I Finally Did It-I drove Myself and My Daughter Over the Bridge!

To get off Cape Cod, you have to go over either one of two bridges unless you go by boat. There is a canal that separates us from the mainland. The problem for me has never been actually driving over the bridge. The problem has been leaving the Cape with me at the wheel of the car. I have left the Cape a few times in the last few years but only with a trusted driver. I only have three people I will drive over the bridge with: my daughter, my son and my wasband. They are willing to all drive the way I like to be driven: not too fast, no tailgating, and not minding if I close my eyes in heavy traffic on highways.

cape-cod-canal.jpgThis Google Earth image shows the Cape Cod Canal and the two bridges. I drove over the Sagamore Bridge at the top of the photo which is route 6.

My new Chiropractor is in Plymouth, about a fifteen minute ride once you go over the bridge which is about 15 minutes from my house. The reason we chose him is he also has a practice on the Vineyard where my daughter works and she has been seeing him and he has helped her neck and headaches a lot. I’m not going to take the boat to the Vineyard to see him which means we have to go to Plymouth.

I have seen him about 6 times and I think he is really helping my lower back pain a lot.

chiroman_logo.jpg

I hate having to rely on everyone for rides so I have decided I am going to conquer this fear of driving off Cape. Yesterday’s drive was a complete success. I want to do it a few more times with someone and then I am going to attempt to do it alone.

When that happens it will be the first time I drive off Cape by myself in about 25 years. It has been a huge obstacle for me. It is an obstacle I want am going to conquer.

I was looking at this contraption. Maybe I should buy it and just skip the chiropractor then I wouldn’t have to drive over the bridge.

med_mech_chiropractor.jpg

I don’t know though. It looks like something you’d see in a torture chamber. But I think I should definitely watch this movie so I can see what my chiropractor does at night.

movie-chiro.gifLooks like a nail biter if you ask me.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lucky
    Mar 04, 2008 @ 12:02:06

    YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!

    You drive over that bridge whether you buy the torture contraption or not! You can do this! :)

    How in the world did you even find anything for that movie?? HAHAHA

    Reply

  2. Little Miss
    Mar 04, 2008 @ 12:11:10

    Actually, they have a modern day contraption like that. My chiropractor has one, and it’s called disk traction therapy or something. It really works. I used it several times when I first started going to see him. It helped, but I have weird back issues. I love my chiropractor. He is awesome, funny, and the best one in this neck of the woods. :) I really hope yours is just as good because they can do wonders.

    Reply

  3. joanharvest
    Mar 04, 2008 @ 18:08:08

    @Lucky
    Yea, that movie looks crazy. I might actually rent it.

    @Little Miss
    I too am fortunate to have a great chiropractor. I’ve only seen him a few times so far and my back definitely feels better. It used to hurt when I was sitting watching TV and now it doesn’t. For me to drive over the bridge to see him means he’s gotta be good. I don’t go over that bridge for just anyone.

    Reply

  4. romi41
    Mar 04, 2008 @ 22:08:23

    I’m so glad your back pains have lessened, it’s nice to see a chiropractor who can do a good job! ;-)

    PS: that torture-contraption-lady looks like she’s enjoying it a little TOO much, and did she really have to be in her underwear for that? LOL.. ;-)

    Reply

  5. joanharvest
    Mar 04, 2008 @ 22:55:03

    @ Romi
    I wondered about the underwear thing too. I never have to take my clothes off at my chiropractor’s office. He’s a southern gentleman anyway, very sweet and charming. I don’t think he would approve of that torture contraption. He’s so funny, the first time he adjusted my neck he started asking me to do something with my left foot over my right knee and I’m trying to figure all that out and getting my left confused with my right and while I’m doing that he snaps it and I didn’t even realize it. He was just having me do all that stuff so I wouldn’t think about my neck. It worked. He really knows what he’s doing. I was reading that 86% of people who see chiropractors feel they get good results. Better results then they get from their PCP especially for lower back problems.

    Reply

  6. Wendy
    Mar 05, 2008 @ 21:54:00

    That’s wonderful, Joan. It’s been so great to watch you grow and get strong. It’s why you’re my hero.

    Reply

  7. Lucky
    Mar 05, 2008 @ 22:13:00

    I meant to tell you – I talked to Betme (DisIsMyPlace) and she has been very ill but is on the mend!

    Reply

  8. joanharvest
    Mar 06, 2008 @ 00:03:14

    @Wendy
    I don’t know about hero but I really am trying to change my life for the better. But thanks for the support, that’s really important to me. I couldn’t do all of this alone.

    @Lucky
    Thanks for letting me know about Betme. I was getting concerned. I’m glad to hear that she’s feeling better.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

