I’m Dizzy From the Speed!

I was sitting here doing nothing when I remembered an astronomy book I once read.  It is called “The Soul of the Night” by Chet Raymo.  It isn’t exactly a scientific astronomy book.  It’s more about the connection between astronomy and faith.  I remembered one thing Mr. Raymo said about how fast we were moving when we were sitting still.

As I lazily sat in my chair, I thought about the fact that I was really moving at an incredible speed.

To make one complete rotation in 24 hours, Earth moves at 1000 MPH.  At the same time,  Earth is moving around the Sun at 66,000 MPH.  Earth and our Sun are also moving within our Galaxy toward the star Vega at 43,000 MPH.  Along with all this movement,  Earth and the Sun are orbiting our Galaxy center (a great big black hole)  at 483,000 MPH.  To top it all off  our Galaxy (The Milky Way Galaxy)  is moving at 1.3 million MPH toward the constellations Leo and Virgo.

I am exhausted after going this fast.  I don’t even know if I can cook supper. Don’t ever call me a lazy ass because I am moving really, really fast.

These are all galaxies and this is where we are headed!  Talk about a road trip!!

large_web

You don’t have to be an astronomy buff to enjoy this book.  It gets 5 stars on Amazon.

Thank goodness for gravity.  Who knows where I would be?  I think this post is going to give Peter Parkour a headache.

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. javajunkee
    Nov 20, 2008 @ 17:27:35

    damn woman I thought this was gonna be about you taking some kind of “speed.”..and therefore were dizzy :)

    go on cane me!

    Ha! Ha! Can you imagine me on speed? I’m laughing too hard to cane you!!:-)

    Reply

  2. Little Miss
    Nov 20, 2008 @ 17:34:44

    I promise I have never thought of you as a lazy ass, and after this, I promise I never will. That line was absolutely hilarious. I had to stop eating my lunch and read it to my daughter. You are too funny.

    I figure when you are moving that fast how can you be lazy? :-)

    Reply

  3. kaylee2
    Nov 20, 2008 @ 18:11:55

    :lol: LMAO at javajunkee.

    I so want to read that now!

    JavaJunkee is tooooo funny!!!!

    Reply

  4. museditions
    Nov 20, 2008 @ 18:30:58

    You are so right, Joan! I’ve been a bit of a lay-about the past few days; now you’ve reminded me I’m going at a great clip, thanks! Your post reminds me of the Galaxy Song from Monty Python’s The Meaning of Life. However, the book you mention sounds more relevant, and I appreciate the recommendation! Cheers!

    Oh, I wish I had known of that song when I made the post. That was awesome. It would have saved me a whole bunch of typing. Eric Idle sang it all. Thanks!!

    Reply

  5. Peter Parkour
    Nov 20, 2008 @ 19:31:04

    Oh my aching head. :P Hey, is that a StarWars getup your meez is wearing (in a galaxy not too far away)? ;) Even sitting on the couch I’m going places… FAST! Wow, I better pace myself. :mrgreen:

    I thought this might give you a headache. Yes, my Meez is wearing some sort of space suit. Now aren’t you happy? You don’t even have to move off the couch and you are going places. Yes, watch yourself, you don’t want to get too dizzy with all the speed and fall and break your ass.;-)

    Reply

  6. thebeadden
    Nov 20, 2008 @ 19:59:49

    Thanks, Joan. It’s good to know I am always on the move. :)
    I wondered why I could feel so tired on my days off.

    Well, at least now you have the answer as to why you get tired. Think of how fast you are going.

    Reply

  7. teeni
    Nov 20, 2008 @ 20:49:27

    LOL – OMG – this explains so much! All those days we feel tired and don’t know why?!! Joanie – you are a genius. I am stumbling this!

    I still have to figure out what stumbling is. I know I keep stumbling because I am moving so fast.

    Reply

  8. sheng
    Nov 20, 2008 @ 21:07:22

    Want to read, but I just can’t… huhuhuh

    Well, just don’t fall from all the speed!!!

    Reply

  9. trishatruly
    Nov 20, 2008 @ 22:54:39

    Joan, did you ever lie on your back in the grass and stare up at the stars and get that weird feeling that you’re about to go hurling off into space?

    Me either.

    Actually, I can remember a night about 32 years ago with my wasband. We had been smoking and I’m not talking cigarettes. We were doing just that, lying on our backs watching the stars. We ended up having to go in the house because we thought we would end up somehow hurling ourselves into space. Plus we started laughing so hard we were afraid the neighbors would come out and yell at us.

    Reply

  10. Emerald
    Nov 20, 2008 @ 23:10:59

    You know what I never understood about astrology space stuff? The say no other planets are inhabitable because they lack the life support systems to sustain carbon based lifeforms. Who says all lifeforms are carbon based? Who’s to say Mars isn’t densely populated with tons of creatures that are just not on our limited radars? Huh? Huh? Yeeeaaahh, deep :P

    You got it. Who the hell knows what is out in some far galaxy? I know there is life out there. They are just too far away for us to reach yet. DEEP SHIT if they show up here first. Hopefully they will be friendly little critters.

    Reply

  11. Moonbeam McQueen
    Nov 20, 2008 @ 23:25:51

    I love the post and the comments! I wonder how many days you can use this information to get out of cooking supper?

    Muse, thanks for the reminder about that song– I had to go look up the lyrics, because I’d forgotten how much I love them.

    Oh, and Trisha made me guffaw. I don’t think I’ve ever guffawed before. It felt good.

    Since I started blogging I do a lot more guffawing then I used to. There were some great comments. I haven’t been able to get out of cooking supper yet. I’m working on it.

    Reply

  12. Just a Mom
    Nov 21, 2008 @ 13:15:01

    This explains so much! So does this mean the voices in my head have something to do with the Speed of Sound? :)

    Yes, You are probably hearing me. I talk out loud to myself all the time and I am sure the space time continuum is working it out so you hear my voice. Do you hear some one swearing at cats?

    Reply

  13. betme
    Nov 21, 2008 @ 15:32:27

    :D I am stealing this and telling Mr J why I am too tired to cook dinner tonight.

    and whoot-whoo to you bikini pic!

    Let me know if Mr. J falls for it. That bikini pic inspires my weight loss on some days though I wish it were more days.

    Reply

  14. Wendy
    Nov 21, 2008 @ 17:16:50

    At first I was disappointed, because the headline led me to believe you were hopped up on Black Beauties. But then I thought it was rather lovely, your thoughts about sitting in your chair while you hurtle through space at incredible speed. And it does explain a lot of my dizziness.

    And I totally agree with Emerald. People who think of life forms in the tiny terms of our own drive me nuts. Even Carl Sagan said it would be ignorant of us to believe we’re all there is, that we’re the standard for life. Drives me insane. And light years! What the hell are light years but a human definition! Don’t even get me started…

    No Black Beauties for me. I don’t need pills to hallucinate. I know there is life out there. We’ll meet up with aliens at some point. I’m so happy your sister stopped by. Thanks for sending her here.

    Reply

  15. threeboys1mommy
    Nov 22, 2008 @ 02:50:45

    You think too much Joanie… Oh and I have to add that Chet was the name of my first boyfriend… I still think that’s a funny name. :)

    The only other Chet I ever heard of was Chet Huntley, the newscaster but he died in 1974. Yes, I wish I could stop thinking so much. It’s very tiring. ;-)

    Reply

  16. javajunkee
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 13:54:52

    if you ever do speed…take a video of it will you? :)

    I promise you if I ever take speed it will be on You Tube for the worlds to see. :-)

    Reply

  17. joann
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 22:15:09

    Hi Joan ! I thought all this time dizzyness just ran in my family . In fact, its the earth and sun to blame ! Phew ! I feel MUCH better now ! Seriously tho- back in the 90′s I worked in a video store, where Chet Ramos use to come in all the time,either by himself or with a grandchild . At the time he was writing a book . He never struck up any conversation with me but was very friendly to my boss/owner. It seemed a chore for him to make eye contact with me if I remember correctly. I think he was a rather shy man.{ or an intellectual snob. Just kidding !}I was just a pee-on sales clerk . At that time he was teaching at the local college,which was 5 min. away from the store. We use to get a lot of students and professors running in. Weird huh? I think I would like to read that book . It could put a whole new perspective on life.{Corny! yah?} I’m always looking for answers . Arent we all???]

    Now that I know who you are I can imagine the dizzyness in your family. The same goes for my family. We are all just a bunch of dizzy dames. That’s cool that you met Chet. He gave a talk once in Falmouth and my sister and I went to see him. but I forgot what he talked about. It was a long time ago. I used to look for answers but I gave up. I figure if I haven’t found any by now I never will. I just take each day one day at a time when I remember to. That’s the one good thing about losing your memory when you get older. You forget all the problems you have and don’t worry about them .

    Reply

  18. joann
    Nov 24, 2008 @ 19:42:10

    Ya know I’ve been thinkin. The way I’ve been chit-chatting along with you, your probaly wondering who-the fuck- is THIS !!! Wonder no longer lady – I’m Wendy’s sister. At least that’s how our mother addressed me. And even she would admit to not having a” clue” as to where I really came from . I never really blended with flock . Anywho… I love your blog .Wendy encouraged me to give a look and I’m glad she did ! I’ve been laughing my ASS off !!! So,so funny !

    OMG, I did wonder who the fuck you are. This is awesome. I am so happy came over to read my blog. It’s all because of Wendy that I even started blogging and it has been very good for me. I stupidly gave my family my blog address so I can’t talk about them behind their backs. Yes, Barbara I mean you. Oh well, I would probably just say nice things about them anyway. I hope you keep coming to visit, Joann. I’m such a dumbass, I never put 2 + 2 together. Wendy and Joann… COOL!!!!

    Reply

  19. mrsvierkant
    Nov 24, 2008 @ 23:56:18

    A logical reason for my being a dizzy blonde. I like that. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

