I’m Looking For a Tattoo for Myself

I am definitely going to get a tattoo. I want it to reflect something about myself. One of my greatest passions is astronomy not to be confused with astrology. Before I go on I will show you my daughter’s latest photo of a couple of her tattoos. She gave me permission to post it.

I love the way the photo was done in black and white and the tattoos are in color.

My tattoo will be smaller and probably on my arm. I want to find what I want now, then when I am ready to do it I will be used to the photo of what I want and can make a final decision if I have picked the right one. Not everyone likes body art but I do and I’m going with it. I just have to lose all the weight first.

I am an amateur astronomer so I want it to have something to do with the sun, moon and stars. That’s always sort of been my logo. I have more sun, moon and star crap in my room then you could imagine. So far these are two I sort of like.

I am still looking though. I don’t want to end up with something I hate for the rest of my life.

Let me know which one you like? Or any artists out there I can use some ideas.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teeni
    May 16, 2008 @ 15:40:36

    I love the first one because it is so colorful and futuristic looking, but of course that’s just my opinion. You are the one that needs to be happy with it since it will be permanently on your body. :)

    Reply

  2. betme
    May 16, 2008 @ 16:29:39

    I love the first one as well… It screams JOAN!

    Reply

  3. Javaqueen
    May 17, 2008 @ 05:37:38

    I actually like the second one. It could have some color added to it, no? I love it! I’d love a tat. I promised myself I’d get one after I lose the weight. I was afraid it’d start out at say, a 4″ tattoo and wind up shriveling to an inch after I lost all the weight ;) Ha! Ha! Ha! People would say to me, “What’s that spot on your arm?” and I’d be all, “It’s a mole”. Booo-hssss!! Ha! Ha! Ha! I don’t want tat shrinkage ;)

    Reply

  4. javajunkee
    May 17, 2008 @ 07:35:19

    oh yep that’s a third vote for the first one…that f’ing rocks! I’m working on designing my 4th. I think I’ve come up with an idea now it’s just drawing it out…or having my artist draw it out (probably a better idea)..I’m doing an armband or cuff..whichever he thinks is better for me. I want it to be a thorn like band and I’m going to have matching black roses to the one I have on my shoulder and drops of blood falling off ….I am all about the black roses!

    Reply

  5. Red
    May 17, 2008 @ 09:40:52

    Oh the one of your daughter is coool. Very nice!
    I too love astronomy, and that would be an awesome addition to your body. I enjoy both that you presented us.

    Reply

  6. Laura
    May 17, 2008 @ 09:55:02

    Hi Joan! I love the bottom sun/moon, stars one. My daughter has been talking about getting one for a few years now and has visited tattoo parlors with her boyfriend, just looking. She wants me to go with her and get one. I can’t find one I like, either. Kate-in-New-Zealand has a pretty daisy that I like. I found a cute frog one, too. Hmm. Good luck deciding!

    Reply

  7. joanharvest
    May 17, 2008 @ 12:01:25

    @ teeni

    You are right about one thing, I will be stuck with whatever I choose forever so I ‘d better choose wisely. I won’t be getting it until after I lose the weight so I have a long time to decide.

    @ Betme

    Well, I actually heard that one screaming my name also. Finding an artist good enough to do it is going to be a challenge also.

    @ Javaqueen

    I’m the same way as you. I don’t dare get it now. I still have a lot of weight to lose. Tat shrinkage is not good. I don’t want to spend all that money on a mole.

    @ Javajunkee

    I like the black and the red idea. Especially with the rose being black instead of what you would expect it to be. Take pictures when it’s done.

    @ Red

    My daughter loves dragons. It’s nice to know someone else who likes to look up at the sky at night.

    @ Laura
    My daughter has another one on her upper leg of a frog. It was her first one. It’s small. Then she got the small one on her lower back and then she went all out and got the big one. It’s funny because to look at her, you wouldn’t think she’d have all these tattoos. She is very sophisticated, unlike her Ma.

    Reply

  8. Peter Parkour
    May 18, 2008 @ 13:15:40

    Why not do both? :) Or neither, keep looking. Plenty of time to make this decision. No rush, no hurry. I like the big dragon your daughter got and would like to see the frog. I like frogs. :mrgreen:

    Reply

  9. Hay
    May 19, 2008 @ 04:32:58

    I like the first one :)

    Reply

  10. joanharvest
    May 19, 2008 @ 11:59:10

    @ Peter
    Well, you’re right, there is no hurry which is why I want to start looking now so I will find the perfect one. My daughter loves dragons. I might have a picture somewhere of the frog. I’ll have to check.

    @ Hat
    The majority so far likes the first one. I’m going to keep looking but the first one is definitely a contender.

    Reply

  11. Cheryl
    May 31, 2008 @ 13:30:40

    I would like eithe rof what you showed here….I designed my own recently, based on sun, moon, starts and yin yang by searching out different ones I liked on the web and and when I narrowed it down to 3, I just took the elements of each that I liked and made mine. I would be pleased to show you mine….here is a link to a photo….it is more basic than the ones you show here, but for interest sake I will show you!

    Good luck in making a decision about what you want. I warn you though…you are not likely to stop with just one! I REALLY believed that one would be all I would want, however, it was just January I got mine done and I am going in about 2 weeks to have 2 more done- one is another one I designed, again by using the elements of a few favourites and the second is a drawing a friend used to draw for me back when we were younger- she has passed on and this is my little way to memorialize her.

    Best wishes,
    Cheryl

    Reply

  12. joanharvest
    May 31, 2008 @ 13:44:58

    @ Cheryl

    Thanks for stopping by and leaving your input. It’s a hard decision because it’s something you have to live with for a long time. I like the way you incorporated the Yin-Yang into yours. Good job. Both my kids have three tattoos each. I’ll bet you’re right and I’ll end up with another one.
    I think that’s cool the way you are going to put your friend’s drawing on as a tat.

    I still have a lot of time to decide so I am going to keep searching and like you said may combine elements of more than one .

    Stop by again!!

    Reply

  13. Ebony Wheeler
    Jun 12, 2012 @ 00:26:18

    i got the sun one on my back! the same excact one without all the litle stars.. thanx for the inspiration

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

