share a first Father’s Day, and glad you feel he’ll be a great dad…But we knew that, didn’t we?

    Reply

  9. writer chick
    Jun 24, 2009 @ 12:09:21

    Hey Joanie,
    I love the idea of running around nekkid in the backyard. LOL. And happy father’s day to your dad – I know he’s there watching over you.

    And oh my gosh, congrats on your new grand baby! Wow, so many things to be grateful for, yes?

    Hugs & jugs,
    Annie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

