Happy Birthday To My Son!

Happy Birthday Damon!!  I love you so much.  This was my birthday cake and I wanted to share it with you.

I have nothing else to give you but my love which will always be there for you.  Oh, and advice.  Whether you want to hear it or not.  You know me, I have to tell you what I think.  Whether you take my advice is up to you.

I just talked to you five minutes ago and you sounded so happy and excited.  I’m glad the sun is shining for you today in Alaska.

I can’t believe you are 27 years old.  Where did my little boy go?  Remember playing “Tame Pony”  You used to love that.  Remember all the rides we would take together? Going to the airport just you and me? Trying to drive down every single road in Falmouth and checking them off on the map as we did it?  Chasing around town when we heard stuff going on the police scanner?

I remember the day you were born and you wouldn’t open your eyes for two days.

I remember when you first learned how to talk and you thought you were Italian and called me, Mammia and Dad, Daddia.

I remember when seagulls hovered over you at the beach because you were always covered in peanut butter and jelly and Auntie Barb and I called you “alien piggy” because you always seemed to be staring up at the sky.

I remember the little boy who loved his “Care Bear” and who used to make long lines with all his matchbox cars.

I remember when you put a baseball hat on and never took it off again.

I remember my little fisherman.  You would go to the pond and fish for hours all by yourself. I would bring you lunch.

Now you are a man but you still have the baseball hat on and still catch the fish.

I think of you everyday and hope  the best for you but only you can make that happen. I know in my heart you will get the best.  It may be a hard road sometimes but you will travel it and eventually reach your goals.

I love you,

Mom

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Little Miss
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 16:40:01

    Oh my gosh, what a sweet tribute to your son. He’s so lucky to have you for a mom. What a great boy he is – well, I guess, man, really. Same age as my Stacy. Happy Birthday, Damon!

    Reply

  2. Hannah
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 17:37:24

    What a sweet post!! He was such a little cutie, I love the photo of him with his Care Bear! Amazing how they grow up. Love that he said “Mammia” and “Daddia” … that’s one of those funny little things you always want to remember … it gives me hope that you remember stuff like that after 27 years. Perhaps I WON’T forget the little things my boys do/say.
    Happy Birthday, Damon!

    Reply

  3. Anja
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 17:41:26

    Oh my stars! Damon is so angelic holding his Care Bear!

    What a beautiful boy and just as beautiful man Damon is.

    Reply

  4. bkclubcare
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 18:26:56

    Happy Birthday DAMON!!

    Reply

  5. Hay
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 18:28:47

    So sweet Joan. Happy Birthday to your wonderful son.

    Reply

  6. Joy
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 19:15:34

    Happy Birthday Damon. It looks like your mom loves you a whole bunch.

    Reply

  7. Peter Parkour
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 19:51:10

    Happy Birthday Damon. :)

    Very nice, Joan. ;)

    Reply

  8. odette
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 19:53:42

    awww, so sweet! amazing how mothers’ memories are so vivid after all the years.

    happy birthday damon!

    Reply

  9. teeni
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 20:24:13

    So sweet! We wish him all the best right along with you, Joan! What a cutie-pie he was and what a nice looking young man he turned into. Love that he still wears the baseball cap and still likes to fish! :)

    Reply

  10. kaylee
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 21:09:52

    Happy Birthday damon!

    Reply

  11. caryn
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 22:42:30

    belated happy birthday to your son! whoa he’s 27 now? how time flies! it must be a great feeling to be so proud of how your son turned out ;-)

    Reply

  12. mrsvierkant
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 23:15:53

    Happy Birthday to your son, Damon. I hope he has a wonderful day.

    What a loving post you wrote for him.

    (((Hugs)))

    Reply

  13. JavaQueen
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 02:40:30

    This is your best post yet! You son is so adorable. I can feel the love you have for him radiating off this page. He’s so lucky to have such a loving mother and happy birthday to Damon :)
    Love the pics!

    Reply

  14. dropofkim
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 08:51:53

    What a beautiful post! Happy Birthday Damon!!

    Reply

  15. fightingwindmills
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 09:37:22

    Happy birthday, Damon!

    Reply

  16. Joy
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 12:52:09

    I love your header this morning. He’s a real cutie pie.

    Reply

  17. J.W.
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 16:12:29

    Happy Happy Birthday Damon! It’s obvious, your Momma loves you! Always has, and always will!

    Beautiful, Joan!

    Reply

  18. Moonbeam McQueen
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 17:20:11

    I read this last night, but it got me all blubbery, so I had to come back. This was just so beautiful. You and Damon are lucky to have each other, no matter where his is. You are an Angel Mom, and he’s going to be just fine.

    Do Damon and Wendy’s daughter share the same birthday?

    Reply

  19. duskydi
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 19:20:16

    Happy Birthday to you,
    Happy birthday to you.
    Happy birthday dear Damon.
    Happy birthday to you.

    YAY!! Hip hip Hurray !!

    Ha ! Joan, I’ve just asked how old he is on my comment to yours. Then came here and found it was his birthday. He’s 27 yes.

    This is a beautiful tribute and such a lovely gift. He’s very cute isn’t he. Very handsome.

    I wish you all the very best Damon.
    Smiles & Love & Strength
    Di

    Reply

  20. Barbara
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 19:32:24

    My favorite shot of Damon is the one in which he’s wearing the Tin Man Halloween costume. I just love that picture, and I still find myself thinking of that night, him skipping across lawns, so excited his feet hardly touched the ground, his little bag of candy clutched tightly in his grubby paws.

    Happy Birthday, Damon! And Happy Birthday to Mom, too. (Christ, how old would she be now–ninety something???)

    Sister B.

    Reply

  21. thebeadden
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 21:20:12

    Happy Birthday, Damon!

    Joan, I’m trying to hold back the tears but I’m losing. I don’t know what to say.

    But he sure is a cutie pie. You and the wasband sure knew how to produce great looking kids! :)

    Reply

  22. Sandra
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 21:26:45

    What a great looking boy Damon was, still is. I love the Care Bear photo too.

    You are a neat Mum.

    Reply

  23. ANNA
    Aug 04, 2008 @ 15:48:09

    I wanted you to know I see the boy you raised in Damon every day…. he still will fish all day, knows every street he drives by memory, loves to watch airplanes take off, and will stop to watch building fires and the like.

    he’s read this blog a million times since we’ve gotten to the house with internet, and shows it to everyone. he’s so proud and impressed with you!

    and i’ve never seen him happier than he has been on this trip :o)
    check your email for pictures!

    xoxo

    Oh , Anna

    I got teary when I read this. I am so glad Damon has someone as wonderful as you to be with. I am so glad to hear that you both are having a wonderful time in Alaska. I can’t wait to see the pictures. I will put some up on my blog.

    Love, Mom B.

    Reply

  24. thegirlfromtheghetto
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 21:09:52

    I haven’t read any other blogs this past week, and when I came across this I just had to stop and comment. Sigh! A touching post to your son, and I hope that he is doing well. My heart aches for the two of you.

    Thank you. I think he is doing well today and we just take one day at a time. MY heart aches for him but I have to let go and let him be the person he is meant to be.

    Reply

  25. Trackback: Dark Tunnels « Whatever I think

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

